Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Plaza Jacket (Plaza Jacket) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 2930 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/05 11:51 PM
Last Updated:11/4/10 11:37 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
tigger said...
Wow - love the outfit - it really does go well together!
2/9/05 0:01 AM
jlg said...
Just gorgeous.
2/9/05 5:38 AM
Rebecca D said...
Wow!
2/9/05 5:49 AM
Lilibet said...
Very stylish.
2/9/05 6:14 AM
marjenann said...
Outstanding!!!!! Great look and terrific fabric! A++++++
2/9/05 6:20 AM
BjP said...
I'm not sure which of the two sides I like better - both are beautiful! This jacket is a great look for you.
2/9/05 7:55 AM
drsue said...
Wow, that really looks great. Do you think there is anyway to size down the jacket to not overwealm a very petite person?
2/9/05 8:54 AM
marya said...
I just love this combination Ann. I also loved your pics on sewing world showing your wearable art entries. They provided a unique showcase in a beautiful setting for your artistic gifts. Thank you for your inspiration.
2/9/05 9:35 AM
appleC said...
Beautiful! Your jacket looks much better than the pattern photo. And the pin is a nice touch. (The pattern is too pricey for me though.)
2/9/05 10:14 AM
SueV said...
Beautiful, great job; nice review! Looks great with the skirt too!
2/9/05 10:24 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
Neat that's reversible. You may be only 5'3" but the capes, long skirts, and artistic tops you make give you the illusion of more height. A good lesson for other petites, like myself.
2/9/05 10:44 AM
PhyllisC said...
I love the fabric combinations - just perfect!
2/9/05 11:42 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Another beautiful creation and great review.
2/9/05 4:22 PM
bonnie said...
your garments are a source of pure joy and inspiration to view. What a wonderful eye you have in marrying fabric to pattern choices. Can you tell me how you finished the edges so beautifully on that sweater knit fabric?
2/9/05 4:59 PM
Kathy Russell said...
I always admire your beautiful taste in patterns, fabric and combinations. I am in the middle of knitting a sweater simular to yours. Hope it comes out as well as yours.
2/10/05 0:14 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Absolutely stunning!
2/10/05 0:39 AM
Ann Smith said...
Thank you all. It is so wonderful to hear from you. Drsue, it would be possible to narrow the sides for less fullness. That would make the sleeves shorter but you could lengthen them if you want. It would change the style somewhat but what the heck. Also using a really drapey fabric like this sweater knit makes it better (compare to the more volume of the linen version). Bonnie, the edges were finished by turning under and topstitching with a miter at the corners.
2/10/05 1:23 AM
petra said...
Smart, stylish...can I say more! Looks like another for my list.
2/10/05 6:14 AM
Annette H said...
As usual, your work is inspirational. I always look forward to reading your reviews.
2/10/05 6:45 AM
Janet R said...
Very inspiring. You look adorable in this pretty top.
2/10/05 1:23 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Ann: love this on you, and can't get over that it's reversible: don't you love the little surprises we sometimes get in sewing? Your fabric choices are great: both the knitted and woven versions. Great use of this pattern, which I've also made more than once. Totally stylish and never out of style. Beautiful on you, as usual.
2/10/05 2:17 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Ann, The whole outfit looks great. The style really suits you!
2/10/05 3:21 PM
Sew it seams said...
Gorgeous outfit, Ann. You make such beautiful things. I would love to sneak a peek into your closet!
2/10/05 7:57 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice outfit.
2/12/05 7:09 PM
JDpenelope said...
The sweater knit worked beautifully in this pattern. Thanks! I'm going to get this pattern and give it a try in a woven fabric, possibly linen.
6/24/05 10:38 AM
WJean said...
Your garment is wonderful. I've made this before too, but my problem was that there was too much fullness under the arm, i.e., it dropped too much. I'd like to make this again using a lightweight silk dupioni, only this time I'd like to take some inches out of the front and back in the shoulder area, and leave the sleeve attachment alone. Do you think this will affect the overall design. Also, in the area of fabric I have some very, very nice tan silk gaberdine that I'm considering for this ensemble. Do you think that would be too heavy to use? Looking forward to having your input. Wanda
6/16/06 6:25 PM
Lori V said...
Great new jacket.
3/3/09 7:04 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Gorgeous!
3/3/09 9:11 AM
EleanorSews said...
Elegant ~ 'nuff said.
3/3/09 11:22 AM
DorothyK said...
Fantastic. Why don't I have this pattern yet? Loved rereading your previous reviews on this pattern and of course the update. LOL about all the different hairdos.
3/3/09 12:29 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Each of your jacket versions is stunning, as is each of the pieces featured in your updated Review. You have such a distinctive and individual style that I'm certain I could pick you out a crowd in Times Square. Words are inadequate. Lovely, Lily
3/3/09 2:14 PM
solosmocker said...
gGorgeous outfit, Ann!
3/3/09 6:49 PM
katlew03 said...
Wow! What a surprise when you click on the small picture and this gorgeous outfit appears. Love the colors.
3/3/09 9:51 PM
CynthiaSue said...
stunning, gorgeous elegant. You are a fashion plate Ann!
3/4/09 2:16 AM
Mahler said...
It is so difficult to say which one I prefer. The las one is made with such a beautiful fabric, I like colour coordination. I love the simple sleek chic look of it. Fantastic again ! Still, I wonder how you can wear all those garments.
3/4/09 10:44 PM
Barbara V said...
What a fabulous fabric to bring back from Africa. And what an interesting process of weaving and dyeing of the fabric. The Plaza Jacket was the perfect pattern choice and the fabric design layout on the diagonal is very striking....and your necklace is beautiful!
11/5/10 0:32 AM
mm said...
Ann it is wonderful.
11/5/10 3:07 AM
DorothyK said...
An absolutely stunning piece of fabric. You chose the perfect pattern for it. Hmmm. I wish I had asked you to bring something back for me.:)
11/5/10 4:52 AM
Rebecca D said...
Love this latest version. What a wonderful design sensibility you have.
11/5/10 6:45 AM
susiestitcher said...
Beautiful jacket! A perfect pattern choice for it, too! It looks wonderful. Enjoy wearing it.
11/5/10 7:17 AM
carolynw said...
Ann this is one of those projects that even though it was difficult to sew turns out so beautiful all can be forgiven. It is stunning - I do know about mud cloth - have avoided sewing it like the plague so good for you launching into this project and coming out a winner in every way
11/5/10 8:53 AM
RLL said...
The mudcloth is incredible and what a nice reminder for years to come of your trip.
11/5/10 10:49 AM
pterion said...
What a unique and stunning garment! Your perseverance with the difficulties of this fabric really paid off.
11/5/10 11:30 AM
lamstu said...
Great use of this unique fabric. I love the Plaza Jacket on you (wish it looked half so good on me, but alas...).
11/5/10 8:54 PM
Karendee said...
Another glorious, dramatic jacket --this one with such a great origin.
11/6/10 4:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Butterick 5713
photo
Review by LoriB on 1/28/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $3.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Vanilla House: P150 My Bag
photo
Review by kkkkaty on 2/15/10
Read Review

McCalls 5989 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 5989 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5276 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 5276 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us