SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Style> 2940 OOP (Misses' Dress)

Review submitted in Little Black Dress Contest Contest
Viewed 356 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/12 2:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
WOW, this dress looks SO cute in EVERY WAY that you've styled it. I LOVE it with the jackets. I'm going to try a STRAIGHT skirt (or dress) with jackets (or as "straight" as it can be on me) because, like you said, it seems like I never do like jackets with flared skirts. :o( This is PERFECT!
12/12/12 1:22 PM
cerulean said...
You really look great in it! It's great that it is so versatile too! It's good that you were able to make the adjustments.
12/4/12 10:19 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
Such a versatile dress, and the neckline is really a pretty choice on you.
12/2/12 8:12 AM
Baja Susana said...
Very nicely made and your styling is well done as well.
12/2/12 8:03 AM
Ladana said...
You win the prize for versatility. You have achieved so many looks. Great job!
12/1/12 12:01 PM
crazygrad said...
NICE-- so classic!
11/30/12 5:15 PM
Quickie said...
Dress style is very well chosen
11/30/12 4:34 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks so much! mmcp, I hope there's an easier to find similar pattern out there, that would ideally have a more appropriate fit for a wider demographic... just don't know of any off the top of my head. Sewnotwork, I try to keep the lengthen/shorten line on the side part of the front level with the one that goes across the center, if that makes any sense... if you fold the dart closed and draw a line across where a normal L/S line would be, that should generally work OK. Burda envelope patterns are sometimes better about including all the L/S lines than some other brands.
11/29/12 1:17 PM
sewnotwork said...
Looks good. Thanks for detailed list of alterations and photos. I wonder how French darts are adjusted for women who are petite.
11/29/12 11:44 AM
NJcowgirl said...
thank you for your thorough review. Great dress.
11/29/12 8:56 AM
goal100 said...
You look great! (Which I think means that whatever you're wearing is complimenting YOU!)
11/29/12 7:48 AM
mmcp said...
It is a very funny review, particularly because I looked at the photos before reading it and thought--ok, is this a pattern to go hunting for? I've really been wanting a plain, fitted basic black dress. Clearly, it is not, but your results are terrific!
11/29/12 6:00 AM
Renren said...
You are fabulous in this dress! Wow! Great entry and review.
11/28/12 5:06 PM
jannw said...
You look so good in that dress!! Definitely worth the alterations!! Love all the jackets with it, also.
11/28/12 4:26 PM
cowgirlbb said...
Looks to me like you did a great job. This dress certainly can be worn for many occasions.
11/28/12 4:18 PM
treefrog said...
Looks great! Well worth the effort you went to with the fitting. It looks great with the different jacket combinations - especially the Folkwear one
11/28/12 4:15 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW!! I think it's really nice on, Margaret ;D And especially neat to being adaptable to other looks!! Great--and funny--review ;D
11/28/12 4:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Other Clever Charlotte

photo
by: Alison Cum...

Review
StyleArc Willow Pant

photo
by: GoodbyeVal...

Review
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

More Info