Online Sewing Class: Fit the Tee to a T
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2009-123 (Butterfly sleeve dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 444 times 
Reviewed by:Sewingelle
photo

 
 
About Sewingellestarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/26/09
Reviews: 104 (patterns: 104)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/13 5:21 PM
Last Updated:2/10/13 1:28 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns


vestapatterns.com
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
21wale said... (2/10/13 10:19 AM) Reply
I'm glad you were able to save the dress since the fabric is so lovely. Very nice!
prostheticsgirl said... (2/10/13 8:54 AM) Reply
I think the shorter length and removing the sleeves made a world of difference. Cute detail with the buttons too
msschiel said... (2/10/13 6:41 AM) Reply
I think it looks great!
BrendaJoyce said... (2/10/13 5:27 AM) Reply
I actually like both versions. I also like your pretty sandals.
lamstu said... (1/29/13 3:12 AM) Reply
With the crossover neck, one can often adjust the amount of the cross, or the pitch/angle for better coverage and preventing gaping (although it can lead to alot of basting and ripping). Good luck! and this dress is very summery and comfortable looking also.
ChristmasHills said... (1/27/13 11:08 PM) Reply
You must have picked the very best of photos because I can't see a thing wrong with it! It looks lovely and cool and comfortable.
Sewingelle said... (1/27/13 8:51 PM) Reply
good idea yummymummy. And thanks for reminding me about that butterfly fabric. I still have some of that left in the stash
yummymummy38 said... (1/27/13 6:24 PM) Reply
How about a modesty panel, or wear with a camisole? I made a very similar BS dress, with crossover neckline and wore it more with a camisole. Actually it was made of the same gorgeous butterfly fabric that you made a dress out of for your daughter
miausiau said... (1/27/13 5:48 PM) Reply
Crossover V necklines are apt to gap...how about a row of buttons? The sleeves could be gathered or darted at the hem... maybe? Still its cute and retro.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 207640-1005

photo
by: sewingsill...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Youth Easy Shirt Paper Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Youth Easy Shirt Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Pattern Details