SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5825 (Women's Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 508 times 
Reviewed by:knitsewmuch
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About knitsewmuchstar
VA USA
Member since: 10/31/08
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/20/13 8:37 PM
Last Updated:9/18/13 10:29 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ruth C said...
I have this pattern and have planned to make it. You say it doesn't work with your figure--what figure type would it work for? Thanks
8/20/13 9:52 PM
LPGA said...
I actually prefer the dress that you have sewn rather than the one the model is wearing on the picture ! Beautiful fabric too. I just might give it a try !
8/20/13 10:07 PM
knitsewmuch said...
I personally do not wear styles well that don't have some type of shaping. This dress did not work for me because I felt it looked like a sack on my figure. I am planning to try the colorblocked version. The color blocking gives more of an illusion of shaping and I feel it may look better on my figure. It's just my personal preference. Update 8/24/13 The comment above was made prior to removing the sleeves. Thank you everyone for your comments. I am glad that I listened to my daughter. This dress is now affectionately known as the lemonade dress. I've changed the popular saying about life and lemons. Now I say when my sewing gives me lemons, make lemonade.
8/20/13 11:10 PM
JudieL said...
Your daughter was right. The dress looks great!
8/21/13 10:27 PM
Melwyk said...
I love the sleeveless version -- it looks great! And the colour is wonderful.
8/21/13 10:41 PM
mistyknits said...
Really sharp!
8/21/13 10:45 PM
annie1129 said...
OMG. You say it didn't work for you, but it looks great on you! Listen to your daughter!
8/22/13 1:17 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Looks gorgeous on you. The curved ruffle is much more attractive then I thought it would be. Yeah, listen to your daughter. It's a winner.
8/22/13 2:37 AM
margy.64 said...
This looks lovely on you. It's always good to get someone else's opinion when you are unsure. So glad you didn't throw it away.
8/22/13 5:07 AM
atymonw said...
Really pretty on you! I'm so glad you didn't throw it away:) I did just get rid of a dress because the sleeves were not flattering. Next time I will try removing them first.
8/22/13 3:14 PM
atymonw said...
Really pretty on you! I'm so glad you didn't throw it away:) I did just get rid of a dress because the sleeves were not flattering. Next time I will try removing them first.
8/22/13 3:14 PM
KathySews said...
Wise daughter. The dress looks great and I was confused when you wrote that you thought it did not work for your figure. It looks great
8/22/13 8:31 PM
4u2cme said...
The dress is fabulous on you!! Your daughter was so right. I think the shape of the ruffle works well.
8/25/13 1:06 AM
Cher Hermanson said...
Elegant and classic style and "knock'm dead colour". Wear this and turn heads, you look fabulous.
8/25/13 10:43 AM
brnsuga45 said...
I am glad your daughter gave her input. You now have a fab dress that looks GREAT on you. Kids, you gotta love 'em. LOL
8/31/13 7:53 AM
brnsuga45 said...

8/31/13 7:53 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love this on you, you make the dress, just beautiful and showing off your toned arms looks fantastic!
9/4/13 11:53 PM
mnitts said...
Such a pretty dress. Great job!
9/5/13 4:07 AM
prttynpnk said...
daughter saved the day- this is great sleeveless!
9/5/13 10:18 AM
seeinspotz said...
Your daughter was absolutely right. You are gorgeous in that dress. Very striking.
9/5/13 11:05 AM
PammyC said...
It looks great on you. I like the sleeveless style, and love the curved flounce.
9/5/13 12:09 PM
caper81 said...
Making it sleeveless really transforms this dress. It looks fantastic on you!:) Helpful daughter!
9/5/13 1:32 PM
greengrapes88 said...
This look so great on you. Nice job!
9/5/13 6:11 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That dress is REALLY working for you! I am glad that you love it now.
9/6/13 2:05 PM
harpsew said...
Wow!! The color and fit are just perfect, and you look absolutely gorgeous! Removing the sleeves was genius! Well Done!
9/18/13 10:45 PM
Shellia said...
Looks fantastic on you. Far better than the pattern pics.
9/19/13 9:31 AM
carolynw said...
Glad you listened to your daughter - looks very nice on you and love the colour
9/22/13 5:15 PM
Sew Good said...
Yes, it IS a keeper! Glad you listened to your daughter
11/10/13 10:21 AM
Klunky said...
I love that red dress on you! The same style would be a knockout made in satin--any color you love--with sparkly jewelry and worn to a wedding or formal event.
5/19/14 2:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Simplicity 4877

photo
by: lovenicky

Review
Burda 8157

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now