Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Folkwear: 219 (Folkwear 219 Intimacies) thumbsup - Type:Lingerie    printable version
Viewed 425 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:LBH2010
photo
About LBH2010star
PA USA
Member since: 7/12/12
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/22/12 5:45 PM
Last Updated:1/22/13 10:07 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
miausiau said...
The waviness is due to the material stretching as it is stitched. Lower pressure foot adjustment if possible. Sometimes a zig zag stitch works and looks better,or longer stitch length. I bet a tear off stabilizer might help.
12/22/12 7:32 PM
LBH2010 said...
Thank you so much! I appreciate it. :)
12/22/12 10:20 PM
FreyaStark said...
The wavy hem looks good to me. Couldn't you call it a design effect?
12/23/12 3:09 AM
ktr2567 said...
I agree about the wavy hem, it could be a part of the design, but when my sewing machine stretches the fabric like that it's best to hand sew. Maybe ironing and steaming will get it back into shape then hand-sew.
12/23/12 9:53 AM
krazyknit said...
Your tap pants are very pretty. I made a pair about a month ago (and reviewed on PR) out of bemberg rayon. I was thinking back to remember if I had trouble with the hem. Guess because the rayon has no stretch, I was able to hem by machine. I like the idea of hemming by hand to avoid the wavy stretchy hem.
12/23/12 8:09 PM
krazyknit said...

12/23/12 8:09 PM
LBH2010 said...
Thanks, everyone! I think I am going to hem them by hand, but I kept getting those little dimples in the front of the satin when I did a blind hem. I guess I have to settle for the wavy hem or the dimples. I don't mind the wave around the legs, but it looks funny around the waist. Anyway, it's a learning experience for me. I never worked with stretch fabric.
12/23/12 10:10 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Try steaming with lots of steam to regain some shape. Next time try water soluble Wonder under or something like Steam-A-Seam to keep every thing from stretching before machine sewing. I personally like the waviness on these. Or, if you have a serger, try a small rolled hem (type designed for lingerie).
1/5/13 5:42 PM
LBH2010 said...
Thanks to everyone who gave suggestions on how to fix these. I finally was able to get the wave out of the hem enough. They still have a slight wave, but I can live with them! I still need to iron them, too. I tried to update the thumbnail but the site keeps putting the wavy hem picture back up. You can click the pic and be redirected to the new picture if you care! :)
1/17/13 9:46 PM
FreyaStark said...
After changing your thumbnail, you need to reload the page to make the change take effect. Just press F5 (on a PC).
1/22/13 11:22 PM
cocosloft said...
Pretty! love the fabric and color.
1/23/13 6:45 AM
facesunderwater said...
I am going to try these, you did a lovely job.
1/23/13 7:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Amy Butler AB024MB
photo
Review by EeLo on 3/27/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3160 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3160 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2613 Pattern( Size ONESIZE )
Simplicity 2613 Pattern( Size ONESIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8659
photo
Review by rivergum on 10/28/12
Read Review

Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern
Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us