Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3861 (Butterfly Tops) - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 207 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:marymary86
photo
About marymary86
GA USA
Member since: 7/20/08
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/8/12 11:04 AM
Last Updated:12/8/12 1:58 PM


See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $11.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.99     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
busymomof3 said...
I need to get this pattern! I still have not tried sewing knit but sounds like this is the right basic pattern for me to start with. I like the fabric and can't wait to see how it fits.
12/8/12 12:11 PM
MartiP said...
I used this for a dress pattern by splitting the back and adding the extra fullness there too. Great pattern instructions!
12/8/12 3:17 PM
marymary86 said...
Thank you for that tip Mrs. Yowder. I'm also wondering if I could omit the back slash (binding the neck in one full circle which I know how to do). I'm wondering if the neck opening is wide enough? I'm getting ready to take the dress over to Ro so I'll see when she tries it on (hoping she'll be up when we get over there!)
12/8/12 4:48 PM
Levone said...
Cute top! I have this pattern but hadn't made it yet. Glad I saw your version as it definitely looks better than the one on the envelope.
12/8/12 9:28 PM
MartiP said...
marymary86, I was hoping for that,too, but didn't think it would stretch enough. I was trying to duplicate a knit dress my daughter purchased from Land's End. My grandaughter loved it a wore it alot. One thing I forgot, and I am not sure if it would have been necessary, was to have the seam in the back on a slight curve. Dress turned out fine, though. Another thing the directions call for is to first gather, then apply clear elastic to the front waist seam. Next time I would serge it on. I found it a bit difficult to sew straight, since it has 1/4" seams.
12/8/12 10:18 PM
marymary86 said...
Mrs. Yowder - Your tips are most appreciated! Thank you!! I should have mentioned that I omitted the step of sewing on the clear elastic. Little Rowan is profoundly autistic and I was worried that she'd have sensory issues from it. I took the dress to her but she was asleep when I got there. I asked her mom to please text a picture of her wearing it but haven't seen anything yet. I thought I'd evaluate the fit from this first try and take it from there. Mom loved the dress and kept saying "You made this?" as she saw the double stitched hem with overlocking underneath (just a serged edged and twin needle top stitching) but it looked professionally finished. I was glad she was pleased.
12/9/12 7:44 PM
MartiP said...
Marymary86:Thank you. I really enjoy discussing sewing and sharing anything that might be helpful. I wondered about the elastic too, but didn't hear anything negative. Two of my grandchildren have a degree of autism, so I understand your concern. I am going to use this pattern again and use the long sleeves this time. The Land's End dress had topstitching at the waistline seam. I would think that might stabilize it to a degee. May also try that.
12/9/12 10:30 PM
rubbecca said...
I have been eyeing this pattern for my daughter. Looks great. I love how your top turned out.
3/7/13 0:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Vogue Patterns 1283 Dress
photo
Review by meli88a on 2/21/12
Read Review

Colette Laurel Pattern (1025)
Colette Laurel Pattern (1025)

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0148 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0148 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9103 1-Hour Dress
photo
Review by QuikSew on 5/12/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Veronica Pocketbook
Veronica Pocketbook

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us