Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Oliver + S: Cozy Winter Hood (Cozy Winter Hood) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 57 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Jenny Jo
photo
About Jenny Jostar
NE USA
Member since: 4/28/09
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/14 10:25 PM
Last Updated:3/12/14 10:35 PM
Project Photo:Oliver + S: Cozy Winter Hood by Jenny Jo

Pattern Photo: Oliver + S Pattern Info

More Info provided by Jenny Jo

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Faux Fur  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Hat with ears and a ribbon tie. From the book Little Things to Sew by Liesl Gibson.

Pattern Sizing: 12m - 10 years. I made a medium, which is supposed to fit sizes 4-6. My daughter wears size 4 in RTW, and it fit just fine.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, I think so.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Wonderful, actually.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It's adorable! Please note that the pattern calls for 1/2 yard of fabric, but I didn't use that much. And I definitely didn't need 2 1/2 yards of fabric to make 5.

Fabric Used: Awful, awful fake fur from JoAnn's. I lined it with pale pink cotton.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I made 5 already! At the dress rehearsal, I noticed that the littlest kids in our church Christmas program didn't have any props. So I ran home and whipped up 5 of these little hoods. I just love them. And the little lambs were soooo cute!

Conclusion: I think I've made 5 things from this Oliver + s book now, and I've loved every one of them. Superb drafting, superb directions. It's well worth the price.

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
2 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Quickie said...
I think you did so right towards those kidsbut besides that the hats are so cute.
3/13/14 7:55 AM
Pj3g said...
Tooo cute! That little face is so sweet in that hat!
3/18/14 6:03 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Vogue Patterns 1060 MISSES' COAT
photo
Review by Barbara V on 5/8/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6571
photo
Review by elladee on 10/24/13
Read Review

Petite Plus 601 Pattern
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5792 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5792 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6889 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6889 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us