SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2009-123 (Butterfly sleeve dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 427 times 
Reviewed by:Sewingelle
photo

 
 
About Sewingellestarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/26/09
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 95
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/13 5:21 PM
Last Updated:2/10/13 1:28 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
miausiau said...
Crossover V necklines are apt to gap...how about a row of buttons? The sleeves could be gathered or darted at the hem... maybe? Still its cute and retro.
1/27/13 5:48 PM
yummymummy38 said...
How about a modesty panel, or wear with a camisole? I made a very similar BS dress, with crossover neckline and wore it more with a camisole. Actually it was made of the same gorgeous butterfly fabric that you made a dress out of for your daughter
1/27/13 6:24 PM
Sewingelle said...
good idea yummymummy. And thanks for reminding me about that butterfly fabric. I still have some of that left in the stash
1/27/13 8:51 PM
ChristmasHills said...
You must have picked the very best of photos because I can't see a thing wrong with it! It looks lovely and cool and comfortable.
1/27/13 11:08 PM
lamstu said...
With the crossover neck, one can often adjust the amount of the cross, or the pitch/angle for better coverage and preventing gaping (although it can lead to alot of basting and ripping). Good luck! and this dress is very summery and comfortable looking also.
1/29/13 3:12 AM
BrendaJoyce said...
I actually like both versions. I also like your pretty sandals.
2/10/13 5:27 AM
msschiel said...
I think it looks great!
2/10/13 6:41 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
I think the shorter length and removing the sleeves made a world of difference. Cute detail with the buttons too
2/10/13 8:54 AM
21wale said...
I'm glad you were able to save the dress since the fabric is so lovely. Very nice!
2/10/13 10:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

brerrabbit.com 70\'s Panel Dress

photo
by: HOWsMom

Review
Simplicity Sew U

photo
by: House of P...

Review
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now