Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 2568 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 544 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:merteuil
photo
About merteuilstar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/1/13 8:37 AM
Last Updated:1/1/13 9:12 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BettyMike said...
Absolutely Gorgeous!
1/1/13 8:43 AM
caper81 said...
Very impressive coat! :)
1/1/13 8:58 AM
cltucker said...
What a sewing inspiration for the new year!
1/1/13 9:07 AM
Quickie said...
I am speechless in awe!
1/1/13 9:09 AM
Renren said...
Wow! It's perfect in every detail. And I see it's a Marfy, so that means no instructions, which impresses me even more.
1/1/13 9:50 AM
Re Becca said...
I agree, absolutely gorgeous! Amazing details that you carried off perfectly! You can't go wrong with a Marfy coat, they almost make me wish I needed a coat.
1/1/13 9:54 AM
jlg said...
I love this.
1/1/13 9:58 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Beautiful!
1/1/13 10:13 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Congratulations on making such a beautiful coat! Perfect for Switzerland :)
1/1/13 10:24 AM
jenleeC said...
Fantastic coat! You have done an amazing job!
1/1/13 11:01 AM
PattyE said...
Stunning coat!
1/1/13 11:03 AM
bluenines said...
Absolutely Gorgeous! Love the piping on the inside. and yes coats due take a bit to sew , but what a wonderful coat
1/1/13 11:17 AM
koo104 said...
Nice job, your hand picking around the pocket flaps, the good final pressing, these are the details of a good tailoring. Also you sleeve headers are really well done. Besides it fits and hangs really well. Brava!
1/1/13 11:21 AM
carolynw said...
Perfection - may have taken a long time to finish this project but every minute paid off in one beautiful coat. Great sewing!!
1/1/13 11:36 AM
usbeckers said...
Very nice. It looks great.
1/1/13 12:32 PM
mhk3boys said...
Wow! What a beautiful piece of wearable art! You should be so proud!
1/1/13 2:29 PM
JillyBe said...
This looks like elegant perfection! Personally, I think anyone who makes a tailored Marfy that ends up looking like that is beyond an intermediate sewist...time to upgrade your rating, I say!
1/1/13 3:14 PM
Maree P said...
Your coat is simply stunning. The finish and drape is fabulous.
1/1/13 3:25 PM
CypGrl said...
What a gorgeous coat! I must have some of that fabric that does not attract cat fur.
1/1/13 3:39 PM
Sigrid. said...
Gorgeous. What an impressive coat. Great job and review.
1/1/13 5:55 PM
MariannaSew2Pro said...
What an amazing piece of work! Love the Danton collar (didn't know it was called that)!
1/1/13 6:24 PM
Rhoda K said...
Just beautiful! Wonderful job on your buttonholes.
1/1/13 7:26 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Wow. It's fabulous!
1/2/13 0:16 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
"All of the above"!! WOW!
1/2/13 1:59 AM
cocosloft said...
Simply beautiful. Love the addition of piping, and your expert sewing.
1/2/13 4:11 AM
cindyann said...
Just fabulous!!
1/2/13 9:14 AM
betty bushwacker said...
wow. just....wow.
1/2/13 10:23 AM
cleverkitty said...
outstanding coat, perfect fit! those buttonholes are gorgeous and buttons too.
1/2/13 5:52 PM
MaryDB said...
Oh wow, the coat is beautiful and perfect. I am so impressed by those hand-sewn buttonholes.
1/2/13 10:06 PM
regal80 said...
you did a great job!! It's show stopping beautiful!
1/2/13 10:42 PM
Phillis2 said...
You did a spectacular job. I would have loved to see more of the tailoring work you did. I've been afraid to try Marfy patterns 'cause I like as much instruction as I can get but I think you've encouraged me to try a Marfy pattern. Thanks.
1/7/13 8:45 PM
nancy2001 said...
Spectacular coat and spectacular work! You need to change your rating from Intermediate to Advanced. Congratulations! You've also convinced me to try a Marfy pattern.
3/23/13 11:04 AM
calypso said...
Your coat is fabulous! Thanks so much for the in depth review. I've looked at this pattern for awhile and wondered how it would turn out. Just wonderful. Thanks again :)
4/16/13 8:16 PM
FromHeadToFoot said...
You made a beautiful coat. Thank you for your detailed review including your reference to "The Classic Guide to Sewing The Perfect Jacket - Tailoring". I'll add that to my library if it helps make something so lovely.
11/7/13 8:38 PM
becca a said...
This coat is a work of art! It is truly beautiful--beautiful construction, beautiful fit, beautiful fabric. Wow!
3/1/14 1:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 3693 Cardigans
photo
Review by pfaffkj on 2/13/10
Read Review

Vogue 1348 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1348 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1550 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1550 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other UFO Contest 2009
photo
Review by Meggie LuL... on 1/31/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us