SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB021WT (Weekender Travel Bag)

45 more reviews
Viewed 636 times 
Reviewed by:rutaliet
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About rutalietstar
IL USA
Member since: 8/10/08
Reviews written: 33
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/29/12 7:48 PM
Last Updated:12/30/12 12:11 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Redsmum said...
Stunning!
12/29/12 8:03 PM
Lori V said...
It is a great bag
12/29/12 9:12 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Gorgeous bag. You did an extremely excellent job on this.
12/30/12 0:48 AM
craftylady66 said...
Brilliant!
12/30/12 1:19 AM
pdiddly said...
this is a beautiful bag and a great review with lots of useful tips - thank you.
12/30/12 5:17 AM
Tee Jones Actie said...
Georgeous, thanks for a very useful review!
12/30/12 6:23 AM
Woolygal said...
Beautiful bag - excellent review. Thanks
12/30/12 7:59 AM
Morisot said...
Gorgeous. Much nicer than the pattern illustrations. Thank you for all the great tips, too.
12/30/12 10:36 AM
Julia C said...
Great review & beautiful bag!
12/30/12 11:54 AM
michellep74 said...
Beautiful bag!
12/30/12 12:28 PM
aliciavr6 said...
That fabric is gorgeous! I made this bag as the 2nd thing I ever sewed on a cheap Walmart brother machine. It took soooooo long! Almost as long to cut out all the pieces as it did to sew it! Yours makes me want to make another one if I ever get ambitious again.
12/30/12 12:30 PM
1SewSweet said...
Grat job on this bag! Very professional looking!
12/30/12 2:57 PM
Pj3g said...
Great bag and great review!!!
12/30/12 9:06 PM
Wianno Girl said...
Excellently thorough review with a lot of creative solutions for the "why didn't I think of this first" problems... stunning fabric too. this project is 2nd on my 2013 list (right after my Channel jacket).
12/31/12 7:05 PM
lauraborealis said...
I am in awe. What a fantastic bag and review.
1/2/13 1:40 PM
Wilzmom said...
Your bag is awesome! Thanks for posting the "how to" for the changes you made.
4/16/13 7:30 AM
addicted2fabric said...
Thank you so much for one of the very best reviews I've ever seen. Your bag is so gorgeous, you have inspired me to buy the pattern and have a go myself. I much prefer your way of using strap tabs, and intend to do the same. If you see this, please could you let me know where in the construction process you stitched on the tabs? Did you add them to the exterior fabric at the start, or after you'd added the interfacing and Peltex? I cant PM you sorry, as I'm only a free member. Thanks :)
5/10/13 0:14 AM
rutaliet said...
Response to addicted2fabric - the strap tabs were attached to the complete fronts through all layers.
5/11/13 7:40 AM
VintageTempest said...
Very nice! I really want to make this bag now.
5/13/13 9:03 PM
addicted2fabric said...
Thank you Rutaliet. I figured that would be the best time to sew them on, but I was really paranoid about ruining what has been a very expensive project to make, so I wanted to check and be sure. I have finished my bag and will post a review tomorrow. Thanks again for your wonderful, extremely helpful review :)
5/14/13 5:16 AM
Messy Mags said...
Thanks very much for your great review and extremely helpful tips. I had wanting to make the front pockets with zippers, but could not figure out how. I went with magnetic snaps instead. Will use your zip pockets tutorial for my next weekender though!
10/20/13 6:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

McCall's 5591

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now