SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2009-123 (Butterfly sleeve dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 430 times 
Reviewed by:Sewingelle
photo

 
 
About Sewingellestarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/26/09
Reviews written: 100
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/13 5:21 PM
Last Updated:2/10/13 1:28 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
21wale said...
I'm glad you were able to save the dress since the fabric is so lovely. Very nice!
2/10/13 10:19 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
I think the shorter length and removing the sleeves made a world of difference. Cute detail with the buttons too
2/10/13 8:54 AM
msschiel said...
I think it looks great!
2/10/13 6:41 AM
BrendaJoyce said...
I actually like both versions. I also like your pretty sandals.
2/10/13 5:27 AM
lamstu said...
With the crossover neck, one can often adjust the amount of the cross, or the pitch/angle for better coverage and preventing gaping (although it can lead to alot of basting and ripping). Good luck! and this dress is very summery and comfortable looking also.
1/29/13 3:12 AM
ChristmasHills said...
You must have picked the very best of photos because I can't see a thing wrong with it! It looks lovely and cool and comfortable.
1/27/13 11:08 PM
Sewingelle said...
good idea yummymummy. And thanks for reminding me about that butterfly fabric. I still have some of that left in the stash
1/27/13 8:51 PM
yummymummy38 said...
How about a modesty panel, or wear with a camisole? I made a very similar BS dress, with crossover neckline and wore it more with a camisole. Actually it was made of the same gorgeous butterfly fabric that you made a dress out of for your daughter
1/27/13 6:24 PM
miausiau said...
Crossover V necklines are apt to gap...how about a row of buttons? The sleeves could be gathered or darted at the hem... maybe? Still its cute and retro.
1/27/13 5:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Butterick 5814

photo
by: jnageotte

Review
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-109

photo
by: dolcevita

Review