Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2013-123B (Light Cowl Dress) - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in One Pattern, Many Looks Contest    printable version
Viewed 1083 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/13 8:32 PM
Last Updated:2/1/13 1:05 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vonnevo said...
Just love every one of these !!! The style suits you beautifully. Thank you for your VH review :)
1/12/13 10:52 PM
Levone said...
Pretty tops and dress! I loved the version from May's magazine so may try this one as well.
1/12/13 11:16 PM
Mufffet said...
I just love this style and it suits so many people. You look terrific in it. Love the dress especially! The colors are nice for you. Another good pattern. Thanks. :)
1/13/13 0:26 AM
Doobee64 said...
WOW! These are all just perfect on you...J
1/13/13 3:51 AM
PolishPoppy said...
I love everything you sew (and pick to sew)!!!!
1/13/13 7:46 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Love these-what a useful pattern!
1/13/13 7:51 AM
cleverkitty said...
Really nice style on you, your fabric is truly beautiful. and that Hello Kitty Sewing Machine could not be more fun. Sounds like we have the same husband they just come along and know how things work. Hum is this going to be Your machine or Heathers? LOL
1/13/13 10:19 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Well, I like all three of these but find the colors of version 2 particularly stunning on you and slightly psychedelic-- not sure if that was your intention, but looks great! Enjoy that adorable new sewing machine!
1/13/13 8:46 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thank you everyone!
1/14/13 7:35 PM
norie creates said...
Pretty clever! Great results!
1/16/13 1:15 PM
Athene said...
Fantastic. You look great in all your versions.
1/16/13 1:57 PM
Huntwoman said...
You have the most lovely wardrobe full of your beautiful creations. How fun. You must be compliments all the time! Love this one.
1/16/13 4:25 PM
MamaSewing said...
" I cut out 4 "protractor" shapes of themed fabric on the bias." Too funny! I love all your versions but the last one is the best!
1/16/13 6:33 PM
Barbara V said...
All versions are lovely, beautifully sewn and look ever so perfect on you!
1/16/13 7:59 PM
Fictionfan said...
A real TNT pattern for you! I love them all. What a difference the fabric makes! Your color-blocking idea is fantastic, so clever! Thanks for the review.
1/16/13 9:28 PM
BillieJean said...
I love your LBD. The shorter length is great on you.
1/17/13 7:06 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
All four versions are so pretty and I love the black shoes too!
1/17/13 7:21 AM
Renren said...
I like the protractor-shaped inset fabric--how fitting for a math teacher. All great projects!
1/19/13 7:08 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Now this is what I consider variety. You worked this pattern! All looks are fantastic. Nice work.
1/21/13 8:31 PM
butterflyfly said...
Very impressive!
1/22/13 10:05 AM
pyrxtc said...
Very cute ! makes me want to make a cowl neckline shirt for myself.
1/25/13 8:00 AM
annakeeton said...
Lovely dresses. The side cutout pieces look very cool!
1/25/13 9:19 PM
Jacqui315 said...
I love the print contrasts on your solids! Beautiful dresses!
1/29/13 0:54 AM
treefrog said...
Wonderful dresses. I love the neckline. Each one has such a different look
1/29/13 8:45 PM
BeaJay said...
Your dresses look great on you. Very nice. Love the contrasts.
1/29/13 9:52 PM
Quickie said...
I just wanted to look another time and now you have already four very different great dresses. Great job
1/31/13 3:44 AM
Jrhee said...
Love all these so much! The floral one is my favorite.
2/1/13 1:13 PM
mnitts said...
Congrats on a great variety of dresses! Great work.
2/1/13 1:49 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent! Four great looks.
2/1/13 7:51 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
You have taken this pattern and made it work for beautifully for you! I love all of these.
2/3/13 7:19 AM
StudioCherie said...
Great work, and great contest entry. Good luck! I know you will be enjoying those dresses - all so very pretty on you.
2/4/13 4:49 PM
lyndle said...
Great dresses and also congratulations on not being afraid to play around with the additional fabrics. I love the "protractor" pieces, they look really good. I think you're right about the wide band, (it still looks good but creates a boxier shape than the others). Would it be hard to change to a narrow band? Or maybe break it up with a black belt? I'd hate to think you weren't going to wear it!
2/5/13 2:50 PM
waltzqueen said...
What terrific imagination you have to make such dramatically different dresses from one pattern! I love them all!
2/7/13 5:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

McCall's 5591 Women's skirt Women's Skirts
photo
Review by Gold on 5/5/08
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern ( XL-3XL)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern ( XL-3XL)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5525 Misses' Top
photo
Review by velosewer on 2/5/11
Read Review

Vogue 8866 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8866 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0135 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0135 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us