SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Plaza Jacket (Plaza Jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 2941 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/05 11:51 PM
Last Updated:11/4/10 11:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karendee said...
Another glorious, dramatic jacket --this one with such a great origin.
11/6/10 4:44 PM
lamstu said...
Great use of this unique fabric. I love the Plaza Jacket on you (wish it looked half so good on me, but alas...).
11/5/10 8:54 PM
pterion said...
What a unique and stunning garment! Your perseverance with the difficulties of this fabric really paid off.
11/5/10 11:30 AM
RLL said...
The mudcloth is incredible and what a nice reminder for years to come of your trip.
11/5/10 10:49 AM
carolynw said...
Ann this is one of those projects that even though it was difficult to sew turns out so beautiful all can be forgiven. It is stunning - I do know about mud cloth - have avoided sewing it like the plague so good for you launching into this project and coming out a winner in every way
11/5/10 8:53 AM
susiestitcher said...
Beautiful jacket! A perfect pattern choice for it, too! It looks wonderful. Enjoy wearing it.
11/5/10 7:17 AM
Rebecca D said...
Love this latest version. What a wonderful design sensibility you have.
11/5/10 6:45 AM
DorothyK said...
An absolutely stunning piece of fabric. You chose the perfect pattern for it. Hmmm. I wish I had asked you to bring something back for me.:)
11/5/10 4:52 AM
mm said...
Ann it is wonderful.
11/5/10 3:07 AM
Barbara V said...
What a fabulous fabric to bring back from Africa. And what an interesting process of weaving and dyeing of the fabric. The Plaza Jacket was the perfect pattern choice and the fabric design layout on the diagonal is very striking....and your necklace is beautiful!
11/5/10 0:32 AM
Mahler said...
It is so difficult to say which one I prefer. The las one is made with such a beautiful fabric, I like colour coordination. I love the simple sleek chic look of it. Fantastic again ! Still, I wonder how you can wear all those garments.
3/4/09 10:44 PM
CynthiaSue said...
stunning, gorgeous elegant. You are a fashion plate Ann!
3/4/09 2:16 AM
katlew03 said...
Wow! What a surprise when you click on the small picture and this gorgeous outfit appears. Love the colors.
3/3/09 9:51 PM
solosmocker said...
gGorgeous outfit, Ann!
3/3/09 6:49 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Each of your jacket versions is stunning, as is each of the pieces featured in your updated Review. You have such a distinctive and individual style that I'm certain I could pick you out a crowd in Times Square. Words are inadequate. Lovely, Lily
3/3/09 2:14 PM
DorothyK said...
Fantastic. Why don't I have this pattern yet? Loved rereading your previous reviews on this pattern and of course the update. LOL about all the different hairdos.
3/3/09 12:29 PM
EleanorSews said...
Elegant ~ 'nuff said.
3/3/09 11:22 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Gorgeous!
3/3/09 9:11 AM
Lori V said...
Great new jacket.
3/3/09 7:04 AM
WJean said...
Your garment is wonderful. I've made this before too, but my problem was that there was too much fullness under the arm, i.e., it dropped too much. I'd like to make this again using a lightweight silk dupioni, only this time I'd like to take some inches out of the front and back in the shoulder area, and leave the sleeve attachment alone. Do you think this will affect the overall design. Also, in the area of fabric I have some very, very nice tan silk gaberdine that I'm considering for this ensemble. Do you think that would be too heavy to use? Looking forward to having your input. Wanda
6/16/06 6:25 PM
JDpenelope said...
The sweater knit worked beautifully in this pattern. Thanks! I'm going to get this pattern and give it a try in a woven fabric, possibly linen.
6/24/05 10:38 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice outfit.
2/12/05 7:09 PM
Sew it seams said...
Gorgeous outfit, Ann. You make such beautiful things. I would love to sneak a peek into your closet!
2/10/05 7:57 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Ann, The whole outfit looks great. The style really suits you!
2/10/05 3:21 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Ann: love this on you, and can't get over that it's reversible: don't you love the little surprises we sometimes get in sewing? Your fabric choices are great: both the knitted and woven versions. Great use of this pattern, which I've also made more than once. Totally stylish and never out of style. Beautiful on you, as usual.
2/10/05 2:17 PM
Janet R said...
Very inspiring. You look adorable in this pretty top.
2/10/05 1:23 PM
Annette H said...
As usual, your work is inspirational. I always look forward to reading your reviews.
2/10/05 6:45 AM
petra said...
Smart, stylish...can I say more! Looks like another for my list.
2/10/05 6:14 AM
Ann Smith said...
Thank you all. It is so wonderful to hear from you. Drsue, it would be possible to narrow the sides for less fullness. That would make the sleeves shorter but you could lengthen them if you want. It would change the style somewhat but what the heck. Also using a really drapey fabric like this sweater knit makes it better (compare to the more volume of the linen version). Bonnie, the edges were finished by turning under and topstitching with a miter at the corners.
2/10/05 1:23 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Absolutely stunning!
2/10/05 0:39 AM
Kathy Russell said...
I always admire your beautiful taste in patterns, fabric and combinations. I am in the middle of knitting a sweater simular to yours. Hope it comes out as well as yours.
2/10/05 0:14 AM
bonnie said...
your garments are a source of pure joy and inspiration to view. What a wonderful eye you have in marrying fabric to pattern choices. Can you tell me how you finished the edges so beautifully on that sweater knit fabric?
2/9/05 4:59 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Another beautiful creation and great review.
2/9/05 4:22 PM
PhyllisC said...
I love the fabric combinations - just perfect!
2/9/05 11:42 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
Neat that's reversible. You may be only 5'3" but the capes, long skirts, and artistic tops you make give you the illusion of more height. A good lesson for other petites, like myself.
2/9/05 10:44 AM
SueV said...
Beautiful, great job; nice review! Looks great with the skirt too!
2/9/05 10:24 AM
appleC said...
Beautiful! Your jacket looks much better than the pattern photo. And the pin is a nice touch. (The pattern is too pricey for me though.)
2/9/05 10:14 AM
marya said...
I just love this combination Ann. I also loved your pics on sewing world showing your wearable art entries. They provided a unique showcase in a beautiful setting for your artistic gifts. Thank you for your inspiration.
2/9/05 9:35 AM
drsue said...
Wow, that really looks great. Do you think there is anyway to size down the jacket to not overwealm a very petite person?
2/9/05 8:54 AM
BjP said...
I'm not sure which of the two sides I like better - both are beautiful! This jacket is a great look for you.
2/9/05 7:55 AM
marjenann said...
Outstanding!!!!! Great look and terrific fabric! A++++++
2/9/05 6:20 AM
Lilibet said...
Very stylish.
2/9/05 6:14 AM
Rebecca D said...
Wow!
2/9/05 5:49 AM
jlg said...
Just gorgeous.
2/9/05 5:38 AM
tigger said...
Wow - love the outfit - it really does go well together!
2/9/05 0:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Laughing Moon Mercantile 111

photo
by: SewEccentr...

Review
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8120

photo
by: tr1c14

Review