SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 2643 (Marfy Sweetheart dress)

Viewed 810 times 
Reviewed by:Achallengingsew
photo

 
 
About Achallengingsewstar
CT
Member since: 1/11/13
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/16/13 7:09 PM
Last Updated:1/17/13 11:14 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FrauW said...
I have been googly eyeing that pattern forever! Well, not forever, but ever since I saw it. A masterpiece. Wish I had somewhere to wear a dress like that.
3/17/13 1:34 PM
Fictionfan said...
Oh my, to be able to sew up a pattern without any alterations! You are so the Marfy model! Georgeous dress, amazing fabric, how many places or occasions can you find to wear it! Time to knock that skill rating up to advanced.
2/4/13 10:05 PM
jenjen2025 said...
The dress is absolutely beautiful and your choice of fabric is also magnificent. It is stunning. I too love Marfy patterns though I do find them challenging at times they are far superior in both fit and design than any others.
2/3/13 8:56 PM
Marge99 said...
Absolutely gorgeous.
1/18/13 5:59 AM
KathleenS said...
That's amazing. Beautiful job with the print placement.
1/18/13 3:14 AM
Diane333 said...
Had to show your work to my family. Incredible!
1/17/13 8:06 PM
norie creates said...
Wow! Fabulous dress! It's stunning on you!
1/17/13 4:59 PM
Fishwipe said...
Wow!!
1/17/13 4:26 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Breathtakingly beautiful. Congratulations to you.
1/17/13 4:15 PM
Pj3g said...
Incredible!!!
1/17/13 2:19 PM
mnitts said...
You and the dress look beautiful. So much work but well worth it.
1/17/13 12:51 PM
kangafrog said...
Wow! I was going to say "spectacular" but I see that word has (deservedly) been used several times already, so I will say "magnificent" instead. Great fabric, great fit, great photos and you look fabulous. Well done!
1/17/13 11:44 AM
nicegirl said...
Totally gorgeous--a perfect use of that fabric and the fit and workmanship are just beyond. Love it.
1/17/13 11:28 AM
Nenewhis said...
Oh my goodness, that is one beautiful dress!
1/17/13 11:18 AM
Achallengingsew said...
Thank you all again, your comments are so incredibly lovely....I cannot recommend a class with Susan enough Goodbye Valentino (you have a great blog!) or Marfy patterns, its such a shame they come in so few size options. I know they recommend taking them to a pattern maker to alter but it does defeat the object some what....
1/17/13 11:13 AM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, my...this is truly a work of art! Just gorgeous!
1/17/13 10:27 AM
Myspirit4 said...
oh wow! That is amazing...
1/17/13 10:18 AM
betty bushwacker said...
Absolutely beautiful. The fabric is to die for.
1/17/13 10:13 AM
Silknmore said...
Fabulous dress. What a challenging project and you made it work out beautifully.
1/17/13 8:57 AM
fourkid said...
Gorgeous, and so flattering! Excellent job.
1/17/13 7:15 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your dress is amazing! I would love to study with Susan Khalje!
1/17/13 7:08 AM
Karine said...
Your dress is absolutely stunning. It's remarkable that you didn't make any pattern alterations and achieved such a beautiful fit. I particularly liked your fabric layout - the pattern on the fabric is just perfect on the dress. I really enjoyed seeing all of your muslin construction photos - thanks for sharing them.
1/17/13 6:48 AM
mmcp said...
ditto-ing jenleeC, it's really frustrating that they don't make smaller sizes.
1/17/13 6:16 AM
pdiddly said...
beautiful dress and o well made
1/17/13 2:51 AM
slmstyle said...
Simply gorgeous! The fabric, the fit, everything! Thank you for the review.
1/17/13 1:55 AM
McFeather said...
Wow, what an inspiring dress! Love your fabric choice as well.
1/17/13 1:43 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
You must be soooo patient! But boy did your patience and hard work pay off. So nice that you had Susan K looking in on your work...a memorable experience and a VERY memorable dress! Wow!
1/17/13 1:37 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I think you have more than intermediate skills. Your patience with the muslin paid off, your dress is a knock out!
1/17/13 1:25 AM
SewWil said...
Stunning dress! Looks amazing on you.
1/17/13 1:01 AM
Margie T said...
Stunning.
1/17/13 0:46 AM
cmcarr said...
Beautiful!
1/16/13 11:28 PM
jenleeC said...
Stunning dress! Your fabric is glorious and the perfect choice for this pattern. Thank you so much for all the construction photos. Every time I see another wonderful Marfy creation I am cross all over again that their sizing doesn't cater for petites.
1/16/13 9:45 PM
margy.64 said...
Love your fabric choice. Your dress is stunning.
1/16/13 9:40 PM
velosewer said...
Absolutely stunning dress. Your photos are really great.
1/16/13 9:16 PM
PattyE said...
Oh it's stunning!
1/16/13 9:11 PM
Steph huck said...
Stunning!!! I can only dream of sewing that beautifully.
1/16/13 9:00 PM
tigergirl said...
as mmcp said - spectacular. The fabric you've chosen is just perfect.
1/16/13 8:53 PM
Achallengingsew said...
Thank you all so much! I think I fixed the link so that it shows all the photos including muslin now. I'm heading to Marfy to order the new catalog, my poor credit card!!
1/16/13 8:27 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
OH MY GOD! That is amazing made in your fabric choice. Such an unbelievable dress
1/16/13 7:57 PM
Re Becca said...
It looks really pretty! I would love to see a bigger photo link in your review. I too am a Marfy addict, they really do fit perfectly. Do you have your new catalog yet?
1/16/13 7:45 PM
mmcp said...
Wow just spectacular--the final product is gorgeous.
1/16/13 7:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Burda 8157

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

More Info
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info