SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2013-123B (Light Cowl Dress)

1 more reviews
Review submitted in One Pattern, Many Looks Contest
Viewed 1096 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/13 8:32 PM
Last Updated:2/1/13 1:05 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
waltzqueen said...
What terrific imagination you have to make such dramatically different dresses from one pattern! I love them all!
2/7/13 5:20 PM
lyndle said...
Great dresses and also congratulations on not being afraid to play around with the additional fabrics. I love the "protractor" pieces, they look really good. I think you're right about the wide band, (it still looks good but creates a boxier shape than the others). Would it be hard to change to a narrow band? Or maybe break it up with a black belt? I'd hate to think you weren't going to wear it!
2/5/13 2:50 PM
StudioCherie said...
Great work, and great contest entry. Good luck! I know you will be enjoying those dresses - all so very pretty on you.
2/4/13 4:49 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
You have taken this pattern and made it work for beautifully for you! I love all of these.
2/3/13 7:19 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent! Four great looks.
2/1/13 7:51 PM
mnitts said...
Congrats on a great variety of dresses! Great work.
2/1/13 1:49 PM
Jrhee said...
Love all these so much! The floral one is my favorite.
2/1/13 1:13 PM
Quickie said...
I just wanted to look another time and now you have already four very different great dresses. Great job
1/31/13 3:44 AM
BeaJay said...
Your dresses look great on you. Very nice. Love the contrasts.
1/29/13 9:52 PM
treefrog said...
Wonderful dresses. I love the neckline. Each one has such a different look
1/29/13 8:45 PM
Jacqui315 said...
I love the print contrasts on your solids! Beautiful dresses!
1/29/13 0:54 AM
annakeeton said...
Lovely dresses. The side cutout pieces look very cool!
1/25/13 9:19 PM
pyrxtc said...
Very cute ! makes me want to make a cowl neckline shirt for myself.
1/25/13 8:00 AM
butterflyfly said...
Very impressive!
1/22/13 10:05 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Now this is what I consider variety. You worked this pattern! All looks are fantastic. Nice work.
1/21/13 8:31 PM
Renren said...
I like the protractor-shaped inset fabric--how fitting for a math teacher. All great projects!
1/19/13 7:08 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
All four versions are so pretty and I love the black shoes too!
1/17/13 7:21 AM
BillieJean said...
I love your LBD. The shorter length is great on you.
1/17/13 7:06 AM
Fictionfan said...
A real TNT pattern for you! I love them all. What a difference the fabric makes! Your color-blocking idea is fantastic, so clever! Thanks for the review.
1/16/13 9:28 PM
Barbara V said...
All versions are lovely, beautifully sewn and look ever so perfect on you!
1/16/13 7:59 PM
MamaSewing said...
" I cut out 4 "protractor" shapes of themed fabric on the bias." Too funny! I love all your versions but the last one is the best!
1/16/13 6:33 PM
Huntwoman said...
You have the most lovely wardrobe full of your beautiful creations. How fun. You must be compliments all the time! Love this one.
1/16/13 4:25 PM
Athene said...
Fantastic. You look great in all your versions.
1/16/13 1:57 PM
norie creates said...
Pretty clever! Great results!
1/16/13 1:15 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thank you everyone!
1/14/13 7:35 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Well, I like all three of these but find the colors of version 2 particularly stunning on you and slightly psychedelic-- not sure if that was your intention, but looks great! Enjoy that adorable new sewing machine!
1/13/13 8:46 PM
cleverkitty said...
Really nice style on you, your fabric is truly beautiful. and that Hello Kitty Sewing Machine could not be more fun. Sounds like we have the same husband they just come along and know how things work. Hum is this going to be Your machine or Heathers? LOL
1/13/13 10:19 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Love these-what a useful pattern!
1/13/13 7:51 AM
PolishPoppy said...
I love everything you sew (and pick to sew)!!!!
1/13/13 7:46 AM
madebyj said...
WOW! These are all just perfect on you...J
1/13/13 3:51 AM
Mufffet said...
I just love this style and it suits so many people. You look terrific in it. Love the dress especially! The colors are nice for you. Another good pattern. Thanks. :)
1/13/13 0:26 AM
Levone said...
Pretty tops and dress! I loved the version from May's magazine so may try this one as well.
1/12/13 11:16 PM
Vonnevo said...
Just love every one of these !!! The style suits you beautifully. Thank you for your VH review :)
1/12/13 10:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 5801

photo
by: sewnaughty

Review