SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> none 

118 more reviews
Viewed 97 times 
Reviewed by:Learn To Sew
Friend of PR

About Learn To Sewstar
Member since: 4/12/05
Reviews: 34 (patterns: 18)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/27/12 7:46 PM
Last Updated:12/27/12 8:38 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Other Projects by Learn To Sew using this Pattern


Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics

Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Learn To Sew said... (1/2/13 8:36 PM) Reply
I know I can't do a french seam with the serger. I was not thinking that far ahead. Mainly the first few seams and then finish with a french seam on my Bernina. I was trying to think of a way to reduce some of the bulk where the header joins the body of the case. On the final french seam it is 10 layers thick in that spot.
SouthernStitch said... (1/2/13 2:21 PM) Reply
I don't think you can do a french seam properly with a serger. But, this is the way I have learned to do pillowcases. The instructions are on the Crafty Gemini's You Tube channel in case anyone needs to know how to do it. Our Joann's is teaching a pillowcase class, and has one on display. I was really disappointed to see how it was sewn and they used pinking shears to finish the inside!! Yuck! But, yours are very lovely, and done right!
Learn To Sew said... (12/30/12 11:36 AM) Reply
I am thinking of changing not only the layout on the next set, but of using the serger as well. Not sure how this will work yet. The idea was to make the layers flatter and eliminate one step somewhere. I still want the cases to be french seamed, so nothing shows. Just not sure how to do it with the serger and the sewing machine. I really love the Bernina, as it just plows though those 10 layers like nothing.
Mufffet said... (12/29/12 8:19 PM) Reply
VERY pretty LTS! Thanks for the complete review!
Sonoma33 said... (12/29/12 1:11 AM) Reply
These are really nice. Makes me want to make some too. And don't you just love how easily the Bernina's sew though all those layers! I love that too!
PattyGee said... (12/28/12 0:11 AM) Reply
Wow those are beautiful pillowcases. I can't wait to see your next set. Thanks for the information on the fabric, the black floral is lovely.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Class Details

Ellen McCarn Ultimate Yoke Dress

by: Riversmock...

Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Pattern Details