Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 2643 (Marfy Sweetheart dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 755 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Achallengingsew
photo
About Achallengingsewstar
CT
Member since: 1/11/13
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/16/13 7:09 PM
Last Updated:1/17/13 11:14 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mmcp said...
Wow just spectacular--the final product is gorgeous.
1/16/13 7:14 PM
Re Becca said...
It looks really pretty! I would love to see a bigger photo link in your review. I too am a Marfy addict, they really do fit perfectly. Do you have your new catalog yet?
1/16/13 7:45 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
OH MY GOD! That is amazing made in your fabric choice. Such an unbelievable dress
1/16/13 7:57 PM
Achallengingsew said...
Thank you all so much! I think I fixed the link so that it shows all the photos including muslin now. I'm heading to Marfy to order the new catalog, my poor credit card!!
1/16/13 8:27 PM
tigergirl said...
as mmcp said - spectacular. The fabric you've chosen is just perfect.
1/16/13 8:53 PM
Steph huck said...
Stunning!!! I can only dream of sewing that beautifully.
1/16/13 9:00 PM
PattyE said...
Oh it's stunning!
1/16/13 9:11 PM
velosewer said...
Absolutely stunning dress. Your photos are really great.
1/16/13 9:16 PM
margy.64 said...
Love your fabric choice. Your dress is stunning.
1/16/13 9:40 PM
jenleeC said...
Stunning dress! Your fabric is glorious and the perfect choice for this pattern. Thank you so much for all the construction photos. Every time I see another wonderful Marfy creation I am cross all over again that their sizing doesn't cater for petites.
1/16/13 9:45 PM
cmcarr said...
Beautiful!
1/16/13 11:28 PM
Margie T said...
Stunning.
1/17/13 0:46 AM
SewWil said...
Stunning dress! Looks amazing on you.
1/17/13 1:01 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I think you have more than intermediate skills. Your patience with the muslin paid off, your dress is a knock out!
1/17/13 1:25 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
You must be soooo patient! But boy did your patience and hard work pay off. So nice that you had Susan K looking in on your work...a memorable experience and a VERY memorable dress! Wow!
1/17/13 1:37 AM
McFeather said...
Wow, what an inspiring dress! Love your fabric choice as well.
1/17/13 1:43 AM
slmstyle said...
Simply gorgeous! The fabric, the fit, everything! Thank you for the review.
1/17/13 1:55 AM
pdiddly said...
beautiful dress and o well made
1/17/13 2:51 AM
mmcp said...
ditto-ing jenleeC, it's really frustrating that they don't make smaller sizes.
1/17/13 6:16 AM
Karine said...
Your dress is absolutely stunning. It's remarkable that you didn't make any pattern alterations and achieved such a beautiful fit. I particularly liked your fabric layout - the pattern on the fabric is just perfect on the dress. I really enjoyed seeing all of your muslin construction photos - thanks for sharing them.
1/17/13 6:48 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your dress is amazing! I would love to study with Susan Khalje!
1/17/13 7:08 AM
fourkid said...
Gorgeous, and so flattering! Excellent job.
1/17/13 7:15 AM
Silknmore said...
Fabulous dress. What a challenging project and you made it work out beautifully.
1/17/13 8:57 AM
betty bushwacker said...
Absolutely beautiful. The fabric is to die for.
1/17/13 10:13 AM
Myspirit4 said...
oh wow! That is amazing...
1/17/13 10:18 AM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, my...this is truly a work of art! Just gorgeous!
1/17/13 10:27 AM
Achallengingsew said...
Thank you all again, your comments are so incredibly lovely....I cannot recommend a class with Susan enough Goodbye Valentino (you have a great blog!) or Marfy patterns, its such a shame they come in so few size options. I know they recommend taking them to a pattern maker to alter but it does defeat the object some what....
1/17/13 11:13 AM
Nenewhis said...
Oh my goodness, that is one beautiful dress!
1/17/13 11:18 AM
nicegirl said...
Totally gorgeous--a perfect use of that fabric and the fit and workmanship are just beyond. Love it.
1/17/13 11:28 AM
kangafrog said...
Wow! I was going to say "spectacular" but I see that word has (deservedly) been used several times already, so I will say "magnificent" instead. Great fabric, great fit, great photos and you look fabulous. Well done!
1/17/13 11:44 AM
mnitts said...
You and the dress look beautiful. So much work but well worth it.
1/17/13 12:51 PM
Pj3g said...
Incredible!!!
1/17/13 2:19 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Breathtakingly beautiful. Congratulations to you.
1/17/13 4:15 PM
Fishwipe said...
Wow!!
1/17/13 4:26 PM
norie creates said...
Wow! Fabulous dress! It's stunning on you!
1/17/13 4:59 PM
Diane333 said...
Had to show your work to my family. Incredible!
1/17/13 8:06 PM
KathleenS said...
That's amazing. Beautiful job with the print placement.
1/18/13 3:14 AM
Marge99 said...
Absolutely gorgeous.
1/18/13 5:59 AM
jenjen2025 said...
The dress is absolutely beautiful and your choice of fabric is also magnificent. It is stunning. I too love Marfy patterns though I do find them challenging at times they are far superior in both fit and design than any others.
2/3/13 8:56 PM
Fictionfan said...
Oh my, to be able to sew up a pattern without any alterations! You are so the Marfy model! Georgeous dress, amazing fabric, how many places or occasions can you find to wear it! Time to knock that skill rating up to advanced.
2/4/13 10:05 PM
FrauW said...
I have been googly eyeing that pattern forever! Well, not forever, but ever since I saw it. A masterpiece. Wish I had somewhere to wear a dress like that.
3/17/13 1:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2008-111
photo
Review by redroserac... on 3/31/10
Read Review

McCalls 6875 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6875 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8964 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8964 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2588
photo
Review by piccalizzi... on 8/17/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Mr. Dash Digital Pattern (002)
Simple Things Mr. Dash Digital Pattern (002)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Couch Caddy
Couch Caddy

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us