SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB021WT (Weekender Travel Bag)

45 more reviews
Viewed 693 times 
Reviewed by:rutaliet
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About rutalietstar
IL USA
Member since: 8/10/08
Reviews written: 33
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/29/12 7:48 PM
Last Updated:12/30/12 12:11 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Messy Mags said...
Thanks very much for your great review and extremely helpful tips. I had wanting to make the front pockets with zippers, but could not figure out how. I went with magnetic snaps instead. Will use your zip pockets tutorial for my next weekender though!
10/20/13 6:58 AM
addicted2fabric said...
Thank you Rutaliet. I figured that would be the best time to sew them on, but I was really paranoid about ruining what has been a very expensive project to make, so I wanted to check and be sure. I have finished my bag and will post a review tomorrow. Thanks again for your wonderful, extremely helpful review :)
5/14/13 5:16 AM
VintageTempest said...
Very nice! I really want to make this bag now.
5/13/13 9:03 PM
rutaliet said...
Response to addicted2fabric - the strap tabs were attached to the complete fronts through all layers.
5/11/13 7:40 AM
addicted2fabric said...
Thank you so much for one of the very best reviews I've ever seen. Your bag is so gorgeous, you have inspired me to buy the pattern and have a go myself. I much prefer your way of using strap tabs, and intend to do the same. If you see this, please could you let me know where in the construction process you stitched on the tabs? Did you add them to the exterior fabric at the start, or after you'd added the interfacing and Peltex? I cant PM you sorry, as I'm only a free member. Thanks :)
5/10/13 0:14 AM
Wilzmom said...
Your bag is awesome! Thanks for posting the "how to" for the changes you made.
4/16/13 7:30 AM
lauraborealis said...
I am in awe. What a fantastic bag and review.
1/2/13 1:40 PM
Wianno Girl said...
Excellently thorough review with a lot of creative solutions for the "why didn't I think of this first" problems... stunning fabric too. this project is 2nd on my 2013 list (right after my Channel jacket).
12/31/12 7:05 PM
Pj3g said...
Great bag and great review!!!
12/30/12 9:06 PM
1SewSweet said...
Grat job on this bag! Very professional looking!
12/30/12 2:57 PM
aliciavr6 said...
That fabric is gorgeous! I made this bag as the 2nd thing I ever sewed on a cheap Walmart brother machine. It took soooooo long! Almost as long to cut out all the pieces as it did to sew it! Yours makes me want to make another one if I ever get ambitious again.
12/30/12 12:30 PM
michellep74 said...
Beautiful bag!
12/30/12 12:28 PM
Julia C said...
Great review & beautiful bag!
12/30/12 11:54 AM
Morisot said...
Gorgeous. Much nicer than the pattern illustrations. Thank you for all the great tips, too.
12/30/12 10:36 AM
Woolygal said...
Beautiful bag - excellent review. Thanks
12/30/12 7:59 AM
Tee Jones Actie said...
Georgeous, thanks for a very useful review!
12/30/12 6:23 AM
pdiddly said...
this is a beautiful bag and a great review with lots of useful tips - thank you.
12/30/12 5:17 AM
craftylady66 said...
Brilliant!
12/30/12 1:19 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Gorgeous bag. You did an extremely excellent job on this.
12/30/12 0:48 AM
Lori V said...
It is a great bag
12/29/12 9:12 PM
Redsmum said...
Stunning!
12/29/12 8:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

McCall's 5633

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

More Info