Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5107 (Bistro Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2635 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/05 7:56 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said...
Diane, lovely jacket as usual!
1/31/05 8:06 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Nice looking jacket, Diane. Wouldn't you know I just purchased this pattern (after hemming and hawing over it since it came out). Don't know when I'll get around to it, but your comments on the facing stitching will help a lot! thanks!
1/31/05 8:08 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your jacket is so lovely. Thank you for the tips on the jacket!
1/31/05 8:37 PM
Lyn B. said...
Beautiful jacket, Diane.
1/31/05 9:06 PM
PVA said...
Your jacket looks better than the photo on the pattern! Thanks for the review & all the construction details.
1/31/05 9:12 PM
KarenP said...
I love it! I've had this pattern since it first came out but have yet to make it. Your review will be very helpful when I finally get to it.
1/31/05 11:18 PM
tigger said...
The jacket looks great - and the comments you gave are so helpful - especially to a beginner like me! I always look at reviews to see how hard a pattern really is and it's good to see someone review a pattern with the less experience sewer in mind! thanks!
1/31/05 11:55 PM
cindyann said...
That is so pretty! Thanks for the great review.
2/1/05 7:28 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Gorgeous!
2/1/05 7:49 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
I love that the softer tailoring and your choice of fabric will allow the jacket to assume the shape of the wearer. I think it looks very professional, but not 'uptight'. Perfect for most business situations nowadays!
2/1/05 7:50 AM
sewywabbit said...
Beautiful and very inspiring! So glad to see you back reviewing here, I hang on your every word. I have noticed the facing problem on almost all LH jackets, going back to TS, especially in the drapy fabrics she suggests. I have started to add 3/8" to the facing length to compensate, but will also try your stitch lengthening technique.
2/1/05 10:32 AM
Diane E said...
Thank you all so much. You have no idea how much the conversation with you helps me to sew. I love being able to share my sewing pleasure (and sometimes pain #@%) with you, knowing that you'll understand and share with me, as well.
2/1/05 6:43 PM
AnneM said...
Beautiful.
2/1/05 7:21 PM
CatherineN said...
Attractive jacket! Everyone's look so different but always nice. Glad to see you back.
2/1/05 7:50 PM
Irene said...
Gorgeous, Diane! I'm going to have to get this one, too. Did you make your usual size S?
2/4/05 4:02 PM
Diane E said...
Thanks, Irene, and yes, I made size S. As mentioned, the only changes I made were to add the back darts and remove the curve in the upper back seam.
2/4/05 7:29 PM
baberuth said...
Diane, I too love Loes' patterns but like you, prefer more shaping in the back. Your jacket looks spectacular. My question is: where exactly did you position your darts in the back - ie., how far from CB are they? How deep are the darts and how long are they?
2/13/05 7:50 PM
Diane E said...
Baberuth, I used the darts from the front pattern piece and placed them a little higher than where they are on the front. I am pretty narrow above the back waist, and I benefit from more shaping there. Sounds like you have similar preferences.
2/14/05 8:35 AM
baberuth said...
Thanks for the info, Diane. I think back darts will make all the difference to how Loes' jackets fit me. BTW, you and I are shaped very similarly - probably why we both love Loes' patterns which seem to suit relatively slender, small-busted, slightly pear-shaped but curvy bodies!
2/14/05 9:32 PM
moushka said...
Diane - Beautiful! Looks like it came from Loes' boutique. CJ's fabric is stunning. Combined with your sewing expertise, this is a first class version of this pattern. Thanks for sharing.
3/12/05 12:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Chris W Designs Evelyn Evelyn
photo
Review by Lori V on 4/16/12
Read Review

McCalls 4400 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4400 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7381 Pattern
Burda 7381 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-122
photo
Review by SandraB on 2/23/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us