Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Christine Jonson: 1025 (BaseWearTwo) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1651 times 39 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/05 9:11 AM
Last Updated:2/8/05 9:12 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nickle said...
That fabric may of been a pain to work with but it is so pretty- your tops look fantastic on you.
2/8/05 9:34 AM
Mini said...
Thanks for a helpful comparison. I have wondered about the Base Wear patterns, but haven't tried one. I get good results with KS and they have all the styles I could ever want, so I think I will stick with them:). I agree about the panne velvet too. It's a pain to work with, but at least it does hide a lot of fit problems.
2/8/05 9:34 AM
Nickle said...
The fabric may of been a pain to work with, but it is so pretty. Your tops look fantastic on you. OOPS- accidently posted twice.
2/8/05 9:35 AM
Georgene said...
In most RTW knits the back and front are the same on body and sleeve. CJ is using RTW techniques for her own line of carefully chosen fabrics. I am mystified by the big seam allowance tho....maybe not everyone has a serger? In any case your top came out wonderful, and it would be a shame for it to migrate to your DD's closet permanently. Maybe she can borrow it if she's very good?
2/8/05 10:06 AM
PVA said...
Lisa, you deserve a BIG scoop of your favorite ice cream with your humble pie! Both tops are wonderful, & I thank you for the review! (I also thank you for the heads up about the fabric -- It's beautiful, but I'll pass!)
2/8/05 10:19 AM
jlg said...
Lisa, your tops are beautiful and very becoming - fit you great. Also, loved the review.
2/8/05 11:48 AM
MaryBeth said...
Lisa: I logged on early this morning and couldn't get your pictures to come up so I'm glad they're working now. I've not tried CJ patterns and had been wondering...anyway, keep the turtleneck!!!! It's so you!
2/8/05 12:02 PM
Levone said...
Both tops look great on you.
2/8/05 1:09 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great review with lots of information for us (and cute tops too!).
2/8/05 1:43 PM
Amanda L said...
I just got this pattern and really appreciate your observations. Plus your top looks great!
2/8/05 9:23 PM
Kathy Russell said...
Both tops came out really nice and i love your fabric, even if it was a bear to work with.
2/9/05 0:02 AM
moushka said...
Lisa, very pretty tops. Your output is amazing! Do you have any hints for getting so much sewing accomplished? I'd be happy achieving a quarter of your output :-)
2/9/05 5:40 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a great fit and gorgeous print. It looks terrific on you!
2/9/05 6:05 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Thank you everybody! Moushka, believe it or not, I've had a killer sinus infection for the past week and have been sewing because I didn't feel good enough to do anything else ;) Got some antibiotic yesterday, though, so I'm afraid I'm going to have to return to the real world soon. BTW, DD took the top with the sleeves...even though she grumbled that it wasn't exactly what she wanted :rolleyes:
2/9/05 7:42 AM
Diane E said...
Lisa, you look wonderful in your tops. Your neckband idea was really smart. I have been getting more and more picky about the turn and stitch necklines, and that's a terrific solution. What pretty colors in the fabric. I agree though, panne velvet is a pain to work with and slips and slides all over the machine while you're trying to sew it. Thanks for all your observations about this pattern!
2/9/05 8:49 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This pattern now intrigues me after your review. I have lots of fitting issues with KS knit tops though I keep trying to get a better fit. I have looked at this pattern for sometime and have made a jacket and skirt from CJ's patterns. I like the look of both of your tops and will be adding this one to my wishlist.
2/9/05 6:38 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2008-20
photo
Review by JuliaS on 1/15/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Paper Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5765 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 5765 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8499
photo
Review by arianamani... on 11/2/09
Read Review

Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Edith Blouse Dress Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Edith Blouse Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us