SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Style> 1021 (1021 OOP)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1311 times 
Reviewed by:Harriet Rogers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Harriet Rogersstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 9/13/02
Reviews: 59 (patterns: 59)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 40 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/05 2:16 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Harriet Rogers said... (3/9/05 3:47 PM) Reply
Babydoll: the pockets are just set into the seams (like pant pockets) One piece on each seam: sew together. Super easy, and it turns out, they're warm, too! I used polar fleece on both sides, but there's no reason that you couldn't have one side the polar fleece and the other side, a lining fabric. I kind of like the fleece on both sides, and I didn't find it added any bulk. Looking forward to seeing your coat!
babydoll said... (3/8/05 2:25 PM) Reply
hello harriet thank you for posting this review - the coat looks fabulous. please could i ask what sort of pockets this coat has - are they in seam or cut into the front? i am keen to know how to make a nice pocket in a fleece material but can't find any information on this in any of my polar fleece books. regards ruth
Harriet Rogers said... (2/12/05 2:54 PM) Reply
Thanks for all the comments. Portia, I think Burda does have a coat that looks like this. The company, Style, was bought by Simplicity (or Simplicity owned it and closed it), but I do think some of their patterns are now part of Simplicity. Sewing Susan: I didn't explain this very well. Basically, I just folded the inside (the other color) to the outside twice to give the border a rolled look. Couldn't be easier. The other thing to to is roll an inch or more over and just turn under 1/4 of an inch. Looking forward to seeing some of your double-sided fleece made up!
AnneM said... (2/12/05 8:46 AM) Reply
Nice coat. I wonder if Simplicity has a vesion of this (since they picked up some of the Style patterns).
SewingSusan said... (2/12/05 7:31 AM) Reply
That is a lovely coat. I have oodles of double-sided fleece and I'd love to do something like this. What do you mean by "double-rolled"?
Ann Smith said... (2/11/05 7:55 PM) Reply
Great coat. You look so cozy and warm. Love the color on you.
CSY said... (2/11/05 5:01 PM) Reply
You look fabulous in that coat. I love it. The colors are beautiful.
drsue said... (2/11/05 3:43 PM) Reply
I love it!! I want one!!! So sad that Style is defunct. I loved their stuff.
Portia Hirschman said... (2/11/05 2:23 PM) Reply
Harriet: whose pattern is this? Looks like a Burda that I have. You did a great job!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

McCall's 6996

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Pattern Details
Pin-up Girls Amanda Foam Cup Bra

photo
by: mmry

Review