Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3297 (Misses Jackets) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 2306 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 243 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/05 11:15 AM
Last Updated:2/1/05 11:15 AM


Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MickeyFan said...
Leslie, your jacket looks great. I am sorry you are not 100% pleased with the final fit, but it looks like a very cozy comfy coat.
2/1/05 11:27 AM
PegL said...
Leslie, I'll be surprised if you don't end up with $ offers for this jacket there in Austin! (There are members of my family living there who would for sure!) It turned out really pretty and I'm impressed with your zipper pockets!
2/1/05 11:29 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Leslie, if that cute orange puppy needs a new home, you just pack it up (with my spa wrap) and send it to me. I think it looks great, and if Gym Lady asked where you had bought it, then you obviously did everything right. Thanks for the review; I appreciate your honesty about your disappointment...but I'll bet you'll get lots of use from it and compliments on it.
2/1/05 12:13 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Nice job, Leslie! Love the colour and am glad it worked out in the end for you. This colour wil be great on you!
2/1/05 12:20 PM
Hilary said...
How cool is that!! I *love* when people complement something I've made ( I mean people who don't know I've made it :o) ) I once got a complement from a young man on purse I'd made- so nice! Your jacket looks really great, I love the color and great tip on the pocket zipper! Nice clear instructions. I just heard this tip the other day, from Louise of Cutting Line Designs(I think) on using wonder tape to tape down facings(such as your neck facing) and topstitching for perfect line up every time. Maybe that would help-I always mess them up a bit to, but this should help. Thanks for the great review!!
2/1/05 12:34 PM
tigger said...
Leslie - I love your jacket and the way it's turned out is just amazing. I can see that this is another one of your reviews that I'm going to have to make - in fact I'm looking at fabric right now! I love reading your reviews - even if it costs me money! :)
2/1/05 12:42 PM
SandraB said...
Great job as usual Leslie!! Your jacket looks really nice. I love the colours.
2/1/05 1:51 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Looks Great! Very timely review for me, as this is the project I'm currently working on. That orange zipper is a great find, and I totally agree with squaring up the pocket. I was having the same thought AFTER I had the pockets finished :( . Your pocket zippers are a great addition to this pattern!
2/1/05 2:38 PM
Elona said...
Cute, cute, cute, Leslie! I love the orange color combo. And thanks for the heads-up on the construction details. I agree that the pockets should extend all the way to the center front and down to the hem. Further, I'm disappointed to learn that this pattern still includes those old-fashioned facings. Don't the Kwik Sew people look inside modern RTW? I just finished a McCall's Palmer & Pletsch fleece vest for DH, and--just as you did with your pattern--I practically had to redraw the dad-gummed thing (although it came out looking really good).
2/1/05 3:09 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Oooh, now that IS a compliment! What did she say when you said you made it? But yes, I'm with you on the fit. I was crushed they discontinued the more fitted version to haul out this roomy one. Can you take in the sides?
2/1/05 4:54 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What an adorable jacket! I may need one just like it if DS decides to become a Longhorn. :-)
2/1/05 5:07 PM
PVA said...
Leslie, this one is really a winner! Kwik Sew needs to know about your improvements to this pattern. Great result, thanks for the review!
2/1/05 7:34 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Love the great persimmon color. It looks so pretty. I bet that it looks great on you. Thanks for the review.
2/1/05 8:11 PM
mamakooz said...
Looks great, Leslie. I know for sure that the folks in Tennessee would love it!! The UT fans anyway. I hate that it turned out too big after you dreamed of it, thats a bummer!
2/1/05 9:08 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Great looking jacket and wonderful review! I really appreciated the links, and bookmarked zipperstop.com. Your pockets are marvelous! I wish I could wear orange.........
2/2/05 6:56 AM
JoleneF said...
Love the jacket Leslie, it turned out great and thanks for the informative review!
2/2/05 8:44 AM
Liana said...
Very cute! Maybe you'll like it more as you wear it.
2/2/05 9:29 AM
JDpenelope said...
Leslie, what a picky girl you are! Your jacket came out terrific! Still, it's those perfectionist tendencies that drive you to produce all of your "top of the line" treasures.
2/2/05 10:38 AM
AnneM said...
I'm amazed that you hadn't ever sewn with fleece before. Great fabric. The jacket is cute, and you can't get a much better argument than the "where did you buy it" question. Your pockets came out great.
2/2/05 4:07 PM
sewkal said...
Leslie, your jacket is wonderful. I love fleece jackets like this, and if I ever get around to making one, I'll definitely refer to your review!
2/2/05 6:09 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great review, Leslie. I love the zippered pockets and the color blocking. It's so rewarding when strangers compliment your work too!
2/21/06 6:46 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 2633
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 7/20/10
Read Review

Burda 7111 Pattern
Burda 7111 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7056 Pattern
Burda 7056 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 6079 Vintage 6079
photo
Review by birdmcfarl... on 9/2/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Candice
Candice

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us