SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 2592 (Dress with double sleeves)

Viewed 378 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 208
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 198
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/13 11:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FrauW said...
I just bought this pattern, and can't wait to try it out. It looks very challenging, you did a great job! I love Marfy's fit, always worth the effort!
3/17/13 1:27 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress!!! Great job!
2/14/13 11:19 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Magnificent sewing! It looks great on you.
2/6/13 7:07 AM
Re Becca said...
Absolutely adorable. I love your fabric choice and your changes to the skirt. I love the collar, so refreshing. Is this as comfortable to wear as it looks? You must get so many compliments on your clothes at work, everything you do is so fabulous! I too order directly from Marfy and I have never had a single problem.
2/5/13 10:21 PM
clothingengineer said...
rozzybabe, I'm getting there but I still feel like I have a lot more to learn before I can say with confidence that I am an advanced sewer!

karen n - I order them through either the Marfy website (if available, they don't have all the styles) or Nancy Erickson (fashionsewing.com). Nancy is a good source if you are uncomfortable ordering overseas.
2/5/13 4:03 PM
karen n said...
I've considered purchasing this pattern as a base for a hoodie. I was intimidated by ordering it from the Italian site. Did you have any difficulty with the order process or did you buy it somewhere else?
2/5/13 3:28 PM
Anelie said...
Awesome to see such an original design, you will turn heads! Very cool.
2/5/13 3:04 PM
rozzybabe said...
It's time to change your Intermediate sewing level to Advanced!! Great construction as always, LOVE where the skirt & bodice join, very flattering! Agree that pleats would've looked odd! I'll be attempting my first Marfy next month - just a skirt, I'm not brave to try a dress like you are! Keep up the great work.
2/5/13 1:04 PM
Annie P said...
I think your dress with its toning colours and A-line skirt looks much nicer than the Marfy drawing.
2/5/13 2:15 AM
sewinfrance said...
I think it looks original and good on you. All your fitting changes paid off. Enjoy wearing it!
2/5/13 1:01 AM
ChristmasHills said...
It's a lovely dress and I like your more subtle colours. The Marfy catalogue picture is spaceagish with that puffy sleeve and darted skirt. Interesting, in a good way. You look lovely in your dress, wear it with pride.
2/5/13 0:50 AM
Sharonspils said...
Lovely dress and it looks fantastic on you. As long as you are comfortable wearing it, it doesn't matter that it isn't like anything in RTW.
2/5/13 0:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Register

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Paco Peralta Apron Skirt

photo
by: SewRuth

Review