SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1105 

24 more reviews
Viewed 1342 times 
Reviewed by:JDpenelope
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JDpenelopestarstar
Member since: 9/9/03
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 77
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/05 9:58 PM
Last Updated:2/6/05 10:10 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Penelope, you are right, there seems to be way too much fabric in that waistband. No way that it could be slimming. I'm not sure that I would call the rear view 'objectionable'! With a long top over it, it looks fine. I'm sure you can find the right pull on skirt shape for your body. Perhaps other members will have pattern suggestions. Meanwhile you are honing your sewing skills and got good results according to the pattern you used.
2/6/05 10:08 PM
Patti B said...
Penelope, I've made this skirt several times and have an 11 inch difference between hips and waist. I don't have ther gathering you do and I wonder if you perhaps need a smaller size? (always music to our ears)
2/6/05 10:13 PM
PegL said...
Penelope, lovely skirt but I agree with Patti B -- I think you need a smaller size.
2/6/05 10:26 PM
Diane E said...
Penelope, your skirt is very pretty and I think it hangs nicely. I do agree that a closer fit would be better for you. You and I have the same measurements and I've made the S successfully. If you're at all nervous about the smaller size, just know that you can cut the M and take in the skirt until you're happier with the fit (duh, I know). Also, I'm becoming more and more convinced that pullons aren't all that "slimming" for those of us whose waists are quite a bit smaller than our bums. There will always be gathers at the waist, unless the fabric has enough give to help us wiggle into the skirt. The bunchie stuff at the waist makes it hard to have a slim line with an untucked top on top. By the way, I think your back view looks very nice and not at all objectionable!
2/6/05 10:42 PM
PVA said...
I like your skirt, Penelope, but I do agree that you don't really need that much fabric to get the skirt over your hips. Thanks for the review -- I do plan to make that one some day. . . .
2/6/05 11:36 PM
gabrielle said...
I like that length and style on you a lot, Penelope--I too agree you could go down a size. And I absolutely love those boots!
2/7/05 1:49 AM
JDpenelope said...
These comments are so helpful and encouraging. I could kick myself, now, for not being more careful with my fitting. Regarding the rear view, I should have taken a side angle photo...that would have illustrated the problem better. Anyway, you all are too kind. Georgene I will make a project of scanning reviews and pattern sources for more appropriate patterns. Not sure the bias skirt I had in mind will actually flatter my flat(ter) back side. Gabrielle, I actually got the boots in Italy a few years ago, when the exchange rate was very favorable. I'm not a fashion maven at all (more like a candidate for What Not to Wear--am working to correct that with help from this site!), but those boots were irresistible.
2/7/05 6:45 AM
Modiste Madness said...
We are always are own worst critic aren't we? If you really want to make it again I would take everyones' advice and make the S. You might also ant to transfer a shorter version of the dart to the front to eliminate some of the waist line bulk. Be careful thought. Take too much in and it will be difficult to get on.
2/7/05 9:11 AM
AnneM said...
I expect there is a way to make the shutter delay last longer; you probably have 2 settings. The short one (typically 2 seconds) is just to keep the camera from moving. The longer one (typically 10 seconds) is for self-portraits. Anyway, I love your skirt! I think the back view is very good, & I like the "in motion" shot. The fabric looks so nice. Although you could have a closer fit, I don't think there is anything wrong with this classic look. (P.S. I like your assistant.)
2/7/05 10:02 AM
Vivienne said...
The funky brown boots with the conservative brown skirt is a great look. I think the size is good, but you definitely could size down if you want a tighter fit.
2/7/05 11:18 AM
CarolynGM said...
I know what you mean about gathers in pull-on waists. My measurements are very similar to yours, and I tend to avoid elasticized waistbands for that very reason. Still, yours likes fine with your untucked top. I wonder if a similar pattern exists with elastic in the back only.
2/8/05 3:40 PM
Neana said...
Thanks so much for being honest about your goofs and specific about what you did! It helps me to hear from folks who are also experienced beginners. Sometimes it's discouraging to look at the models or drawings - we never will look like that and I'm guessing we'd be surprised at the tricks they use to look so good. Not least of which is a roll or six of film to pick through & find the very best one.
2/12/05 9:04 PM
Neana said...

2/12/05 9:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

No Pattern Used none

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Vogue Patterns 8280

photo
by: Mauude

Review
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Buy Now