SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 503 (Lingerie Set (Slip & Knickers))

Viewed 208 times 
Reviewed by:ak21
photo

 
 
About ak21starstar
AUSTRIA
Member since: 5/11/10
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/13 6:31 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ak21 said...
@styleinspired - the knickers have 3 buttons down the side however you could indeed use snap closures. I might try these considering there is so much interest....I just fear to model them :)
1/18/13 4:32 AM
brissie71 said...
Stunning! I liked the link to your blog, too. Lots of interesting reading!
1/13/13 2:43 AM
Renren said...
ak21, I was actually going to ask if it was Butterick for the U.S. or a European printing, and I did not because I thought, Butterick is U.S. Well, there you have it . . . Butterick of London. I was very curious about the word "knickers" which I associate with either England or Australia OR U.S. people of a much older generation. Thanks for the response. And I do think those gusseted knickers look very comfy!!!
1/12/13 9:43 AM
style inspired said...
lovely! Based on the hairstyles on the illustration, I'm guessing it's from the 1940s. Do the knickers have a snap closure?
1/12/13 9:28 AM
ak21 said...
Ive updated my blog with the details on the pattern regarding its date. I kinda like that its a bit of a mystery TBH but my curiosity is a bugger too.
1/12/13 9:14 AM
caper81 said...
Beautiful slip! I actually bought an old pattern recently that resembles this slip. I would like to make it for my future sister-in-law. Seems to be the new thing for a Bride-to-be (lingerie parties, that is). That, and a nice robe. Very cool to get a Vintage pattern passed down to you :)
1/12/13 9:06 AM
ak21 said...
Hi Renren, this is something I meant to mention on my blog. I cannot see any date on the pattern AT ALL. The most I can see is Butterick of London. I am very curious as to when this pattern was printed myself. I might have to do some investigation with Butterick!!
1/12/13 9:03 AM
Renren said...
Very lovely slip/nightgown. I'm fascinated by the use of the word "knickers" in this vintage Butterick pattern whose image is shown at your blog. I'm very curious about the copyright date of this old pattern! Beautiful color of fabric, too.
1/12/13 8:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Butterick 5497

photo
by: Lori V

Review
Great Copy 2460

photo
by: Ashford

Review
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now