SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Cape 

1 more reviews
Viewed 1768 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 348 (patterns: 345)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 393 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:01 AM
Last Updated:2/8/05 8:39 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said... (3/29/06 5:55 PM) Reply
Mompea, Thank you so much. I am 5'3" tall.
mompea said... (3/28/06 11:06 PM) Reply
This is an absolutelt beautiful cape. I have been thinking about making one for myself-I drool over the capes advertised in Yankee magazine. Can I ask how tall you are? I'm jusy curious to estimate the length of your cape on someone my height.
Annette H said... (2/17/05 5:49 AM) Reply
Thanks for a very helpful review - your cape is soooo stylish.
Diane Tucker said... (2/9/05 2:19 PM) Reply
Beautiful cape, and you look so elegant wearing it too !
JDpenelope said... (2/9/05 12:52 PM) Reply
What a great cape. Aren't you glad your fleece one wore out? I admire your pluck, cutting and slashing your way through your beautiful cashmere....to success!
Astrostitcher said... (2/9/05 6:46 AM) Reply
Good for you Ann! You're right that this type of poncho-cape really doesn't need a pattern and it is a very useful and always elegant garment. An opera cape or hooded cape is a bit more work but not much. I just made a black hooded wool Lord-of-the-Rings type cape for my goth son and saved over $100 on a similar RTW. On the LOTR site there are a few pages about how to make capes with lined hoods and other details. PS - beware that for mohair, cashmere, other very soft goat wool the quality of the fibers is affected by the dye bath. I've found that light or neutral colors are the softest-feeling. I'd go with the feel rather than the color if I could.
Kathy Russell said... (2/9/05 0:28 AM) Reply
I love your review. Your ca[e is very elegant. I have been wanting to make a cape but every time I've gone to purchase a pattern part of me thinks i really shouldn't need a pattern. I just bought and am making the ks 3305 but in a blanket fleece and sure hope they don't go out of style anytime soon because i really want one in cashmere and to make for gifts for the women in the family next x-mas. Thanks for reviewing this.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Pattern Details
Maggie Paper Pattern

Maggie Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
McCall's 6996

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review