SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6891 (Misses Easy Pullover Tops)

27 more reviews
Viewed 181 times 
Reviewed by:Renren
photo

 
 
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/13 9:52 PM
Last Updated:1/25/13 9:53 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mhk3boys said...
I love this fabric choice the best BUT I love all four that you have reviewed today! Very pretty and great reviews!
1/25/13 11:25 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Lovely fabric making a very pretty blouse.
1/26/13 4:29 AM
cleverkitty said...
Very nice fabric choice ;)
1/26/13 9:35 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Love, love, love your fabric!
1/26/13 10:19 AM
grey ann said...
Where did you get the fabric. Just stunning.
1/26/13 10:54 AM
Renren said...
Grey ann, I bought the fabric from the red tag clearance section at JoAnn's Fabrics about 4 or 5 years ago. They used to have these beautiful linen blends with embroidery and I would find them on the red tag table for $4 or less. They were marked down from $12.99 per yard. Unfortunately, the yardage was limited by the time they got to the red tag table, but I was still able to buy a few pieces that really caught my eye. This was also before two JoAnns stores in the area consolidated into one store with a much smaller fabric selection. I'm pretty sure I'll never find treasures like these at the current craft-heavy, fabric-light store near the mall.
1/26/13 11:08 AM
jannw said...
Cute top with a beautiful fabric!! Enjoy it!
1/26/13 12:07 PM
katlew03 said...
Very pretty fabric. I have this pattern and will have to try it. Nice selection of tops from one pattern.
1/26/13 1:24 PM
Marie367 said...
All your tops are lovely. This fabric is beautiful! What a great find! Now I think I need this pattern!
1/26/13 2:25 PM
treefrog said...
Gorgeous! Your choice of fabric is fantastic and I love how you have used the border. Looking forward to seeing the sleeved versions.
1/26/13 4:37 PM
loti said...
Love what you did with the pattern placement. It is very chic.
1/26/13 5:33 PM
cocosloft said...
Another beautiful top! And what lovely fabric and placement of the embroidery.
1/26/13 8:07 PM
Quickie said...
I fell in love with this embroydered one , but all your tops in this OPML are nice to see.
1/27/13 6:06 AM
Margaret said...
Looks like you got a nice smooth hem -- great idea using the part without the embroidery! Love this fabric!
1/28/13 11:17 AM
BlueSkysAhead said...
I am interested in choosing fabric to match the pattern also. I want to make some light weight tops like you have here. Where did you get your fabrics from? If you remember? I live out of the way and I drive 45 minutes to what I call the local Joann Fabrics. So I try to order on line but I don't have enough knowledge to know if something is the right choice just by looking at the picture.
2/16/13 11:34 PM
Renren said...
BlueSkysAhead, in answer to your question, my fabrics for the OPML came from WalMart, Gorgeous Fabrics, and JoAnns. I got very lucky with the JoAnns fabrics since I bought them off the red tag clearance table. The fabric is a linen/cotton blend and I haven't seen anything like it since. If you look at fabricmartfabrics, be sure to look for the word "drapey." I have made this pattern 8 times now and the best ones had a good drape to them. Pay attention to whether it is sheer also because sheer wouldn't be good unless you used a cami with it. Drapey and lightweight would be key. Even then, ordering online will sometimes surprise you. It sometimes seems like it is the luck of the draw and I often end up using fabric for another purpose than what I purchased it for because the properties of the fabric were different than I expected. Good luck! Some of the other reviews also stress "drapey fabric"--I think the 1st one did, actually, and my experience would agree.
2/17/13 2:59 PM
BlueSkysAhead said...
Renren, Thank you so much for all your information.
2/19/13 12:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: Joyatee

Review
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Buy Now
Silhouette Patterns 3200

photo
by: Mobycat

Review