SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6115 (Toddler Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 248 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews: 403 (patterns: 296)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 326 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/12/13 12:42 PM
New Look: 6115 by Deepika New Look: 6115 by Deepika 
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Toddlers    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns


vestapatterns.com
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ChromaWhite said... (1/8/15 1:55 PM) Reply
Hi it looks wonderful. I am searching for a dress for my 3 yr old to be used as an every day easy to wear dress. I have some great fabrics ready to go and this looks like it might fit the bill.
workinonit said... (7/7/13 5:37 AM) Reply
I have a 'narrow' daughter and getting patterns that work are a nightmare. I agree with Adaire. i have tried a lot of patterns from most companies and they are huge on my daughter [plus she is tallish]. I find they are too wide and there is too much ease. its a beautiful dress but how many parents have 7 hrs to spend on a kids dress! even if it is a special one. more than 2 hrs and we dont have the time. hang in there. next time, buy a cheap cotton [that she will wear] and at least you will hve soemthing for her to play in the yard in rather than a muslin. and make all those construction shortcuts that you would for yourself. she will still love it. if you can get to the sewing machine not tired with a 2 yr old, you are doing very well. i have 6 yr old twins, so if its not fabulous and fast, its not sewn. thanks for the honest review.. it will help me and many others
VivianZ said... (6/17/13 8:20 AM) Reply
Well, in spite of your reservations, I think it is as cute as a bug. Don't give up on this pattern, as it looks very comfy for summer, and a great play dress.
Deepika said... (6/14/13 11:22 AM) Reply
Thank you all for being so nice. I do love sewing for her and in fact I've dedicated the whole next week to mommy made clothes. I am going to dress her in only me-made clothes. I got this idea from the me-made-may.
ryan's mom said... (6/14/13 7:21 AM) Reply
I think it looks 100% cute on her! Still too big...I'm betting when she's 3 it's going to look 110% cute on her. I used to love sewing little girly clothes and wished my two boys came before my two girls so I would have had more time to do it. Not all bad because my boys loved the pants I used to make for them, but there are only so many times a mom wants to make elastic waist pull-on pants that make bathroom visits quick and easy lol.
kkkkaty said... (6/13/13 5:47 PM) Reply
well, I like it, but maybe because she's so cute!
grays08 said... (6/13/13 5:23 PM) Reply
This still looks so great on her despite the sizing woes! I appreciate the reviews on kid's clothes, because I do find more and more that the pattern companies neglect this area somewhat with finishings, designs, etc. I have a dress hanging in our closet that I'm hoping DD can wear this year that I made two years ago so I hear you! Sometimes it's just too painful to take apart!
marycds said... (6/13/13 1:06 AM) Reply
I'm using Oliver and S size 5 Gordon my GDaughter. Do you think this runs large enough that the size 4 would work. I love the style. Thanks!
Adaire said... (6/12/13 2:36 PM) Reply
She could wear a potato sack and look darling. My granddaughter is nearly 3 and measures 19 in the chest but is tall so I share your pain in getting things to fit! The pattern companies add way too much ease in kids clothes in my humble opinion.
cindyann said... (6/12/13 1:29 PM) Reply
That child would look good in anything. She's just beautiful!
Rhonda in Montreal said... (6/12/13 1:29 PM) Reply
What does she have on... ... ? Who notices ;D Darling toddler!! <3
slmstyle said... (6/12/13 1:16 PM) Reply
Adorable dress! I am sorry about the bad fit and all the time and effort you took to make it just to be dissapointed. I love the Pinterest inspiration dress; I think you should still try to re-create it as it would be SO cute on your daughter (but what isn't!)!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

New Look A6170

photo
by: Sew Nanny

Review
Simplicity 5416

photo
by: Marie-Clau...

Review
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Pattern Details