SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5825 (Women's Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 512 times 
Reviewed by:knitsewmuch
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About knitsewmuchstar
VA USA
Member since: 10/31/08
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/20/13 8:37 PM
Last Updated:9/18/13 10:29 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Klunky said...
I love that red dress on you! The same style would be a knockout made in satin--any color you love--with sparkly jewelry and worn to a wedding or formal event.
5/19/14 2:00 PM
Sew Good said...
Yes, it IS a keeper! Glad you listened to your daughter
11/10/13 10:21 AM
carolynw said...
Glad you listened to your daughter - looks very nice on you and love the colour
9/22/13 5:15 PM
Shellia said...
Looks fantastic on you. Far better than the pattern pics.
9/19/13 9:31 AM
harpsew said...
Wow!! The color and fit are just perfect, and you look absolutely gorgeous! Removing the sleeves was genius! Well Done!
9/18/13 10:45 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That dress is REALLY working for you! I am glad that you love it now.
9/6/13 2:05 PM
greengrapes88 said...
This look so great on you. Nice job!
9/5/13 6:11 PM
caper81 said...
Making it sleeveless really transforms this dress. It looks fantastic on you!:) Helpful daughter!
9/5/13 1:32 PM
PammyC said...
It looks great on you. I like the sleeveless style, and love the curved flounce.
9/5/13 12:09 PM
seeinspotz said...
Your daughter was absolutely right. You are gorgeous in that dress. Very striking.
9/5/13 11:05 AM
prttynpnk said...
daughter saved the day- this is great sleeveless!
9/5/13 10:18 AM
mnitts said...
Such a pretty dress. Great job!
9/5/13 4:07 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love this on you, you make the dress, just beautiful and showing off your toned arms looks fantastic!
9/4/13 11:53 PM
brnsuga45 said...

8/31/13 7:53 AM
brnsuga45 said...
I am glad your daughter gave her input. You now have a fab dress that looks GREAT on you. Kids, you gotta love 'em. LOL
8/31/13 7:53 AM
Cher Hermanson said...
Elegant and classic style and "knock'm dead colour". Wear this and turn heads, you look fabulous.
8/25/13 10:43 AM
4u2cme said...
The dress is fabulous on you!! Your daughter was so right. I think the shape of the ruffle works well.
8/25/13 1:06 AM
KathySews said...
Wise daughter. The dress looks great and I was confused when you wrote that you thought it did not work for your figure. It looks great
8/22/13 8:31 PM
atymonw said...
Really pretty on you! I'm so glad you didn't throw it away:) I did just get rid of a dress because the sleeves were not flattering. Next time I will try removing them first.
8/22/13 3:14 PM
atymonw said...
Really pretty on you! I'm so glad you didn't throw it away:) I did just get rid of a dress because the sleeves were not flattering. Next time I will try removing them first.
8/22/13 3:14 PM
margy.64 said...
This looks lovely on you. It's always good to get someone else's opinion when you are unsure. So glad you didn't throw it away.
8/22/13 5:07 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Looks gorgeous on you. The curved ruffle is much more attractive then I thought it would be. Yeah, listen to your daughter. It's a winner.
8/22/13 2:37 AM
annie1129 said...
OMG. You say it didn't work for you, but it looks great on you! Listen to your daughter!
8/22/13 1:17 AM
mistyknits said...
Really sharp!
8/21/13 10:45 PM
Melwyk said...
I love the sleeveless version -- it looks great! And the colour is wonderful.
8/21/13 10:41 PM
JudieL said...
Your daughter was right. The dress looks great!
8/21/13 10:27 PM
knitsewmuch said...
I personally do not wear styles well that don't have some type of shaping. This dress did not work for me because I felt it looked like a sack on my figure. I am planning to try the colorblocked version. The color blocking gives more of an illusion of shaping and I feel it may look better on my figure. It's just my personal preference. Update 8/24/13 The comment above was made prior to removing the sleeves. Thank you everyone for your comments. I am glad that I listened to my daughter. This dress is now affectionately known as the lemonade dress. I've changed the popular saying about life and lemons. Now I say when my sewing gives me lemons, make lemonade.
8/20/13 11:10 PM
LPGA said...
I actually prefer the dress that you have sewn rather than the one the model is wearing on the picture ! Beautiful fabric too. I just might give it a try !
8/20/13 10:07 PM
Ruth C said...
I have this pattern and have planned to make it. You say it doesn't work with your figure--what figure type would it work for? Thanks
8/20/13 9:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6649

photo
by: knitsewmuc...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Buy Now