SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6020 (Misses' Dresses & Purse)

7 more reviews
Viewed 505 times 
Reviewed by:margy.64
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About margy.64star
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 7/27/12
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/12 7:07 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BrendaJoyce said...
That dress is really pretty and I think you did a great job on fitting. I haven't read a lot of fitting books but everybody here seems to like "Fit For Real People" by Pati Palmer and Marta Alto.
12/1/12 7:54 AM
CissieW said...
Another winner! I love the print and the swing of the skirt!
12/1/12 9:24 AM
Morisot said...
Charming dress.
12/1/12 9:39 AM
Rhoda K said...
Gorgeous dress - love your fabric. Congrats on getting the fit worked out.
12/1/12 10:09 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Love the print and the fit looks great. Have you read "Pattern Fitting with Confidence" by Nancy Zieman? She recommends selecting the bodice size based on your shoulders (since they're harder to adjust for) and then altering for other body parts. I can't help but wonder since you pinched out so much, how a 10 would fit in the shoulders tapering to a 12 at the waist (possibly with a FBA)?
12/1/12 10:16 AM
Acient3 said...
You did a beautiful Job, the dress is gorgeous
12/1/12 11:39 AM
miausiau said...
Beautiful dress! I have had some bad times with New Look bodices myself; sometimes another company will fit better. In the end though you have a pattern now that fits and is ready for next time.
12/1/12 7:28 PM
SewWil said...
Pretty dress! Looks great on you.
12/2/12 0:53 AM
lilikats said...
The dress looks beautiful on you, and it was definitely worth the extra work on the pattern placement. I have a few fitting books, but have found "The Complete Photo Guide to Perfect Fitting" by Sarah Veblen an absolute revelation when it comes to getting the fit right. I recommend it highly
12/2/12 4:24 AM
PeggyA said...
I second the recommendation for "a Complete Photo Guide to Perfect Fitting" by Sarah Veblen. It is comprehensive yet very easy to understand and apply. You did a great job fitting your dress!
12/2/12 9:09 AM
dorothyann2 said...
Perfect!
12/15/12 3:20 AM
BlueRock said...
Beautiful! I am planning on using this pattern for my first ever attempt at making a dress and if it turns out anything like yours, I will be delighted.
12/30/12 6:46 PM
koffeegypsy said...
Love your choice of pattern material on this and you look great in it! I made this for my stepmother and she loves the fit as well, it's a very flattering summer dress. One of my favorite books is the Reader's Digest Complete Guide to Sewing - it has great pictures of any kind of tailoring/alteration you may want to do as well as full explanation of things that may not make sense when sewing. If you want the actual tailoring section look for one that was printed in the 1970's to about 1982. At some point in the 80's they removed the actual Tailoring section of the book :(
4/14/13 4:04 PM
hopflower said...
This is one of the prettiest dresses I have seen in a long while. Really wonderful. You just don't see 'pretty' any more.
2/4/14 11:31 AM
MaryMacTree said...
Beautiful Dear! Lovely Lovely Fabric! Perfect
3/23/14 9:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Vogue Patterns 1022

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Vogue Patterns V1208

photo
by: tracyH2

Review
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now