SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 1025 (BaseWearTwo)

38 more reviews
Viewed 1653 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 245
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 88 people
patterns reviewed: 226
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/05 9:11 AM
Last Updated:2/8/05 9:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danvillegirl said...
This pattern now intrigues me after your review. I have lots of fitting issues with KS knit tops though I keep trying to get a better fit. I have looked at this pattern for sometime and have made a jacket and skirt from CJ's patterns. I like the look of both of your tops and will be adding this one to my wishlist.
2/9/05 6:38 PM
Diane E said...
Lisa, you look wonderful in your tops. Your neckband idea was really smart. I have been getting more and more picky about the turn and stitch necklines, and that's a terrific solution. What pretty colors in the fabric. I agree though, panne velvet is a pain to work with and slips and slides all over the machine while you're trying to sew it. Thanks for all your observations about this pattern!
2/9/05 8:49 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Thank you everybody! Moushka, believe it or not, I've had a killer sinus infection for the past week and have been sewing because I didn't feel good enough to do anything else ;) Got some antibiotic yesterday, though, so I'm afraid I'm going to have to return to the real world soon. BTW, DD took the top with the sleeves...even though she grumbled that it wasn't exactly what she wanted :rolleyes:
2/9/05 7:42 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a great fit and gorgeous print. It looks terrific on you!
2/9/05 6:05 AM
moushka said...
Lisa, very pretty tops. Your output is amazing! Do you have any hints for getting so much sewing accomplished? I'd be happy achieving a quarter of your output :-)
2/9/05 5:40 AM
Kathy Russell said...
Both tops came out really nice and i love your fabric, even if it was a bear to work with.
2/9/05 0:02 AM
Amanda L said...
I just got this pattern and really appreciate your observations. Plus your top looks great!
2/8/05 9:23 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great review with lots of information for us (and cute tops too!).
2/8/05 1:43 PM
Levone said...
Both tops look great on you.
2/8/05 1:09 PM
MaryBeth said...
Lisa: I logged on early this morning and couldn't get your pictures to come up so I'm glad they're working now. I've not tried CJ patterns and had been wondering...anyway, keep the turtleneck!!!! It's so you!
2/8/05 12:02 PM
jlg said...
Lisa, your tops are beautiful and very becoming - fit you great. Also, loved the review.
2/8/05 11:48 AM
PVA said...
Lisa, you deserve a BIG scoop of your favorite ice cream with your humble pie! Both tops are wonderful, & I thank you for the review! (I also thank you for the heads up about the fabric -- It's beautiful, but I'll pass!)
2/8/05 10:19 AM
Georgene said...
In most RTW knits the back and front are the same on body and sleeve. CJ is using RTW techniques for her own line of carefully chosen fabrics. I am mystified by the big seam allowance tho....maybe not everyone has a serger? In any case your top came out wonderful, and it would be a shame for it to migrate to your DD's closet permanently. Maybe she can borrow it if she's very good?
2/8/05 10:06 AM
Nickle said...
The fabric may of been a pain to work with, but it is so pretty. Your tops look fantastic on you. OOPS- accidently posted twice.
2/8/05 9:35 AM
Mini said...
Thanks for a helpful comparison. I have wondered about the Base Wear patterns, but haven't tried one. I get good results with KS and they have all the styles I could ever want, so I think I will stick with them:). I agree about the panne velvet too. It's a pain to work with, but at least it does hide a lot of fit problems.
2/8/05 9:34 AM
Nickle said...
That fabric may of been a pain to work with but it is so pretty- your tops look fantastic on you.
2/8/05 9:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sure-Fit Designs no number

photo
by: Skye

Review
New Look 6750

photo
by: cimmanon

Review
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now