SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Ella Frill Knit Cardi (Ella Frill Knit Cardi)

1 more reviews
Viewed 784 times 
Reviewed by:CissieW
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CissieWstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 1/21/07
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 112 people
patterns reviewed: 186
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/19/12 10:28 AM
Last Updated:12/19/12 10:29 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Judy Kski said...
QUOTE: "I'm not sure that I totally understand the purpose of the darts on the front which are covered by the frills." According to the Construction directions (#5), the darts are used for shaping in the bust area. I was about to make this pattern and saw your review. I hope mine comes out looking as nice as yours.
7/20/14 5:42 PM
Tina Lou said...
I got this as a freebie with my first-ever StyleArc order - love to hear that the sleeves didn't need any easing! Thanks for the helpful review. Yours is gorgeous; this may be my first make of the new year!
12/22/12 10:50 PM
blessedtosew said...
That is gorgeous. It reminds me of a very expensive anthropologie cardigan from a couple of years ago.
12/22/12 11:19 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Very cute, Cissie! You're right to use the ruffler next time - ruffles in a jiffy!
12/21/12 6:42 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Like Karla, I got this free with my pattern purchase last month and felt ho-hum about it...but seeing it made up has convinced me to make one too. Pretty!
12/20/12 5:16 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thanks - I'm going to give it a whirl.
12/20/12 2:47 PM
CissieW said...
the ruffle edges are raw. I hemmed the bottom with my coverstitch machine.
12/20/12 8:37 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Just beautiful. You've convinced me to take the plunge and make this my first Style Arc purchase. Do you hem all those ruffle edges or are they left raw?
12/20/12 7:05 AM
belinda68 said...
Amazing coincidence! I have just finished making this cardigan in the same colour but, with short sleeves for summer! I have also made a long sleeve version too in grey wool modal. I didn't have any trouble with my frill widths. My only thoughts might be the fabric type used, my fabrics were quite drapey. I'll have to summon the courage to do my first review so I can show you!
12/20/12 3:25 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty cardi!
12/20/12 0:21 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful!
12/19/12 11:56 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, my! This is just beautiful. Great job...
12/19/12 10:31 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Lovely!
12/19/12 7:38 PM
Lanna said...
Nice ! I love the RTW look. Very up to date !
12/19/12 4:26 PM
PattyE said...
Your cardi is really cute. I'll have to get this pattern.
12/19/12 3:44 PM
cleverkitty said...
looks beautiful cotton knit is wonderful...
12/19/12 2:38 PM
Jaknan said...
I too received this as the free pattern of the month. I liked it but now seeing yours I LOVE IT! Your ruffles look much wider than on the pattern drawing even though you cut them down and yours look so much more appealing.
12/19/12 2:13 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very pretty.
12/19/12 2:03 PM
mnitts said...
Lovely cardigan
12/19/12 12:23 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I received this pattern as the freebie-of-the-month and must admit it didn't interest me much...until I saw yours. Charming!
12/19/12 12:16 PM
Jrhee said...
Beautiful cardi!
12/19/12 11:46 AM
clotheshorse said...
Your cardi looks great! I have this pattern and am looking forward to making it, thanks for the review
12/19/12 10:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Burda 9826

photo
by: sewinfranc...

Review
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now