SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Mia Dress (Mia Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 628 times 
Reviewed by:KatC83
photo

 
 
About KatC83star
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 9/26/09
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/7/12 1:36 AM
Last Updated:12/7/12 1:39 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
brissmith said...
Love this look. I've just made up a muslin in this pattern and it seems a bit short in the waist for me. It looks like the elastic sits on your waistline. I might lengthen the bodice a bit for me. I've also left a comment on your blog. Cheers, Susan
12/26/12 5:27 AM
KatC83 said...
Oh, and the elastic length - around your waist, long enough to be somewhat stretched at your natural waist height. The pattern includes cutting guides for the shoulder elastic, I think.
12/12/12 1:45 PM
KatC83 said...
sewpelican - I just used what I had, which was 6mm (1/4 inch) elastic. I used the triple zig-zag stitch to attach it. You could use slightly wider elastic, but if it's too wide it would be bulky. Hope that helps :-)
12/12/12 1:44 PM
sewpelican said...
Thanks for the review. My pattern arrived today, I cannot find written anywhere the width of elastic for the shoulder and waist areas, nor the length required in each area. Did you have this problem and how did you resolve it? Thanks for help.
12/11/12 6:27 AM
KatC83 said...
JEF - it's pinned temporarily, while I decide where to put a little snap.
12/9/12 3:21 PM
JEF said...
Very pretty. Is the center front at bust level pinned or stitched? It looks fastened but I couln't be sure.
12/9/12 7:22 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very stylish dress, and I like those sleeves!
12/8/12 12:18 PM
KatC83 said...
Thank you all! JenleeC, you've hit the nail on the head - it's brilliant to have a pattern which is wearable without alterations. To the ladies thinking about this pattern (or styleARC in general) - do it! You won't regret it :-)
12/8/12 4:36 AM
jenleeC said...
Thanks for the detailed review. Your dress looks great and as a 'no alterations' pattern test it fits you very well.
12/7/12 9:47 PM
meggy said...
The dress looks great on you. I am so glad you posted this review as I had my eyes on this pattern as soon as it hit the StyleArc site.
12/7/12 9:39 PM
michellep74 said...
Lovely dress--it looks great on you!
12/7/12 1:09 PM
Christas said...
So pretty on you! I've never tried Style Arc patterns, but your review makes me want to!
12/7/12 8:26 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice dress! It's great to see this pattern made up so thanks for the review.
12/7/12 7:55 AM
madebyj said...
Looks super on you! This pattern is definitely a winner for you...
12/7/12 4:43 AM
KatC83 said...
Dilliander - I'm glad you found the review helpful! Annette - hahahaha, I don't know if you saw my recent review of Simplicity 2860 (there were nearly tears). It's wonderful to just be able to sew something and it works! And thank you both for your compliments :-)
12/7/12 3:01 AM
Annette1 said...
Did someone mention "wildly inconsistent" (with the Big 4)? That definitely made me smile in agreement. As for this lovely little Style Arc dress, it's just perfect, and you look so chic and yet comfortable in it. :o)
12/7/12 2:49 AM
Dilliander said...
Lovely to see this dress made up, it looks stylish, cool and comfortable. Thanks for the review and extra details on your blog.
12/7/12 2:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Buy Now