SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6000 (Misses' Dresses)

32 more reviews
Viewed 949 times 
Reviewed by:style inspired
photo

 
 
About style inspiredstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 6/4/10
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/17/12 7:53 PM
Last Updated:2/2/13 9:48 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jgmafpw said... (12/27/12 4:47 PM) Reply
Great looking dress, very flattering!
newmama said... (12/23/12 12:24 PM) Reply
Love this dress! The collar and cuff details are really cute, and I like the dark blue you chose.
prostheticsgirl said... (12/18/12 9:20 AM) Reply
Wow, looks great! Every version I've seen of this dress is wonderful; I think I must have this pattern!
MondoVox said... (12/18/12 0:27 AM) Reply
I love this pattern and am so jealous every time someone makes it. Wish it came in my size but I'm not sure I could adjust it upward well enough. The details on this dress are what make it a looker.
prostheticsgirl said... (12/9/12 12:10 PM) Reply
I'm assuming the main issue you want to address is the slight gaping at the neckline? The shoulders also look a *tiny* touch wide (upper shoulder seam placement and small creasing under the arm). I have two thoughts initially, first would be to cut the upper bodice 1/2 to 1 size smaller and just grade out below that. The other thought is to place several small tucks along the neckline. Here's a good article http://www.sewnews.com/content_downloads/Fit_for_You_Hollow_Chest_May1999.pdf. I'm sure there are many others with much better advice; I've been sewing for many years but am just now starting to work toward fine tuning fit.
prostheticsgirl said... (12/9/12 11:59 AM) Reply
Can you post a few more pictures from different angles (including the back)? Honestly I think it's really good and no non-sewing person would probably notice, but I know we're often perfectionists of fit!
Bonnie K said... (12/8/12 11:26 PM) Reply
My gut feeling is that you will need to make a small tuck in the pattern at the neckline. I am smalll thru the front chest area and have to do this. Hope someone else comies along side to help if this isn't clear.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

BurdaStyle Downloadable 8027

photo
by: yoshimi

Review
Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Pattern Details