Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7550 (Misses PANTS) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 475 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/12 12:14 PM


See other patterns in this category: Shorts    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rutaliet said...
You look like a young hip-hop gal in those low rise pants ! I think they look pretty doggone good. And talk about some ambitious and perfect topstitching. Nice job!
12/30/12 1:03 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I like these on you Barb, but if they don't feel good and are not comfortable, then chances are you won't wear them. It looks like you had beautiful topstitching!
12/30/12 2:06 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
I agree--beautiful topstitching!
12/30/12 2:49 PM
chenille said...
You have achieved a lot - the finishing details are gorgeous. I hear you about the hot line - that's the real issue, isn't it - what are you willing to sacrifice in style to achieve the correct comfort. Don't give up! I'm right there with you.
12/30/12 2:55 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great job on the jeans and topstitching. I agree with Sue, it they don't feel comfortable . . . . . I think a higher rise would look better, too. Just MHO.
12/30/12 3:09 PM
Sigrid. said...
They look very good on you with good fit and topstitching. Suppose the problem is really the rise, I know I feel the same when the rise is not high enough. It's so personal what feels right.
12/30/12 3:44 PM
OlindaM said...
I think these jeans look great and very "of the moment" And so beautifully stitched well done you!
12/30/12 4:10 PM
ArtAttack said...
Ooh, they are really cute but you need to love them. Your work is beautiful...it will be a shame if they become wadders but the more we sew the more discerning we become about fit...we need to look at that as only a good thing. Feel good about having a beautifully made garment whether it works for you or not...Happy New Year, too!
12/30/12 4:39 PM
Nancywin said...
I'm so sorry that you are unhappy with these pants. They do look very cool on you. Too bad they don't fit they way you want them to and that they are uncomfortable. The look great in the picture!
12/30/12 5:35 PM
SavageCoco said...
Beautifully made, tho. All your work is top notch. Perhaps your Simplicity 3773 with some added pockets, etc., in something hiking trail friendly would fit the bill? Rock on with your bad self!
12/30/12 6:33 PM
mhk3boys said...
Maybe it's me but I think they look awesome! Very RTW if not better!
12/30/12 7:12 PM
cmcarr said...
Beautiful work. I have never felt comfortable in low rise pants.
12/30/12 8:47 PM
cleverkitty said...
Beautiful work but yes I agree low rise does not feel comfortable. You put a lot of work into these dear girl don't despair we all need to go down this path on the sewing journey. We all agree the workmanship is excellent and many struggle with that in addition to fit.
12/30/12 9:54 PM
Maree P said...
I would wear these in a minute Barb! I like low rise trousers. You might like to style them with a shirt and belt or a jumper (sweater in the US?) and see if this changes your view of them. They really look lovely on you and your sewing is beautiful.
12/30/12 11:05 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, they LOOK great, even though they may not FEEL that way. I have a pair of Levis that, I mean, you sit down, and they're almost GONE. They were supposed to be just below the waist. Well, WHOSE waist, that's what I want to know. :o)) If I wear a wide belt, one that takes up ALL of the belt-loop area, I can at least keep them UP (although I personally don't think it's worth it, with those particular jeans -- ha!) But I wonder if you cinched up a wide belt, if these would feel any better. I hate for them to go to waste, because you did such an AWESOME job on EVERY detail. IF, however, you end up donating them, somebody is going to be VERY happy to get these jeans!
12/31/12 0:43 AM
FreyaStark said...
They look great from a distance and great from the back. I understand what you mean about the rise. In the small print of a Burda pattern, it says that Burda designs for someone 5ft 6in tall, and I find that being even a little taller I get better results if I increase the rise of Burda pants. So I suggest that next time you increase the rise by the difference between Burda's standard height and your height - I'm guessing you're taller - and see what a difference it makes. Add the height BELOW the zip for the front and at the horizontal extension lines for the back. If I am wrong about your height, just increase the rise anyway if you don't like low-rise pants! (I certainly don't.)
12/31/12 3:49 AM
pdiddly said...
It would be a shame if this go the wadders in the sky - but despite the low rise which you don't like the workmanship is beautiful
12/31/12 4:05 AM
IngridTheresa said...
Your sewing, as always, is stunning! But I do have empathy with how you feel about them - we all have projects like this that just don't want to work out and I think it is therapeutic to write about it, because it helps you move on! Bless you for your reviews - I love them and I learn from you all the time!
12/31/12 8:46 AM
Margaret said...
Lovely work on these -- sorry they turned out so uncomfortable and low-rise. I would not have guessed that from the pattern photo.
12/31/12 12:54 PM
margy.64 said...
What a fantastic job you have done on these pants. So sorry the low rise has spoilt them for you. Every other detail looks perfect. Very inspiring work.
12/31/12 9:13 PM
margy.64 said...

12/31/12 9:14 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
:( I feel your pain. Your sewing is impeccable as always but I'm sorry the project wasn't successful for you. I know you'll move on and thanks you for the review!
1/1/13 11:01 AM
sew2little said...
OK, girly girl, they are NOT hiking pants; they are stylin' pants. They are NOT wadders. They're great, but you need to wear them out on the town, not on a hike! Really, they are great. Believe me. I am, after all, your pattern twin!
1/2/13 0:30 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

New Look 6969
photo
Review by Hotcouture on 9/22/13
Read Review

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Disparate Disciplines 3401 Avocado hoodie
photo
Review by ahearta on 10/24/13
Read Review

Burda 7138 Pattern
Burda 7138 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7152 Pattern
Burda 7152 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us