SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6108 (top, skirt, and scarf)

12 more reviews
Viewed 301 times 
Reviewed by:Lori9999
photo

 
 
About Lori9999star
AZ USA
Member since: 12/6/12
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/15/12 3:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BrendaJoyce said...
Even though you had trouble with the pattern, this top really looks stunning on you. The fit is fabulous, especially around the arms. No gaposis at all.
12/15/12 4:16 PM
Irene said...
I feel duly warned by your review . . . but you look fabulous in this top, and it fits you beautifully.
12/15/12 4:31 PM
EleanorSews said...
In spite of the difficulties, this top is lovely on you. Both fit and fabric are perfect for you.
12/15/12 5:24 PM
Lori9999 said...
Thanks everyone for your very kind comments.
12/15/12 9:25 PM
Vonnevo said...
Thank you and congratulations on writing your first review !!! Your top looks fabulous, despite your difficulties with the armhole finish. I have this pattern and was very excited to see your review. I pulled out my pattern and yes, I think there may be a better way to finish the armholes, to eliminate the bulk. My RTW cowl top is finished in a similar way too. I wonder if flattenning the shoulder seams with wooden clappers, will reduce the bulk. I often do this with knits on side seam facings.
12/16/12 2:47 AM
RisaJ said...
Top looks great on you. Thanks for the review.
12/16/12 10:41 AM
Lori9999 said...
Vonnevo, I don't have a wooden clapper, but did my best to to reduce the bulk by grading and smashing with a hammer. I am thinking that if I make this top again, I might try either re-working the front facing pattern piece by eliminating the pleat completely or replacing it with a dart, which could then be trimmed to lie flatter.
12/16/12 1:20 PM
usbeckers said...
Thank you for the review and advice on the arm hole... looks great :)
1/7/13 10:20 PM
Leora said...
It looks great for all the trouble you had. Thanks for the heads up.
4/30/13 2:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

StyleArc Tori Crop Pant

photo
by: aleah42

Review
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Sheer White

PerfectFuse Sheer White

Buy Now