SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Cape 

1 more reviews
Viewed 1768 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:01 AM
Last Updated:2/8/05 8:39 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
Mompea, Thank you so much. I am 5'3" tall.
3/29/06 5:55 PM
mompea said...
This is an absolutelt beautiful cape. I have been thinking about making one for myself-I drool over the capes advertised in Yankee magazine. Can I ask how tall you are? I'm jusy curious to estimate the length of your cape on someone my height.
3/28/06 11:06 PM
Annette H said...
Thanks for a very helpful review - your cape is soooo stylish.
2/17/05 5:49 AM
Diane Tucker said...
Beautiful cape, and you look so elegant wearing it too !
2/9/05 2:19 PM
JDpenelope said...
What a great cape. Aren't you glad your fleece one wore out? I admire your pluck, cutting and slashing your way through your beautiful cashmere....to success!
2/9/05 12:52 PM
Astrostitcher said...
Good for you Ann! You're right that this type of poncho-cape really doesn't need a pattern and it is a very useful and always elegant garment. An opera cape or hooded cape is a bit more work but not much. I just made a black hooded wool Lord-of-the-Rings type cape for my goth son and saved over $100 on a similar RTW. On the LOTR site there are a few pages about how to make capes with lined hoods and other details. PS - beware that for mohair, cashmere, other very soft goat wool the quality of the fibers is affected by the dye bath. I've found that light or neutral colors are the softest-feeling. I'd go with the feel rather than the color if I could.
2/9/05 6:46 AM
Kathy Russell said...
I love your review. Your ca[e is very elegant. I have been wanting to make a cape but every time I've gone to purchase a pattern part of me thinks i really shouldn't need a pattern. I just bought and am making the ks 3305 but in a blanket fleece and sure hope they don't go out of style anytime soon because i really want one in cashmere and to make for gifts for the women in the family next x-mas. Thanks for reviewing this.
2/9/05 0:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 5114 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Butterick 5496

photo
by: slmstyle

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now
Lily Pocket Purse

Lily Pocket Purse

Buy Now