Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1247 (Misses' Top and Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 445 times 96 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:MariannaSew2Pro
photo
About MariannaSew2Pro
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 2/12/12
Reviews written: 56
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:12/31/12 10:45 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbehind said...
I'm sorry you don't like it after all those French seams! I think it looks cute on you, however it is what you think that matters. Helpful review, about going down a few sizes in the top.
12/31/12 12:45 PM
MNBarb said...
This is a difficult top to wear. Don't beat yourself up over it. I've seen other reviews and think your finished garment, on you, looks better than some. There is no figure that is flattered by boxy but your fabric choice really helped. It is more floaty than cardboardy. I think it looks cute with the skirt. If you donate it, it will be in good company with my latest failure!
12/31/12 1:14 PM
Lori V said...
This is a hard top to wear. I enjoyed sewing mine but not sure I enjoy wearing it. I do think you look cute, maybe give it some time and you will like it.
12/31/12 3:42 PM
prttynpnk said...
It really is a hard top on some of us- I've made it in a silky fabric and it lays better, but it always needs some fit finagling when I make one.
12/31/12 4:05 PM
momsurfing said...
i think your top looks better on you than the one on the pattern model. i do however feel your pain about the boxy shape. i've given away more creations because they aren't figure flattering. but that said, i does look good on you. maybe less boxy feeling with some skinny jeans?
12/31/12 10:17 PM
MariannaSew2Pro said...
Thanks so much all of you for the helpful and encouraging comments! You know, I'm going to pounce on the fabric shop soon as it opens on Wed for another fabric to try this in, as well the material for the V1247 skirt.
1/1/13 2:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 2439 Fleece tops
photo
Review by julesberry on 2/14/06
Read Review

Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4471 Bandeau bikini
photo
Review by Kaitlinneg... on 7/5/08
Read Review

Summer Tote
Summer Tote

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2916 Pattern
Jalie 2916 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6603 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6603 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us