SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5825 (Women's Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 508 times 
Reviewed by:knitsewmuch
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About knitsewmuchstar
VA USA
Member since: 10/31/08
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/20/13 8:37 PM
Last Updated:9/18/13 10:29 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ruth C said...
I have this pattern and have planned to make it. You say it doesn't work with your figure--what figure type would it work for? Thanks
8/20/13 9:52 PM
LPGA said...
I actually prefer the dress that you have sewn rather than the one the model is wearing on the picture ! Beautiful fabric too. I just might give it a try !
8/20/13 10:07 PM
knitsewmuch said...
I personally do not wear styles well that don't have some type of shaping. This dress did not work for me because I felt it looked like a sack on my figure. I am planning to try the colorblocked version. The color blocking gives more of an illusion of shaping and I feel it may look better on my figure. It's just my personal preference. Update 8/24/13 The comment above was made prior to removing the sleeves. Thank you everyone for your comments. I am glad that I listened to my daughter. This dress is now affectionately known as the lemonade dress. I've changed the popular saying about life and lemons. Now I say when my sewing gives me lemons, make lemonade.
8/20/13 11:10 PM
JudieL said...
Your daughter was right. The dress looks great!
8/21/13 10:27 PM
Melwyk said...
I love the sleeveless version -- it looks great! And the colour is wonderful.
8/21/13 10:41 PM
mistyknits said...
Really sharp!
8/21/13 10:45 PM
annie1129 said...
OMG. You say it didn't work for you, but it looks great on you! Listen to your daughter!
8/22/13 1:17 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Looks gorgeous on you. The curved ruffle is much more attractive then I thought it would be. Yeah, listen to your daughter. It's a winner.
8/22/13 2:37 AM
margy.64 said...
This looks lovely on you. It's always good to get someone else's opinion when you are unsure. So glad you didn't throw it away.
8/22/13 5:07 AM
atymonw said...
Really pretty on you! I'm so glad you didn't throw it away:) I did just get rid of a dress because the sleeves were not flattering. Next time I will try removing them first.
8/22/13 3:14 PM
atymonw said...
Really pretty on you! I'm so glad you didn't throw it away:) I did just get rid of a dress because the sleeves were not flattering. Next time I will try removing them first.
8/22/13 3:14 PM
KathySews said...
Wise daughter. The dress looks great and I was confused when you wrote that you thought it did not work for your figure. It looks great
8/22/13 8:31 PM
4u2cme said...
The dress is fabulous on you!! Your daughter was so right. I think the shape of the ruffle works well.
8/25/13 1:06 AM
Cher Hermanson said...
Elegant and classic style and "knock'm dead colour". Wear this and turn heads, you look fabulous.
8/25/13 10:43 AM
brnsuga45 said...
I am glad your daughter gave her input. You now have a fab dress that looks GREAT on you. Kids, you gotta love 'em. LOL
8/31/13 7:53 AM
brnsuga45 said...

8/31/13 7:53 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love this on you, you make the dress, just beautiful and showing off your toned arms looks fantastic!
9/4/13 11:53 PM
mnitts said...
Such a pretty dress. Great job!
9/5/13 4:07 AM
prttynpnk said...
daughter saved the day- this is great sleeveless!
9/5/13 10:18 AM
seeinspotz said...
Your daughter was absolutely right. You are gorgeous in that dress. Very striking.
9/5/13 11:05 AM
PammyC said...
It looks great on you. I like the sleeveless style, and love the curved flounce.
9/5/13 12:09 PM
caper81 said...
Making it sleeveless really transforms this dress. It looks fantastic on you!:) Helpful daughter!
9/5/13 1:32 PM
greengrapes88 said...
This look so great on you. Nice job!
9/5/13 6:11 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That dress is REALLY working for you! I am glad that you love it now.
9/6/13 2:05 PM
harpsew said...
Wow!! The color and fit are just perfect, and you look absolutely gorgeous! Removing the sleeves was genius! Well Done!
9/18/13 10:45 PM
Shellia said...
Looks fantastic on you. Far better than the pattern pics.
9/19/13 9:31 AM
carolynw said...
Glad you listened to your daughter - looks very nice on you and love the colour
9/22/13 5:15 PM
Sew Good said...
Yes, it IS a keeper! Glad you listened to your daughter
11/10/13 10:21 AM
Klunky said...
I love that red dress on you! The same style would be a knockout made in satin--any color you love--with sparkly jewelry and worn to a wedding or formal event.
5/19/14 2:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

New Look 6097

photo
by: SewWil

Review
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Buy Now