SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 503 (Lingerie Set (Slip & Knickers))

Viewed 206 times 
Reviewed by:ak21
photo

 
 
About ak21starstar
AUSTRIA
Member since: 5/11/10
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/13 6:31 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Very lovely slip/nightgown. I'm fascinated by the use of the word "knickers" in this vintage Butterick pattern whose image is shown at your blog. I'm very curious about the copyright date of this old pattern! Beautiful color of fabric, too.
1/12/13 8:12 AM
ak21 said...
Hi Renren, this is something I meant to mention on my blog. I cannot see any date on the pattern AT ALL. The most I can see is Butterick of London. I am very curious as to when this pattern was printed myself. I might have to do some investigation with Butterick!!
1/12/13 9:03 AM
caper81 said...
Beautiful slip! I actually bought an old pattern recently that resembles this slip. I would like to make it for my future sister-in-law. Seems to be the new thing for a Bride-to-be (lingerie parties, that is). That, and a nice robe. Very cool to get a Vintage pattern passed down to you :)
1/12/13 9:06 AM
ak21 said...
Ive updated my blog with the details on the pattern regarding its date. I kinda like that its a bit of a mystery TBH but my curiosity is a bugger too.
1/12/13 9:14 AM
style inspired said...
lovely! Based on the hairstyles on the illustration, I'm guessing it's from the 1940s. Do the knickers have a snap closure?
1/12/13 9:28 AM
Renren said...
ak21, I was actually going to ask if it was Butterick for the U.S. or a European printing, and I did not because I thought, Butterick is U.S. Well, there you have it . . . Butterick of London. I was very curious about the word "knickers" which I associate with either England or Australia OR U.S. people of a much older generation. Thanks for the response. And I do think those gusseted knickers look very comfy!!!
1/12/13 9:43 AM
brissie71 said...
Stunning! I liked the link to your blog, too. Lots of interesting reading!
1/13/13 2:43 AM
ak21 said...
@styleinspired - the knickers have 3 buttons down the side however you could indeed use snap closures. I might try these considering there is so much interest....I just fear to model them :)
1/18/13 4:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Lekala Patterns 5873

photo
by: saranoemi

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now