SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Mia Dress (Mia Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 615 times 
Reviewed by:KatC83
photo

 
 
About KatC83star
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 9/26/09
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/7/12 1:36 AM
Last Updated:12/7/12 1:39 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dilliander said...
Lovely to see this dress made up, it looks stylish, cool and comfortable. Thanks for the review and extra details on your blog.
12/7/12 2:17 AM
Annette1 said...
Did someone mention "wildly inconsistent" (with the Big 4)? That definitely made me smile in agreement. As for this lovely little Style Arc dress, it's just perfect, and you look so chic and yet comfortable in it. :o)
12/7/12 2:49 AM
KatC83 said...
Dilliander - I'm glad you found the review helpful! Annette - hahahaha, I don't know if you saw my recent review of Simplicity 2860 (there were nearly tears). It's wonderful to just be able to sew something and it works! And thank you both for your compliments :-)
12/7/12 3:01 AM
Doobee64 said...
Looks super on you! This pattern is definitely a winner for you...
12/7/12 4:43 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice dress! It's great to see this pattern made up so thanks for the review.
12/7/12 7:55 AM
Christas said...
So pretty on you! I've never tried Style Arc patterns, but your review makes me want to!
12/7/12 8:26 AM
michellep74 said...
Lovely dress--it looks great on you!
12/7/12 1:09 PM
meggy said...
The dress looks great on you. I am so glad you posted this review as I had my eyes on this pattern as soon as it hit the StyleArc site.
12/7/12 9:39 PM
jenleeC said...
Thanks for the detailed review. Your dress looks great and as a 'no alterations' pattern test it fits you very well.
12/7/12 9:47 PM
KatC83 said...
Thank you all! JenleeC, you've hit the nail on the head - it's brilliant to have a pattern which is wearable without alterations. To the ladies thinking about this pattern (or styleARC in general) - do it! You won't regret it :-)
12/8/12 4:36 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very stylish dress, and I like those sleeves!
12/8/12 12:18 PM
JEF said...
Very pretty. Is the center front at bust level pinned or stitched? It looks fastened but I couln't be sure.
12/9/12 7:22 AM
KatC83 said...
JEF - it's pinned temporarily, while I decide where to put a little snap.
12/9/12 3:21 PM
sewpelican said...
Thanks for the review. My pattern arrived today, I cannot find written anywhere the width of elastic for the shoulder and waist areas, nor the length required in each area. Did you have this problem and how did you resolve it? Thanks for help.
12/11/12 6:27 AM
KatC83 said...
sewpelican - I just used what I had, which was 6mm (1/4 inch) elastic. I used the triple zig-zag stitch to attach it. You could use slightly wider elastic, but if it's too wide it would be bulky. Hope that helps :-)
12/12/12 1:44 PM
KatC83 said...
Oh, and the elastic length - around your waist, long enough to be somewhat stretched at your natural waist height. The pattern includes cutting guides for the shoulder elastic, I think.
12/12/12 1:45 PM
brissmith said...
Love this look. I've just made up a muslin in this pattern and it seems a bit short in the waist for me. It looks like the elastic sits on your waistline. I might lengthen the bodice a bit for me. I've also left a comment on your blog. Cheers, Susan
12/26/12 5:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 7962

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
McCall's 6185

photo
by: Foutchy

Review