SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Chopin Blouse 

4 more reviews
Viewed 1548 times 
Reviewed by:Diana Hilliard
photo

 
 
About Diana Hilliardstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 15
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/1/02 11:58 AM
Last Updated:8/1/02 12:01 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Thanks, Diana, for another great review! This was the first SW pattern I purchased but I haven't had the nerve to sew it yet (haven't found the Perfect Fabric, for one thing). Your tips will help a lot when I do get around to it.
8/1/02 12:59 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diana, this shirt is beautiful. Thank you for your detailed and imaginative review.
8/1/02 1:36 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diana, thanks for your wonderful review. This one has been on my "to do" list for a long time! I actually like your 2nd version without the ruching better. The stencilling is lovely too! Hmmm, perhaps I will try digging out my pleater that I bought from Clotilde eons ago.
8/1/02 1:41 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diana, This is beautiful! I especially like the stencilling detail and the flaps. Was that from an article in THreads a while back? I'll have to check my stash. Great review.
8/1/02 3:22 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the wonderful review Diana. Such beautiful workmanship in your garments!
8/1/02 8:20 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Stencilling is a blast...such quick results! Diane Ericson has a wonderful site and lots of stencils and ideas to compliment her article, but stencils are reasonably easy to cut from ordinary sheet protectors (the kind you use in 3 ring binders) and there are design ideas all over the internet. Do give it a try.
8/1/02 8:51 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diana, your Chopins are beautiful! I saw a class for this top in the newsletter I picked up at D'Leas Fabric store in Denver last month. The top is referred to as a blouse or a jacket, and they suggest silk dupionni. Your versions are wonderful!
8/2/02 3:09 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I love the shape of the blouse but have not been crazy about the overlays. If you do it withou the overlays, please post an update with photos.
8/2/02 10:05 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diana, your blouses are beautiful. I esp. like the white one--very classy.I'll be it WAS a pain in the neck, but worth it because it's so unique.
8/2/02 10:53 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I made this last year out of a subtle stripe rayon. The stripes made an attractive effect. I accidentally sewed the tricky shirred collar on facing inside. It was such a bother I didn't want to take it apart. But I found that it worked to leave it inside out and fold it down so the shirring would show. That way the collar is not so tall. A totally different look created by mistake!
8/5/02 4:50 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Ann, could you post a photo? I love the sound of your "version" and I would love to see it!
8/5/02 5:09 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
No wonder heads are turned, it's stunning Diana, simply great.
8/5/02 6:04 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Julie, Hope you see this or your other two comments on reviews. Sew what's new? Don't forget to oil your antique Singer.
9/5/02 6:05 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Vogue Patterns 1248

photo
by: pegsewer

Review
Simplicity 8911

photo
by: Sdtex

Review
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Buy Now