SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1312 (Misses Dress)

15 more reviews
Viewed 935 times 
Reviewed by:JillyBe
photo

 
 
About JillyBestarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/10
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 54 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/13 3:58 PM
Last Updated:1/10/13 4:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
trudiz said...
Awesome pose!
1/10/13 4:10 PM
SewRuth said...
You rock! I have the pattern but it's not out of the envelope yet - maybe for (my) summertime
1/10/13 4:37 PM
mhoutz said...
Stunning!
1/10/13 5:05 PM
DorothyK said...
I love your dress - it really suits you. You may very well become a dress convert. Love the pose.
1/10/13 5:20 PM
DD1104 said...
I LOVE IT!!!
1/10/13 5:23 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Amazing pose and great dress! Thanks for the pocket tute! I love pockets too!
1/10/13 5:26 PM
cindyann said...
That's just terrific! Looks perfect on you.
1/10/13 5:30 PM
BillieJean said...
Love this and the idea of one for summer out of linen.
1/10/13 5:35 PM
Barbara V said...
This dress and style look wonderful on you. Love it!
1/10/13 5:37 PM
Renata said...
Stunning and elegant, but the pockets got me. Gotta have it.
1/10/13 6:06 PM
cabinbaby said...
Hahahahahahahah. Love your picture!
1/10/13 6:12 PM
sewbehind said...
By George, I think you've got it! Expression and all! Beautiful dress. I don't know how you kept a straight face.
1/10/13 7:05 PM
PattyGee said...
Beautiful. And I just giggled at the picture!
1/10/13 7:26 PM
runlexlou said...
I love both your pose and the dress. Well done! Your pose reminds me of photos I've seen of the modern dancer Martha Graham.
1/10/13 7:44 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
It looks wonderful but is it heavy to wear? Great blog entry, too.
1/10/13 7:58 PM
JillyBe said...
Thank you for the fun comments everyone! Sewbehind after climbing up on the window ledge in those shoes believe me I had a serious face! ;D. Sewiing Sue it's quite comfy - not too heavy to wear at all (at least not in a chilly winter!)
1/10/13 8:46 PM
SewWil said...
Great looking dress! Love your picture.
1/10/13 8:48 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Wow Jilly - dramatic for sure! What a great dress !!
1/10/13 9:04 PM
SavageCoco said...
Extra kudos for Rockin' the pose!
1/10/13 9:30 PM
sfshaza said...
A great rendition!!
1/10/13 11:55 PM
wimmie said...
this is really the coolest dress, and you do it well....also great pocket idea and tutorial. thanks
1/11/13 4:00 AM
Fran G said...
Wonderful dress! Vogue did a great disservice to this pattern, IMHO, when they chose such an artsy photo to "sell" it. Although I can appreciate "the pose" I appreciate even more your photos showing what it looks like on a real person standing up! It's actually very wearable and probably less complicated than I originally thought. So now to find suitable fabric and ,at 4 - 5 yards, affordable. I, too, am short and never gave this dress a second look but you have shown me the way!
1/11/13 7:28 AM
imsewcrazy said...
Your dress looks fantastic and you look amazing!!!
1/11/13 8:26 AM
ktr2567 said...
Love this dress
1/11/13 11:01 AM
Anniinbc said...
Oh Man, you made laugh!!! Love the dress.
1/11/13 11:14 AM
Izzie said...
Love your photo! Thanks for the giggles. :D
1/11/13 12:34 PM
sewmodest said...
Nice dress!!!
1/11/13 1:12 PM
Karine said...
Love the dress and the pose! The dress makes your waist look teeny tiny (or maybe it really is and this just shows it off)! Looks great on you.
1/11/13 2:26 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Comfy-looking and very stylish. Excellent review!
1/11/13 2:35 PM
magoe6217 said...
The dress is wonderful. Love your sense of humor and the necklace is great also. I didn't see any jewelry on the web site you listed. Does he have another one for jewelry? Thanks
1/11/13 2:58 PM
JillyBe said...
magoe if you go to Don's blog, click on his web site - his jewelry is available in his Etsy store. I just looked, and he has very little available right now, so I guess you need to be patient....
1/11/13 3:16 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Love this on you. Thank goodness the sides don't stick out like that permanently. :) It is flattering ...very flatttering style. Who knew from the pose on the pattern. Your necklace is terrific! Ditto..."A dress to be joyful in" another wrote. I think I might just have to get this for a summer dress!
1/11/13 3:16 PM
JillyBe said...
http://www.etsy.com/shop/urbandon - link to Urbandon's Etsy shop :) (so you don't have to jump through hoops!)
1/11/13 3:22 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Love the dress. Thanks for the info on your blog. The dress is on my sewing table but I will add me some pockets.
1/12/13 3:12 PM
Noelle Mac said...
The BEST review ever....
1/23/13 2:31 PM
nineten said...
The dress looks great on you. Thank you for the helpful advice in your review. I'm about to start this project & will implement the neckline & lower skirt length adjustments, which I'll definitely need for my 5'3" body.
10/8/13 11:09 PM
TwilightStorm said...
I like the grey fabric you chose to make the dress out of a lot. Your picture mimicking the model in the window made me laugh. :)
6/24/14 9:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Self Drafted Pattern Enid Gilchrist

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Vogue Patterns V8633

photo
by: wizechyld

Review
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now