SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> MariaDenmark> 801 (Super Socks)

Viewed 238 times 
Reviewed by:hannybobbins
photo

 
 
About hannybobbins
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/17/12
Reviews: 2 (patterns: 1)
Skill level:Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/13 4:46 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $7.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $7.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MartiP said... (1/16/13 10:46 AM) Reply
I have used the flatlock technique but found that it sometimes comes apart where you serge over the little heel seam.
MartiP said... (1/16/13 10:46 AM) Reply
I have used the flatlock technique but found that it sometimes comes apart where you serge over the little heel seam.
2 Airedales n Me said... (1/16/13 1:19 AM) Reply
I also use a flat-lock stitch on my serger for socks and that really helps. I adore fleece socks in my hiking boots and Hunters...for dog-walking they're the best.
MariaDenmark said... (1/15/13 2:11 AM) Reply
They look great - what a fun print. I sometimes make them using the flatlock stitch (no seam allowance needed, then), to make them completely flat. But actually I wear my socks (constructed w ordinary serger stitch) all day in my boots - over thinner socks - when I'm at the fabric store (meaning I stand and walk for 8 hours) this time of year. And no problems..
MartiP said... (1/14/13 5:44 PM) Reply
I have a similar pattern and I find that the socks are comfortable as long as you stitch them with a sewing machine rather that a serger. I use a triple straight stitch (strength + stretch!) and have some that have lasted for years.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Decades of Style 3009

photo
by: Sew Good

Review
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Pattern Details