SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2682 (Women's Tops)

66 more reviews
Viewed 610 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:1/7/13 11:55 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Both tops are so lovely! I love how you used the flatlock stitch in a decorative manner on the avoacado-colored top. Your work is always so perfect. I know it was a pain to take out all the serged sleeve stitching to put in the sleeves with matching stripes, but that just shows that you pay such wonderful attention to detail. The extra work pays off, as your garments ALWAYS are so beautifully sewn and look so lovely on you! Thanks for another excellent review. I don't have this pattern, but do love Jalies and may have to order this one!
1/8/13 0:23 AM
Quickie said...
I think both your tops are wonderful. The pattern is versatile indeed. I am working on it for the OPML- contest and your versions are very different from mine. It would be great if you do submit yours too. Such a miracle that one can think of so many differences!
1/8/13 2:17 AM
chenille said...
Beautiful! Thanks for sharing the details, and that's one of my favorite colors.
1/8/13 2:51 AM
amkws said...
I noticed the stripe match immediately and was really impressed! Congratulations, very nice tops.
1/8/13 8:33 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Beautiful tops! Thanks for reminding me of this great pattern in my stash.
1/8/13 9:04 AM
Nan Kay said...
Ok, I'm sure removing the sleeves was not a lot of fun, but what a beautiful end result. The stripe matching so nicely just adds so much to the over all look. Both tops look great, but I love that stripe!
1/8/13 9:23 AM
marthamyers said...
I too love both tops. Love your color choice for the solid one, especially with the black accents. And your stripe is so cute!
1/8/13 9:38 AM
nicegirl said...
The flatlock stitch is very cool--you are making me want to try this. Great tops!
1/8/13 10:17 AM
FreyaStark said...
Two snazzy tops. The way those stripes work is wonderful.
1/8/13 10:45 AM
CypGrl said...
Love both tops -- wonderful detailed review. Did you alter the top bodice length at all?
1/8/13 11:18 AM
MissCelie said...
You do such great work Barbara! Love these tops.
1/8/13 11:58 AM
JillyBe said...
I've had this pattern forever, but somehow never realized how promising it is! Yours look great - you've convinced me to pull mine out & bring it to the top of the list! Thanks, what a great-looking cool-weather top for this cold winter we're having!
1/8/13 12:04 PM
Ann Smith said...
Perfect tops for you. I know you love that high back to keep you warm! Perfection.
1/8/13 12:23 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you for the comments! CypGrl, thanks for asking - I forgot to mention this alteration. Yes I lengthened the bodice about one inch as the seam hit right below the bust line. I will edit the review to include this above.
1/8/13 12:36 PM
grey ann said...
Thank you so much for your thorough instructions. I do love the detailing the flatlock makes. You've inspired me to try that. The neckline does make it a great top for cooler weather...
1/8/13 12:57 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Both look great! The flatlock stitches is a excellent design element. Thanks for an excellent review.
1/8/13 4:18 PM
cleverkitty said...
Love both versions, flatlocking is one of my favorite stitches nice to see it done in a review :)
1/8/13 4:46 PM
ArtAttack said...
Both of these are really cute! I don't have this pattern and may need to get on the bandwagon, too!
1/8/13 6:46 PM
Heatherrique said...
Two distinctively mesmerizing looking tops from the same pattern! Impressive artistry and sewing! Thank you, Barbara, for your terrific reviews. :-)
1/8/13 8:31 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Both versions are lovely, but I really love the flatlocking in contrasting thread. Such a professional touch! Thank you for sharing your methods on this.
1/8/13 9:39 PM
JEF said...
Love the flatlocking!
1/9/13 4:45 PM
AncientElna said...
Thanks for including details on matching the stripes in your second top: knowing about others' re-do's always motivate me when I encounter similar problems in my sewing!
2/15/13 0:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now