SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Style> 1021 (1021 OOP)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1311 times 
Reviewed by:Harriet Rogers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Harriet Rogersstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 9/13/02
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/05 2:16 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Harriet Rogers said...
Babydoll: the pockets are just set into the seams (like pant pockets) One piece on each seam: sew together. Super easy, and it turns out, they're warm, too! I used polar fleece on both sides, but there's no reason that you couldn't have one side the polar fleece and the other side, a lining fabric. I kind of like the fleece on both sides, and I didn't find it added any bulk. Looking forward to seeing your coat!
3/9/05 3:47 PM
babydoll said...
hello harriet thank you for posting this review - the coat looks fabulous. please could i ask what sort of pockets this coat has - are they in seam or cut into the front? i am keen to know how to make a nice pocket in a fleece material but can't find any information on this in any of my polar fleece books. regards ruth
3/8/05 2:25 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Thanks for all the comments. Portia, I think Burda does have a coat that looks like this. The company, Style, was bought by Simplicity (or Simplicity owned it and closed it), but I do think some of their patterns are now part of Simplicity. Sewing Susan: I didn't explain this very well. Basically, I just folded the inside (the other color) to the outside twice to give the border a rolled look. Couldn't be easier. The other thing to to is roll an inch or more over and just turn under 1/4 of an inch. Looking forward to seeing some of your double-sided fleece made up!
2/12/05 2:54 PM
AnneM said...
Nice coat. I wonder if Simplicity has a vesion of this (since they picked up some of the Style patterns).
2/12/05 8:46 AM
SewingSusan said...
That is a lovely coat. I have oodles of double-sided fleece and I'd love to do something like this. What do you mean by "double-rolled"?
2/12/05 7:31 AM
Ann Smith said...
Great coat. You look so cozy and warm. Love the color on you.
2/11/05 7:55 PM
CSY said...
You look fabulous in that coat. I love it. The colors are beautiful.
2/11/05 5:01 PM
drsue said...
I love it!! I want one!!! So sad that Style is defunct. I loved their stuff.
2/11/05 3:43 PM
Portia Hirschman said...
Harriet: whose pattern is this? Looks like a Burda that I have. You did a great job!
2/11/05 2:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Simplicity 1795

photo
by: norsk

Review
Pink Fig 3

photo
by: BettyMike

Review
Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

More Info
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

More Info