SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1320 (Misses' Coat)

9 more reviews
Viewed 705 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 232
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/22/12 1:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $35.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $35.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PattyE said...
Great review...I have the fabric for this pattern so I appreciate your tips. Those durn kitties...LOL...your repair looks great. Nice coat!
12/22/12 1:40 PM
BeaJay said...
What a great coat. Looks cosy and very well made. A lovely result. Great colour too.
12/22/12 4:20 PM
miausiau said...
This has been a very popular coat pattern. Others have commented on the odd construction as well. I think it looks expertly done. I've been buying warm coat lining from EOS, and seems of good quality.
12/22/12 4:59 PM
Renata said...
I like the line of that coat, casual yet elegant. I would love it even more if our 30 degree temp was F and not C. Gotta luv them cats!
12/22/12 9:54 PM
Elona said...
Nikki, your work is beautiful!
12/22/12 9:57 PM
cleverkitty said...
Beautiful coat, thanks for the tip on the felting needles. love those buttonholes too :)
12/23/12 9:34 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Your buttonholes look great. Coat looks much much nicer than pattern photo. Great job
12/23/12 2:13 PM
valkyrie01 said...
Absolutely lovely! I did not think there was anyone out there still using horsehair canvas as I do! This is truly a haute couture piece. The shape is fantastic, and the drape. I am glad you perservered despite the challenges such as the collar and the kitty (excellent repair job btw, I would never have known of the altercation)! For what it is worth, Miyake's designs are always unusual; bits and pieces in unexpected places or asymmetrical parts. It makes for interesting designs. I have made up a few of his designs and feel really special in them. Again, lovely coat! Enjoy wearing it!
12/23/12 4:03 PM
roseisarose said...
Your coat looks great. I just finished my muslin for this pattern, and there is a lot of bunching in the back shoulder. I noticed this happens some in your and several other finished versions of this coat. Any tips on how to get rid of some of the excess fabric there? Since it happens where three pieces come together, I'm not sure how to take it in.
12/28/12 7:39 PM
Nikki said...
Rose, I think the extra fabric at the armscye is due to the pattern design with the yoke and the unusual sleeves. I'm not sure that it could be easily adjusted...
12/29/12 10:39 AM
roseisarose said...
Nikki, thanks for the reply. I have excess fabric in the back as well. I'm thinking of putting darts in the back and back of the yoke. Maybe that will fix some of the extra fabric I have in arm scythe. If it works I will post again. Thanks again for the great pattern review.
12/29/12 6:28 PM
becca a said...
Gorgeous red coat and great review.
2/23/14 6:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Other 07072008

photo
by: julliams

Review
StyleArc Olive Spliced Tee

photo
by: Danvillegi...

Review
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Buy Now