Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
StyleArc: Mia Dress (Mia Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 590 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:KatC83
photo
About KatC83star
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 9/26/09
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/7/12 1:36 AM
Last Updated:12/7/12 1:39 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dilliander said...
Lovely to see this dress made up, it looks stylish, cool and comfortable. Thanks for the review and extra details on your blog.
12/7/12 2:17 AM
Annette1 said...
Did someone mention "wildly inconsistent" (with the Big 4)? That definitely made me smile in agreement. As for this lovely little Style Arc dress, it's just perfect, and you look so chic and yet comfortable in it. :o)
12/7/12 2:49 AM
KatC83 said...
Dilliander - I'm glad you found the review helpful! Annette - hahahaha, I don't know if you saw my recent review of Simplicity 2860 (there were nearly tears). It's wonderful to just be able to sew something and it works! And thank you both for your compliments :-)
12/7/12 3:01 AM
Doobee64 said...
Looks super on you! This pattern is definitely a winner for you...
12/7/12 4:43 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice dress! It's great to see this pattern made up so thanks for the review.
12/7/12 7:55 AM
Christas said...
So pretty on you! I've never tried Style Arc patterns, but your review makes me want to!
12/7/12 8:26 AM
michellep74 said...
Lovely dress--it looks great on you!
12/7/12 1:09 PM
meggy said...
The dress looks great on you. I am so glad you posted this review as I had my eyes on this pattern as soon as it hit the StyleArc site.
12/7/12 9:39 PM
jenleeC said...
Thanks for the detailed review. Your dress looks great and as a 'no alterations' pattern test it fits you very well.
12/7/12 9:47 PM
KatC83 said...
Thank you all! JenleeC, you've hit the nail on the head - it's brilliant to have a pattern which is wearable without alterations. To the ladies thinking about this pattern (or styleARC in general) - do it! You won't regret it :-)
12/8/12 4:36 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very stylish dress, and I like those sleeves!
12/8/12 12:18 PM
JEF said...
Very pretty. Is the center front at bust level pinned or stitched? It looks fastened but I couln't be sure.
12/9/12 7:22 AM
KatC83 said...
JEF - it's pinned temporarily, while I decide where to put a little snap.
12/9/12 3:21 PM
sewpelican said...
Thanks for the review. My pattern arrived today, I cannot find written anywhere the width of elastic for the shoulder and waist areas, nor the length required in each area. Did you have this problem and how did you resolve it? Thanks for help.
12/11/12 6:27 AM
KatC83 said...
sewpelican - I just used what I had, which was 6mm (1/4 inch) elastic. I used the triple zig-zag stitch to attach it. You could use slightly wider elastic, but if it's too wide it would be bulky. Hope that helps :-)
12/12/12 1:44 PM
KatC83 said...
Oh, and the elastic length - around your waist, long enough to be somewhat stretched at your natural waist height. The pattern includes cutting guides for the shoulder elastic, I think.
12/12/12 1:45 PM
brissmith said...
Love this look. I've just made up a muslin in this pattern and it seems a bit short in the waist for me. It looks like the elastic sits on your waistline. I might lengthen the bodice a bit for me. I've also left a comment on your blog. Cheers, Susan
12/26/12 5:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Self Drafted Pattern 92116-1005 dust ruffle
photo
Review by halleyscom... on 6/26/11
Read Review

Oliver S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )
Oliver   S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress Digital Pattern (6M-4)
Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress Digital Pattern (6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-111 Top
photo
Review by Debbie Coo... on 12/29/06
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3764 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3764 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us