SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6108 (top, skirt, and scarf)

12 more reviews
Viewed 312 times 
Reviewed by:Lori9999
photo

 
 
About Lori9999star
AZ United States
Member since: 12/6/12
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/15/12 3:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leora said...
It looks great for all the trouble you had. Thanks for the heads up.
4/30/13 2:51 AM
usbeckers said...
Thank you for the review and advice on the arm hole... looks great :)
1/7/13 10:20 PM
Lori9999 said...
Vonnevo, I don't have a wooden clapper, but did my best to to reduce the bulk by grading and smashing with a hammer. I am thinking that if I make this top again, I might try either re-working the front facing pattern piece by eliminating the pleat completely or replacing it with a dart, which could then be trimmed to lie flatter.
12/16/12 1:20 PM
RisaJ said...
Top looks great on you. Thanks for the review.
12/16/12 10:41 AM
Vonnevo said...
Thank you and congratulations on writing your first review !!! Your top looks fabulous, despite your difficulties with the armhole finish. I have this pattern and was very excited to see your review. I pulled out my pattern and yes, I think there may be a better way to finish the armholes, to eliminate the bulk. My RTW cowl top is finished in a similar way too. I wonder if flattenning the shoulder seams with wooden clappers, will reduce the bulk. I often do this with knits on side seam facings.
12/16/12 2:47 AM
Lori9999 said...
Thanks everyone for your very kind comments.
12/15/12 9:25 PM
EleanorSews said...
In spite of the difficulties, this top is lovely on you. Both fit and fabric are perfect for you.
12/15/12 5:24 PM
Irene said...
I feel duly warned by your review . . . but you look fabulous in this top, and it fits you beautifully.
12/15/12 4:31 PM
BrendaJoyce said...
Even though you had trouble with the pattern, this top really looks stunning on you. The fit is fabulous, especially around the arms. No gaposis at all.
12/15/12 4:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-110

photo
by: mkruszewsk...

Review
Vogue Patterns 1337

photo
by: unfinished...

Review
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

More Info