Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5825 (Women's Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 498 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:knitsewmuch
photo
Friend of PR
About knitsewmuchstar
VA USA
Member since: 10/31/08
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/20/13 8:37 PM
Last Updated:9/18/13 10:29 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ruth C said...
I have this pattern and have planned to make it. You say it doesn't work with your figure--what figure type would it work for? Thanks
8/20/13 9:52 PM
LPGA said...
I actually prefer the dress that you have sewn rather than the one the model is wearing on the picture ! Beautiful fabric too. I just might give it a try !
8/20/13 10:07 PM
knitsewmuch said...
I personally do not wear styles well that don't have some type of shaping. This dress did not work for me because I felt it looked like a sack on my figure. I am planning to try the colorblocked version. The color blocking gives more of an illusion of shaping and I feel it may look better on my figure. It's just my personal preference. Update 8/24/13 The comment above was made prior to removing the sleeves. Thank you everyone for your comments. I am glad that I listened to my daughter. This dress is now affectionately known as the lemonade dress. I've changed the popular saying about life and lemons. Now I say when my sewing gives me lemons, make lemonade.
8/20/13 11:10 PM
JudieL said...
Your daughter was right. The dress looks great!
8/21/13 10:27 PM
Melwyk said...
I love the sleeveless version -- it looks great! And the colour is wonderful.
8/21/13 10:41 PM
mistyknits said...
Really sharp!
8/21/13 10:45 PM
annie1129 said...
OMG. You say it didn't work for you, but it looks great on you! Listen to your daughter!
8/22/13 1:17 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Looks gorgeous on you. The curved ruffle is much more attractive then I thought it would be. Yeah, listen to your daughter. It's a winner.
8/22/13 2:37 AM
margy.64 said...
This looks lovely on you. It's always good to get someone else's opinion when you are unsure. So glad you didn't throw it away.
8/22/13 5:07 AM
atymonw said...
Really pretty on you! I'm so glad you didn't throw it away:) I did just get rid of a dress because the sleeves were not flattering. Next time I will try removing them first.
8/22/13 3:14 PM
atymonw said...
Really pretty on you! I'm so glad you didn't throw it away:) I did just get rid of a dress because the sleeves were not flattering. Next time I will try removing them first.
8/22/13 3:14 PM
KathySews said...
Wise daughter. The dress looks great and I was confused when you wrote that you thought it did not work for your figure. It looks great
8/22/13 8:31 PM
4u2cme said...
The dress is fabulous on you!! Your daughter was so right. I think the shape of the ruffle works well.
8/25/13 1:06 AM
Cher Hermanson said...
Elegant and classic style and "knock'm dead colour". Wear this and turn heads, you look fabulous.
8/25/13 10:43 AM
brnsuga45 said...
I am glad your daughter gave her input. You now have a fab dress that looks GREAT on you. Kids, you gotta love 'em. LOL
8/31/13 7:53 AM
brnsuga45 said...

8/31/13 7:53 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love this on you, you make the dress, just beautiful and showing off your toned arms looks fantastic!
9/4/13 11:53 PM
mnitts said...
Such a pretty dress. Great job!
9/5/13 4:07 AM
prttynpnk said...
daughter saved the day- this is great sleeveless!
9/5/13 10:18 AM
seeinspotz said...
Your daughter was absolutely right. You are gorgeous in that dress. Very striking.
9/5/13 11:05 AM
PammyC said...
It looks great on you. I like the sleeveless style, and love the curved flounce.
9/5/13 12:09 PM
caper81 said...
Making it sleeveless really transforms this dress. It looks fantastic on you!:) Helpful daughter!
9/5/13 1:32 PM
greengrapes88 said...
This look so great on you. Nice job!
9/5/13 6:11 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That dress is REALLY working for you! I am glad that you love it now.
9/6/13 2:05 PM
harpsew said...
Wow!! The color and fit are just perfect, and you look absolutely gorgeous! Removing the sleeves was genius! Well Done!
9/18/13 10:45 PM
Shellia said...
Looks fantastic on you. Far better than the pattern pics.
9/19/13 9:31 AM
carolynw said...
Glad you listened to your daughter - looks very nice on you and love the colour
9/22/13 5:15 PM
Sew Good said...
Yes, it IS a keeper! Glad you listened to your daughter
11/10/13 10:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Lingerie Secrets Shortie Legging
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 2/11/08
Read Review

McCalls 4066 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4066 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6875 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6875 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3786 Misses Tops
photo
Review by SewWil on 3/15/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Reversible Ruffle Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Ruffle Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Details
Price: $39.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Sheer White
PerfectFuse Sheer White

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us