Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: Cape - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1765 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:01 AM
Last Updated:2/8/05 8:39 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kathy Russell said...
I love your review. Your ca[e is very elegant. I have been wanting to make a cape but every time I've gone to purchase a pattern part of me thinks i really shouldn't need a pattern. I just bought and am making the ks 3305 but in a blanket fleece and sure hope they don't go out of style anytime soon because i really want one in cashmere and to make for gifts for the women in the family next x-mas. Thanks for reviewing this.
2/9/05 0:28 AM
Astrostitcher said...
Good for you Ann! You're right that this type of poncho-cape really doesn't need a pattern and it is a very useful and always elegant garment. An opera cape or hooded cape is a bit more work but not much. I just made a black hooded wool Lord-of-the-Rings type cape for my goth son and saved over $100 on a similar RTW. On the LOTR site there are a few pages about how to make capes with lined hoods and other details. PS - beware that for mohair, cashmere, other very soft goat wool the quality of the fibers is affected by the dye bath. I've found that light or neutral colors are the softest-feeling. I'd go with the feel rather than the color if I could.
2/9/05 6:46 AM
JDpenelope said...
What a great cape. Aren't you glad your fleece one wore out? I admire your pluck, cutting and slashing your way through your beautiful cashmere....to success!
2/9/05 12:52 PM
Diane Tucker said...
Beautiful cape, and you look so elegant wearing it too !
2/9/05 2:19 PM
Annette H said...
Thanks for a very helpful review - your cape is soooo stylish.
2/17/05 5:49 AM
mompea said...
This is an absolutelt beautiful cape. I have been thinking about making one for myself-I drool over the capes advertised in Yankee magazine. Can I ask how tall you are? I'm jusy curious to estimate the length of your cape on someone my height.
3/28/06 11:06 PM
Ann Smith said...
Mompea, Thank you so much. I am 5'3" tall.
3/29/06 5:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Simplicity 3557 Easy to sew
photo
Review by tatterbat on 6/2/08
Read Review

New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3316 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by Kalena on 1/31/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us