Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6901 thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 700 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:CurlyCrafter
photo
About CurlyCrafterstar
WA USA
Member since: 12/10/07
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/13 0:04 AM
Last Updated:1/21/14 1:34 AM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:New Look 6901
New Look Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:ITY Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Pattern for two different knit tops and one elastic waist knit skirt. I think this was also a top/favorite pattern here at PR a couple of years ago (maybe 2009 or 2010?).
Pattern Sizing:
8-18, I cut out size 14
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
yes, and there were basic tips for sewing with knit fabric that were helpful
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
The instructions for the knit skirt were very easy to follow. However, instead of sewing the side seams closed for the top part of the skirt and then the side seams closed for the bottom flounce part of the skirt and then sewing the two sections together, I just sewed each top part to a bottom flounce part and then sewed up the sides.
Fabric Used:
ITY Jersey knit
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
none
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I will definitely sew it again but next time I might make it a few inches shorter (since it fell about 4 inches past my knee) just for variety.
Conclusion:
This is a simple pattern to follow and would be a good introduction to sewing with knits. I think it makes a simple, but pretty and feminine skirt that's comfortable to wear.

More notes on my blog
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nonezzat said...
This is very pretty. I like your tips on the hem.
1/11/13 6:49 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your skirt turned out perfectly! Don't you just love steam a seam
1/11/13 7:45 AM
margy.64 said...
Love your fabric choice. Such pretty colours.
1/11/13 8:05 AM
Myspirit4 said...
very nice! Love the skirt fabric!!
1/11/13 9:18 AM
Elemenopeo said...
pretty!
1/11/13 9:28 AM
Dee2 said...
Your skirt looks really cute. The fabric is beautiful.
1/11/13 6:27 PM
Scheri said...
Great style. Looks soft and comfortable.
1/11/13 9:11 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
I enjoyed the more detailed steps you explain on your blog. Very helpful and gave me lots of good tips. Lovely skirt!
1/12/13 11:26 AM
Elke said...
Looks great on you!
1/21/14 7:42 AM
Quickie said...
Nice skirt
1/21/14 11:39 AM
Renren said...
I like the way you changed the order of construction regarding side seams of skirt and flounce. It seems like you way would be a lot easier.
1/21/14 5:11 PM
Renren said...
I like the way you changed the order of construction regarding side seams of skirt and flounce. It seems like you way would be a lot easier.
1/21/14 5:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1008 lace skirt
photo
Review by French.Sea... on 9/16/13
Read Review

Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6415 Pants
photo
Review by RuthieSews on 4/19/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8822 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8822 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6270 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )
McCalls 6270 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us