SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 2592 (Dress with double sleeves)

Viewed 376 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 203
Favored by: 95 people
patterns reviewed: 193
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/13 11:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sharonspils said...
Lovely dress and it looks fantastic on you. As long as you are comfortable wearing it, it doesn't matter that it isn't like anything in RTW.
2/5/13 0:13 AM
ChristmasHills said...
It's a lovely dress and I like your more subtle colours. The Marfy catalogue picture is spaceagish with that puffy sleeve and darted skirt. Interesting, in a good way. You look lovely in your dress, wear it with pride.
2/5/13 0:50 AM
sewinfrance said...
I think it looks original and good on you. All your fitting changes paid off. Enjoy wearing it!
2/5/13 1:01 AM
Annie P said...
I think your dress with its toning colours and A-line skirt looks much nicer than the Marfy drawing.
2/5/13 2:15 AM
rozzybabe said...
It's time to change your Intermediate sewing level to Advanced!! Great construction as always, LOVE where the skirt & bodice join, very flattering! Agree that pleats would've looked odd! I'll be attempting my first Marfy next month - just a skirt, I'm not brave to try a dress like you are! Keep up the great work.
2/5/13 1:04 PM
Anelie said...
Awesome to see such an original design, you will turn heads! Very cool.
2/5/13 3:04 PM
karen n said...
I've considered purchasing this pattern as a base for a hoodie. I was intimidated by ordering it from the Italian site. Did you have any difficulty with the order process or did you buy it somewhere else?
2/5/13 3:28 PM
clothingengineer said...
rozzybabe, I'm getting there but I still feel like I have a lot more to learn before I can say with confidence that I am an advanced sewer!

karen n - I order them through either the Marfy website (if available, they don't have all the styles) or Nancy Erickson (fashionsewing.com). Nancy is a good source if you are uncomfortable ordering overseas.
2/5/13 4:03 PM
Re Becca said...
Absolutely adorable. I love your fabric choice and your changes to the skirt. I love the collar, so refreshing. Is this as comfortable to wear as it looks? You must get so many compliments on your clothes at work, everything you do is so fabulous! I too order directly from Marfy and I have never had a single problem.
2/5/13 10:21 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Magnificent sewing! It looks great on you.
2/6/13 7:07 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress!!! Great job!
2/14/13 11:19 PM
FrauW said...
I just bought this pattern, and can't wait to try it out. It looks very challenging, you did a great job! I love Marfy's fit, always worth the effort!
3/17/13 1:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Simplicity 2072

photo
by: heking81

Review
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now