SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3297 (Misses Jackets)

8 more reviews
Viewed 2328 times 
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 245 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/05 11:15 AM
Last Updated:2/1/05 11:15 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Great review, Leslie. I love the zippered pockets and the color blocking. It's so rewarding when strangers compliment your work too!
2/21/06 6:46 AM
sewkal said...
Leslie, your jacket is wonderful. I love fleece jackets like this, and if I ever get around to making one, I'll definitely refer to your review!
2/2/05 6:09 PM
AnneM said...
I'm amazed that you hadn't ever sewn with fleece before. Great fabric. The jacket is cute, and you can't get a much better argument than the "where did you buy it" question. Your pockets came out great.
2/2/05 4:07 PM
JDpenelope said...
Leslie, what a picky girl you are! Your jacket came out terrific! Still, it's those perfectionist tendencies that drive you to produce all of your "top of the line" treasures.
2/2/05 10:38 AM
Liana said...
Very cute! Maybe you'll like it more as you wear it.
2/2/05 9:29 AM
JoleneF said...
Love the jacket Leslie, it turned out great and thanks for the informative review!
2/2/05 8:44 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Great looking jacket and wonderful review! I really appreciated the links, and bookmarked zipperstop.com. Your pockets are marvelous! I wish I could wear orange.........
2/2/05 6:56 AM
mamakooz said...
Looks great, Leslie. I know for sure that the folks in Tennessee would love it!! The UT fans anyway. I hate that it turned out too big after you dreamed of it, thats a bummer!
2/1/05 9:08 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Love the great persimmon color. It looks so pretty. I bet that it looks great on you. Thanks for the review.
2/1/05 8:11 PM
PVA said...
Leslie, this one is really a winner! Kwik Sew needs to know about your improvements to this pattern. Great result, thanks for the review!
2/1/05 7:34 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What an adorable jacket! I may need one just like it if DS decides to become a Longhorn. :-)
2/1/05 5:07 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Oooh, now that IS a compliment! What did she say when you said you made it? But yes, I'm with you on the fit. I was crushed they discontinued the more fitted version to haul out this roomy one. Can you take in the sides?
2/1/05 4:54 PM
Elona said...
Cute, cute, cute, Leslie! I love the orange color combo. And thanks for the heads-up on the construction details. I agree that the pockets should extend all the way to the center front and down to the hem. Further, I'm disappointed to learn that this pattern still includes those old-fashioned facings. Don't the Kwik Sew people look inside modern RTW? I just finished a McCall's Palmer & Pletsch fleece vest for DH, and--just as you did with your pattern--I practically had to redraw the dad-gummed thing (although it came out looking really good).
2/1/05 3:09 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Looks Great! Very timely review for me, as this is the project I'm currently working on. That orange zipper is a great find, and I totally agree with squaring up the pocket. I was having the same thought AFTER I had the pockets finished :( . Your pocket zippers are a great addition to this pattern!
2/1/05 2:38 PM
SandraB said...
Great job as usual Leslie!! Your jacket looks really nice. I love the colours.
2/1/05 1:51 PM
tigger said...
Leslie - I love your jacket and the way it's turned out is just amazing. I can see that this is another one of your reviews that I'm going to have to make - in fact I'm looking at fabric right now! I love reading your reviews - even if it costs me money! :)
2/1/05 12:42 PM
Hilary said...
How cool is that!! I *love* when people complement something I've made ( I mean people who don't know I've made it :o) ) I once got a complement from a young man on purse I'd made- so nice! Your jacket looks really great, I love the color and great tip on the pocket zipper! Nice clear instructions. I just heard this tip the other day, from Louise of Cutting Line Designs(I think) on using wonder tape to tape down facings(such as your neck facing) and topstitching for perfect line up every time. Maybe that would help-I always mess them up a bit to, but this should help. Thanks for the great review!!
2/1/05 12:34 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Nice job, Leslie! Love the colour and am glad it worked out in the end for you. This colour wil be great on you!
2/1/05 12:20 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Leslie, if that cute orange puppy needs a new home, you just pack it up (with my spa wrap) and send it to me. I think it looks great, and if Gym Lady asked where you had bought it, then you obviously did everything right. Thanks for the review; I appreciate your honesty about your disappointment...but I'll bet you'll get lots of use from it and compliments on it.
2/1/05 12:13 PM
PegL said...
Leslie, I'll be surprised if you don't end up with $ offers for this jacket there in Austin! (There are members of my family living there who would for sure!) It turned out really pretty and I'm impressed with your zipper pockets!
2/1/05 11:29 AM
MickeyFan said...
Leslie, your jacket looks great. I am sorry you are not 100% pleased with the final fit, but it looks like a very cozy comfy coat.
2/1/05 11:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-101A

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Ottobre Design 06-2009-02

photo
by: Elizabeth ...

Review
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now