SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5107 (Bistro Jacket)

10 more reviews
Viewed 2648 times 
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 104 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/05 7:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said...
Diane, lovely jacket as usual!
1/31/05 8:06 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Nice looking jacket, Diane. Wouldn't you know I just purchased this pattern (after hemming and hawing over it since it came out). Don't know when I'll get around to it, but your comments on the facing stitching will help a lot! thanks!
1/31/05 8:08 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your jacket is so lovely. Thank you for the tips on the jacket!
1/31/05 8:37 PM
Lyn B. said...
Beautiful jacket, Diane.
1/31/05 9:06 PM
PVA said...
Your jacket looks better than the photo on the pattern! Thanks for the review & all the construction details.
1/31/05 9:12 PM
KarenP said...
I love it! I've had this pattern since it first came out but have yet to make it. Your review will be very helpful when I finally get to it.
1/31/05 11:18 PM
tigger said...
The jacket looks great - and the comments you gave are so helpful - especially to a beginner like me! I always look at reviews to see how hard a pattern really is and it's good to see someone review a pattern with the less experience sewer in mind! thanks!
1/31/05 11:55 PM
cindyann said...
That is so pretty! Thanks for the great review.
2/1/05 7:28 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Gorgeous!
2/1/05 7:49 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
I love that the softer tailoring and your choice of fabric will allow the jacket to assume the shape of the wearer. I think it looks very professional, but not 'uptight'. Perfect for most business situations nowadays!
2/1/05 7:50 AM
sewywabbit said...
Beautiful and very inspiring! So glad to see you back reviewing here, I hang on your every word. I have noticed the facing problem on almost all LH jackets, going back to TS, especially in the drapy fabrics she suggests. I have started to add 3/8" to the facing length to compensate, but will also try your stitch lengthening technique.
2/1/05 10:32 AM
Diane E said...
Thank you all so much. You have no idea how much the conversation with you helps me to sew. I love being able to share my sewing pleasure (and sometimes pain #@%) with you, knowing that you'll understand and share with me, as well.
2/1/05 6:43 PM
AnneM said...
Beautiful.
2/1/05 7:21 PM
CatherineN said...
Attractive jacket! Everyone's look so different but always nice. Glad to see you back.
2/1/05 7:50 PM
Irene said...
Gorgeous, Diane! I'm going to have to get this one, too. Did you make your usual size S?
2/4/05 4:02 PM
Diane E said...
Thanks, Irene, and yes, I made size S. As mentioned, the only changes I made were to add the back darts and remove the curve in the upper back seam.
2/4/05 7:29 PM
baberuth said...
Diane, I too love Loes' patterns but like you, prefer more shaping in the back. Your jacket looks spectacular. My question is: where exactly did you position your darts in the back - ie., how far from CB are they? How deep are the darts and how long are they?
2/13/05 7:50 PM
Diane E said...
Baberuth, I used the darts from the front pattern piece and placed them a little higher than where they are on the front. I am pretty narrow above the back waist, and I benefit from more shaping there. Sounds like you have similar preferences.
2/14/05 8:35 AM
baberuth said...
Thanks for the info, Diane. I think back darts will make all the difference to how Loes' jackets fit me. BTW, you and I are shaped very similarly - probably why we both love Loes' patterns which seem to suit relatively slender, small-busted, slightly pear-shaped but curvy bodies!
2/14/05 9:32 PM
moushka said...
Diane - Beautiful! Looks like it came from Loes' boutique. CJ's fabric is stunning. Combined with your sewing expertise, this is a first class version of this pattern. Thanks for sharing.
3/12/05 12:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Self Drafted Pattern Savage Coco Patterns

photo
by: SavageCoco

Review
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now