Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3566 (Simplicity easy chic) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 569 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/11/12 11:18 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
frame said...
Your jacket looks great and your review was a fun read. Thanks. :)
12/11/12 11:36 PM
CynthiaSue said...
miss you !!! want to kiss you:):):) This is AMAZING. Look at that sleeve head! Look at those fronts-perfect curves. Excellent tailoring. It's a $750 jacket! Who's the puppy btw?
12/12/12 0:11 AM
SewWil said...
That is one gorgeous jacket! I love everything about it. It looks great on you. You did a beautiful job on this.
12/12/12 0:17 AM
karen n said...
Wow, I hope to be able to do something that looks this great some day!
12/12/12 1:44 AM
Sigrid. said...
The mistakes we all make... Sometimes like you in one project. BUT you made a wonderful jacket. No mistake to be seen. So glad to read a review by you again.
12/12/12 2:13 AM
Renata said...
You are so funny, and yes, blame your poor dawg. But that is one awesome jacket. I wish my mistakes turned out like that. It's perfect!
12/12/12 2:17 AM
sfshaza said...
What a comedy of errors but, wow, is that cute!!! I really like the collar with two separate lapel pieces.
12/12/12 2:29 AM
Dilliander said...
Such a lovely jacket and story!
12/12/12 3:17 AM
BillieJean said...
There are just some times when it seems like a pattern doesn't want to be made. Glad you stuck with it, because this is a beautiful jacket. Thanks so much for a thorough review, as always.
12/12/12 6:09 AM
Rebecca D said...
Great jacket and I think the collar is gorgeous. Your reviews are always fantastic and this one is no exception. Adding this to my wishlist.
12/12/12 6:51 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great review, so detailed, thank you very much!!! Love the jacket and the fabric! I consider you the jacket queen.
12/12/12 7:02 AM
GwendolenG said...
I've had those sewing days! Still, your finished product looks amazing--and perfectly fitted to you. It does what good clothes do--compliments someone who is already gorgeous. Great job!
12/12/12 7:45 AM
Christas said...
Annette, this is truly one of my all time favorites! Every single detail of this jacket is amazing: those cuffs with the dips, the very unique and beautiful collar (one of which you had to DRAFT because the dog ATE it..... geeez), the buttons, EVERYTHING. It's simply a gorgeous jacket. I love it! And..... a fantastic review to boot! Plus, it looks WONDERFUL on you! :-)
12/12/12 9:56 AM
redside said...
Beautiful work! The jacket looks terrific on you.
12/12/12 9:58 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful silhouette on you. Gorgeous. It's comforting to know that other sewists go through the same things that I do. Thanks for a very helpful review.
12/12/12 10:13 AM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous jacket and very funny review!
12/12/12 10:35 AM
msmull3562 said...
Great review! The jacket is very flattering and lovely.
12/12/12 12:20 PM
Margaret said...
This jacket looks fabulous! I really like how that double collar or separate collar/lapel looks in that fabric! Great fit too!
12/12/12 12:35 PM
Elemenopeo said...
really looks great on you!
12/12/12 1:37 PM
carolynw said...
Well I am done laughing at your problems and must tell you I love your jacket - for all the wrong things you say you did this turned out perfectly - wish I had your luck yesterday - cutting out the fronts of a stripe separately and forgot to turn the pattern piece over for the second cut - outcome is in the garbage as not enough fabric to correct
12/12/12 2:20 PM
RLL said...
OOOOH SOOOOOOO PRETTY! Love it.
12/12/12 7:52 PM
Karendee said...
Everything about your review is a pleasure to read---instructional, humorous, down to earth and lovely to look at! You are still "The Jacket Queen " in all your glory. No one can make a jacket as well as you. So glad you are back to a more fitted style that pleases you more. I still wish the last red jacket had worked out for you. The color was glorious. Hope you plan to use this pattern again, for it is a winner.
12/12/12 8:20 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Very nice jacket!!
12/12/12 9:37 PM
Sew Shy said...
Fantastic looking jacket and such a thorough review. Thank you for sharing all the details.
12/12/12 10:01 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
GREAT review--sew helpful & detailed!! Gonna help me sew another pair of pj bottoms backwards ;D FUNNY review, just like "vous"!!
12/13/12 0:01 AM
Joan in NM said...
Fantastic result! The collars look great on you.
12/13/12 0:57 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Absolutely beautiful jacket! The remark about the lack of plus sizes for the inspiration jacket made me laugh and laugh and I think I will always remember it when out shopping for what isn't there.
12/13/12 6:56 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very smart and distinctive, and a fine effort. Well worth the trouble of your trials and tribulations. You are so lucky to find a wonderful piece of fabric hidden away.
12/13/12 5:52 PM
Red Curtain said...
Looks great!
12/13/12 9:40 PM
MaryDB said...
Looks terrific. I wouldn't have looked twice at this pattern, but it's really nice, and you did a great job with it..
12/14/12 0:09 AM
KarlaB said...
I laughed so hard reading your review!! Probably because all the "wrong turns" are way TOO familiar to me! It makes me feel better about my sewing "adventures!" Like maybe I can get good at this some day, even! And wow! You sure wouldn't know you did anything "wrong"! What a beeuutiful jacket! It looks absolutely perfect! Love that fabric!
12/14/12 11:57 PM
Barbara V said...
Annette, Pretty amazing....how can you get such gorgeous results from these boo boos????? Looks like you intentionally planned every step as completed to create this masterpiece! (Are you sure YOU didn't eat that pattern piece?) It is true - you ARE the jacket queen! The best part - it looks sensational on you. I especially like the shape and fit of the collar. Of course, lastly, as always, a fun review to read.
12/15/12 1:03 PM
nancy2001 said...
Gorgeous jacket!
2/11/13 1:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2009-106
photo
Review by Lisette on 3/26/10
Read Review

Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 103821-1003
photo
Review by mowse on 7/8/08
Read Review

Veronica Pocketbook
Veronica Pocketbook

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8828 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8828 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us