SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 1025 (BaseWearTwo)

39 more reviews
Viewed 1651 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 243
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/05 9:11 AM
Last Updated:2/8/05 9:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nickle said...
That fabric may of been a pain to work with but it is so pretty- your tops look fantastic on you.
2/8/05 9:34 AM
Mini said...
Thanks for a helpful comparison. I have wondered about the Base Wear patterns, but haven't tried one. I get good results with KS and they have all the styles I could ever want, so I think I will stick with them:). I agree about the panne velvet too. It's a pain to work with, but at least it does hide a lot of fit problems.
2/8/05 9:34 AM
Nickle said...
The fabric may of been a pain to work with, but it is so pretty. Your tops look fantastic on you. OOPS- accidently posted twice.
2/8/05 9:35 AM
Georgene said...
In most RTW knits the back and front are the same on body and sleeve. CJ is using RTW techniques for her own line of carefully chosen fabrics. I am mystified by the big seam allowance tho....maybe not everyone has a serger? In any case your top came out wonderful, and it would be a shame for it to migrate to your DD's closet permanently. Maybe she can borrow it if she's very good?
2/8/05 10:06 AM
PVA said...
Lisa, you deserve a BIG scoop of your favorite ice cream with your humble pie! Both tops are wonderful, & I thank you for the review! (I also thank you for the heads up about the fabric -- It's beautiful, but I'll pass!)
2/8/05 10:19 AM
jlg said...
Lisa, your tops are beautiful and very becoming - fit you great. Also, loved the review.
2/8/05 11:48 AM
MaryBeth said...
Lisa: I logged on early this morning and couldn't get your pictures to come up so I'm glad they're working now. I've not tried CJ patterns and had been wondering...anyway, keep the turtleneck!!!! It's so you!
2/8/05 12:02 PM
Levone said...
Both tops look great on you.
2/8/05 1:09 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great review with lots of information for us (and cute tops too!).
2/8/05 1:43 PM
Amanda L said...
I just got this pattern and really appreciate your observations. Plus your top looks great!
2/8/05 9:23 PM
Kathy Russell said...
Both tops came out really nice and i love your fabric, even if it was a bear to work with.
2/9/05 0:02 AM
moushka said...
Lisa, very pretty tops. Your output is amazing! Do you have any hints for getting so much sewing accomplished? I'd be happy achieving a quarter of your output :-)
2/9/05 5:40 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a great fit and gorgeous print. It looks terrific on you!
2/9/05 6:05 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Thank you everybody! Moushka, believe it or not, I've had a killer sinus infection for the past week and have been sewing because I didn't feel good enough to do anything else ;) Got some antibiotic yesterday, though, so I'm afraid I'm going to have to return to the real world soon. BTW, DD took the top with the sleeves...even though she grumbled that it wasn't exactly what she wanted :rolleyes:
2/9/05 7:42 AM
Diane E said...
Lisa, you look wonderful in your tops. Your neckband idea was really smart. I have been getting more and more picky about the turn and stitch necklines, and that's a terrific solution. What pretty colors in the fabric. I agree though, panne velvet is a pain to work with and slips and slides all over the machine while you're trying to sew it. Thanks for all your observations about this pattern!
2/9/05 8:49 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This pattern now intrigues me after your review. I have lots of fitting issues with KS knit tops though I keep trying to get a better fit. I have looked at this pattern for sometime and have made a jacket and skirt from CJ's patterns. I like the look of both of your tops and will be adding this one to my wishlist.
2/9/05 6:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Indygo Junction IJ885

photo
by: Anne Franc...

Review
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now