SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 219 (Folkwear 219 Intimacies)

8 more reviews
Viewed 444 times 
Reviewed by:LBH2010
photo

 
 
About LBH2010star
PA USA
Member since: 7/12/12
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/22/12 5:45 PM
Last Updated:1/22/13 10:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
miausiau said...
The waviness is due to the material stretching as it is stitched. Lower pressure foot adjustment if possible. Sometimes a zig zag stitch works and looks better,or longer stitch length. I bet a tear off stabilizer might help.
12/22/12 7:32 PM
LBH2010 said...
Thank you so much! I appreciate it. :)
12/22/12 10:20 PM
FreyaStark said...
The wavy hem looks good to me. Couldn't you call it a design effect?
12/23/12 3:09 AM
ktr2567 said...
I agree about the wavy hem, it could be a part of the design, but when my sewing machine stretches the fabric like that it's best to hand sew. Maybe ironing and steaming will get it back into shape then hand-sew.
12/23/12 9:53 AM
krazyknit said...
Your tap pants are very pretty. I made a pair about a month ago (and reviewed on PR) out of bemberg rayon. I was thinking back to remember if I had trouble with the hem. Guess because the rayon has no stretch, I was able to hem by machine. I like the idea of hemming by hand to avoid the wavy stretchy hem.
12/23/12 8:09 PM
krazyknit said...

12/23/12 8:09 PM
LBH2010 said...
Thanks, everyone! I think I am going to hem them by hand, but I kept getting those little dimples in the front of the satin when I did a blind hem. I guess I have to settle for the wavy hem or the dimples. I don't mind the wave around the legs, but it looks funny around the waist. Anyway, it's a learning experience for me. I never worked with stretch fabric.
12/23/12 10:10 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Try steaming with lots of steam to regain some shape. Next time try water soluble Wonder under or something like Steam-A-Seam to keep every thing from stretching before machine sewing. I personally like the waviness on these. Or, if you have a serger, try a small rolled hem (type designed for lingerie).
1/5/13 5:42 PM
LBH2010 said...
Thanks to everyone who gave suggestions on how to fix these. I finally was able to get the wave out of the hem enough. They still have a slight wave, but I can live with them! I still need to iron them, too. I tried to update the thumbnail but the site keeps putting the wavy hem picture back up. You can click the pic and be redirected to the new picture if you care! :)
1/17/13 9:46 PM
FreyaStark said...
After changing your thumbnail, you need to reload the page to make the change take effect. Just press F5 (on a PC).
1/22/13 11:22 PM
cocosloft said...
Pretty! love the fabric and color.
1/23/13 6:45 AM
facesunderwater said...
I am going to try these, you did a lovely job.
1/23/13 7:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Sewing Workshop eDress

photo
by: jannw

Review
Butterick 5825

photo
by: knitsewmuc...

Review
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now