Online Sewing Class: Restyling with Exposed Zippers
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6125 (Misses Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 401 times 
Reviewed by:JUNIPERJUNE
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JUNIPERJUNE
QC CANADA
Member since: 7/20/12
Reviews: 58 (patterns: 44)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/13 3:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jane Mary said... (3/23/13 9:19 PM) Reply
Great job! Much better at a size 10. I also find trouble with pattern sizes not matching the description on the envelope to what your measurements really are! Thanks for the detail on your blog! I am going to start this pattern now for my daughter. You were a great inspiration!
Eva Suzanne said... (1/25/13 1:04 AM) Reply
Very pretty dress & fabric !!
JUNIPERJUNE said... (1/24/13 8:17 PM) Reply
Thank you very much! I loved learning how to sew a dress with a liner. This pattern was very helpful for that. It can be confusing the first time around. I am sooo thrilled that I made a dress that is cute and fits me. Here it is -38 degrees with the wind, but I will wear it to work tomorrow with purple leggings and the black shawl. I just have to show it off.
jenleeC said... (1/24/13 6:43 PM) Reply
This looks SO much better than your first version! The smaller size fits you much better. And it was good to read that in sewing this a second time you felt more confident with the process.
AuntieShel said... (1/24/13 6:23 PM) Reply
This is just a darling dress--LOVE the fabric!! I, too, had my eye on this pattern, so appreciate the review. Loved reading your blog and all the helpful styling pics--this dress can go dressy or casual!
caper81 said... (1/24/13 5:16 PM) Reply
Nice dress! I've been waiting for someone to review this pattern! I appreciate all the helpful photos on your blog :) Great deal on the dressform!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Simplicity 1370

photo
by: chuichoy

Review
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Pattern Details
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Pin-up Girls Amanda Foam Cup Bra

photo
by: mmry

Review