Online Sewing Class: Pattern Work
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2009-123 (Butterfly sleeve dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 444 times 
Reviewed by:Sewingelle
photo

 
 
About Sewingellestarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/26/09
Reviews: 104 (patterns: 104)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/13 5:21 PM
Last Updated:2/10/13 1:28 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
21wale said... (2/10/13 10:19 AM) Reply
I'm glad you were able to save the dress since the fabric is so lovely. Very nice!
prostheticsgirl said... (2/10/13 8:54 AM) Reply
I think the shorter length and removing the sleeves made a world of difference. Cute detail with the buttons too
msschiel said... (2/10/13 6:41 AM) Reply
I think it looks great!
BrendaJoyce said... (2/10/13 5:27 AM) Reply
I actually like both versions. I also like your pretty sandals.
lamstu said... (1/29/13 3:12 AM) Reply
With the crossover neck, one can often adjust the amount of the cross, or the pitch/angle for better coverage and preventing gaping (although it can lead to alot of basting and ripping). Good luck! and this dress is very summery and comfortable looking also.
ChristmasHills said... (1/27/13 11:08 PM) Reply
You must have picked the very best of photos because I can't see a thing wrong with it! It looks lovely and cool and comfortable.
Sewingelle said... (1/27/13 8:51 PM) Reply
good idea yummymummy. And thanks for reminding me about that butterfly fabric. I still have some of that left in the stash
yummymummy38 said... (1/27/13 6:24 PM) Reply
How about a modesty panel, or wear with a camisole? I made a very similar BS dress, with crossover neckline and wore it more with a camisole. Actually it was made of the same gorgeous butterfly fabric that you made a dress out of for your daughter
miausiau said... (1/27/13 5:48 PM) Reply
Crossover V necklines are apt to gap...how about a row of buttons? The sleeves could be gathered or darted at the hem... maybe? Still its cute and retro.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 0000

photo
by: Terri A

Review
New Look 6227

photo
by: SewDoItAlr...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Pattern 104

Victoria Jones Collection Pattern 104

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Pattern Details