Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2012-113 (Peplum top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 250 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:French.Seam
photo
About French.Seamstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 12/10/07
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/13 3:34 PM
Last Updated:11/9/13 11:38 PM
Project Photo:BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2012-113 by French.Seam

Pattern Photo: BurdaStyle Magazine Pattern Info

More Info provided by French.Seam

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
Current Tags What is a Tag: BurdaStyle US Winter 2014  
Fabric:Crepe - Satin backed  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: peplum top with cap sleeves

Pattern Sizing: I made my usual 38, with a broad back adjustment, and it was still a bit tight around the shoulders

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? pretty much

Were the instructions easy to follow? For Burda, not too bad actually (but Burda does assume a certain level of experience, they aren't for novices)

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It's bang on trend, as Gok Wan would say: peplum, and a high-low hem (longer in the back, shorter in the front)

Fabric Used: polyester crepe

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
- broad back adjustment
- I lined it the fast & dirty way See Here

there are some stress marks where the armhole joins the upper chest, so I might unpick the sleeve seam and sew it again to give a few more mms in that area.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I really like peplums, but they'll possibly become untrendy as soon as I make another

Conclusion: I really like it, but I need to choose a darker trouser as this does flare out at my widest point, the hips

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
Super cute!
11/7/13 3:44 PM
grays08 said...
Love it and great to know about the shoulders. Thanks also for the great link to Threads, hadn't seen that one before.
11/7/13 6:35 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty!
11/7/13 8:36 PM
KateS said...
Lovely top !
11/7/13 9:29 PM
KateS said...
Lovely top !
11/7/13 9:30 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I like this on you!
11/9/13 10:27 AM
ryan's mom said...
I'm not a big fan of peplum tops, but I LOVE your version with the high/low hemline. I think it really makes the top and is a way to make it more flattering for many figure types. I know you mentioned it flares out at your widest point, but the hi/low hemline draws the eyes upward and away from the hipline. I think it's very flattering on you and looks great! :)
11/9/13 11:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Burda 7140 Misses Jackets
photo
Review by WinterQuee... on 11/14/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jackie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Jackie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6231
photo
Review by Dellia45 on 1/19/14
Read Review

Vogue 8840 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8840 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8796 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8796 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us