Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Neue Mode: 23215 (coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1541 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Tini
photo
About Tinistarstarstar
GERMANY
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 121
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 45 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/05 10:31 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hope K said...
Tini, I loved seeing this coat made up. I also really liked this coat in Threads, but I don't think I am good enough to make it yet. (Plus I don't have any coat fabrics in the stash.) Yours looks great, though!
2/1/05 10:41 AM
llamaduck said...
I too liked it in Threads. I think it looks good, and I like the collar. congrats!
2/1/05 10:53 AM
redhead said...
I love this coat, and such a pretty shade of blue. I have got to try a coat pattern this coming year. Thanks for the tip about using fusible on batiste and then sewing in. I think that might help in some instances.
2/1/05 11:06 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Wow, Tini, that is *beautiful*! So classically feminine and looks so cozy warm. I love your fabric choices. It reminds me so much of a lovely coat my mother used to have.
2/1/05 12:36 PM
PhyllisC said...
What a great coat! The drawing in Treads looked promising and your version really confirms it's a great design.
2/1/05 1:27 PM
Deepika said...
Wow your coat is so nice. Everything goes so well and it looks like it fits nicely too. What a cool project!
2/1/05 3:32 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What a beautiful, lady-like coat! I'm sure you look adorable in it.
2/1/05 5:08 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Congratulations on your gorgeous coat!! How wonderful that you made it yourself.
2/1/05 8:04 PM
GaSouBelle said...
I am so glad to see your review of this pattern. I bought this pattern & was sad to see that no one had reviewed it yet. I am a beginner & was a bit nervous about sewing this. It really is a great pattern! I am making View B out of a very dark port or eggplant corduroy. I had put it aside a few weeks ago as it doesn't get cold enough in Florida to usually have a need for a winter coat & I just lost my momentum. Seeing your coat & having a cold front come through has me anxious to finish. This pattern has the best fit of anything I've made so far. All I need to do is add my lining & pockets. I really love the Neue Mode patterns. For those in North America...Denver Fabrics has the cheapest Neue Mode patterns I could find & great service (30% cheaper than other sites)...but no pictures...so you have to look up the pattern # from another site. Great looking coat Tini & thanks for the motivation! P.S. to Hope K...if I can make this coat, you'll have no problem. I've only been sewing for 2 months & I am really surprised at how well mine is turning out. The instructions are good & there are some great sales for winter fabrics on the net as well as Joann's. I got my material for $1.50/yd at Joann's.
2/1/05 9:32 PM
drsue said...
What a gret coat! I like your idea of putting the interfacing on the underlining.
2/1/05 10:38 PM
Kathy Russell said...
I love your coat. Your fabric choice is so nice and adding the fur at the collar really makes the coat POP. Nice job.
2/2/05 0:06 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Tini, I can picture you in this, and you look great in it! LOL The best thing about making outerwear is that you get to wear it alot - I hope you find plenty of opportunity to slip your coat on this winter, and many more to come.
2/2/05 1:44 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
*Gasp* Tini, it's BEAUTIFUL! How cool that you didn't need to totally fuse-interface this coat. Now your coat is still breathable. I'm going to remember this!
2/2/05 3:12 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely coat. Love the color of the fabric too.
2/2/05 5:56 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Beautiful coat and wonderful review! Love your collar!
2/2/05 6:47 AM
Levone said...
Great looking coat..very professional and polished looking.
2/2/05 2:35 PM
AnneM said...
Great coat. Between your review & GaSouBelle's comments, this pattern sounds like a real winner.
2/2/05 4:00 PM
KathleenS said...
This looks like a good pattern (having read your and GaSouBelle's comments). I like all the options, and the size range is good too. Unfortunately I also have two winter coats and think it would be silly to have more - although I'm dreaming about blue, pink and cream ones (three coats :o, not one in three colours).
2/4/05 1:57 AM
Kath said...
I have this coat 1/2 done. The biggest problem for me was drawing the cutting lines. I am making it for my daughter who likes tight clothes so a tapered in the side panel a little. I hope to have it ready for hemming tomorow night, when daughter is showing up
4/12/05 11:51 AM
Annika said...
How did I miss this one??? You coat is beautiful - love the accents on the sleeves, love the collar, love the color...
4/13/05 8:37 AM
MaryBeth said...
Yeah! another inspiring coat review! Hopefully you won't have to be wearing it toooooo much longer this Spring. Glad to see the fake fur and to hear that it's cozy: have been wondering whether I'd like to use it on an attached coat collar or separately...
4/13/05 9:06 AM
Patti in IL said...
This is great! I also have this pattern waiting for Fall sewing. I'm glad to hear about the wearing ease, too. Now I just have to choose a fabric!
7/21/05 3:21 PM
Ellee said...
Your coat is fantastic!! Lovely choice of fabric!!
5/21/08 9:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

New Look 6347
photo
Review by whirrclunk on 11/29/08
Read Review

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)
Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6631
photo
Review by Seweemama on 7/9/13
Read Review

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2065 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 2065 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6553 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6553 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us