Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8774 (Misses Jeans) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 760 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:KG2
photo
Friend of PR
About KG2star
Member since: 2/19/08
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/13 6:16 PM
Last Updated:3/23/14 8:49 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8774 by KG2

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8774
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Corduroy  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Editing to add a third pair. Green denim jeans for spring....

Denim Green Jeans



Editing to add a picture of my second pair. I love this pattern.

Second pair, green corduroys

Pattern Description: Fitted, tapered or straight-legged jeans (below waist) have shaped waistband with hook/eye closure, carriers, front/back pockets, back yokes, and binding for front fly zipper closing.

Pattern Sizing: Per my measurements, I needed to cut an 18/20, but I previously muslined this at size 16 based on comparing to RTW. Muslin link

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I think so. If she were my size.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I looked at them and did not use them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the clean straight lines.

Fabric Used: I used a small wale stretch corduroy from Fabric.com

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: A few.
I altered the front to have a cut on fly extension and I made the front pockets deeper and extended them to just past center front. The pockets extending to fly, not only adds support, but also keeps the pockets from gaping or pulling open while wearing.

front fly extension and extended pocket front

I ended up having to alter the back inner thigh to remove excess under butt cheek pooling that made me cry.

Back inner thigh altering


I cut a wider waistband and one with less curve to it, because I have a wider waist with less curve to it.

New waist pattern

I added flaps to the back pockets, more going on back there seems to detract from size.

Pocket flaps


Finally, I lengthened them by 5", I thought 5" was a safe addition, I ended up using all of it. I am 5'9.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I will sew it again. I am pretty sure I need another pair of cords, and a denim pair, then I think I will sew this in the spring in a cropped version, nice bright colors.

For more pictures, whiney details and fixes....

KellysSewing
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Skye said...
Thanks for the review. Your jeans look so good.
1/27/13 6:47 PM
redmina said...
Wow! Great jeans! I love your pockets too. Thanks for the most helpful review.
1/27/13 8:20 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Great review, they look fantastic on you. Looked through all your pictures and blog, very informative!
1/27/13 9:16 PM
cmcarr said...
Your jeans are beautiful. I too read on pattern review about doing a waistband like yours. I searched for it last week but was unable to find it. I printed your info. Thanks.
1/27/13 9:46 PM
Elke said...
Great review and your jeans look fabulous!
1/27/13 11:40 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Great looking jeans, fitter to perfection. I had an Ah hah moment with your info on your waistband. Must do the same. Thanks so much.
1/28/13 1:25 AM
madbadger said...
Great review - love the pants, they really look great on you.
3/23/13 10:32 AM
RoseE said...
Perfection!
3/26/13 1:59 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
These look terrific on you. Your changes resulted in a great looking pair of jeans! What I like about this pattern that the Jalie doesn't have is the shaped waistband. Thank you for making me aware of this pattern.
6/10/13 7:42 AM
frame said...
Well that does it. I am going to try this pattern. Thanks for the great review and the info on your blog.
3/23/14 9:23 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, what a great review and an even greater looking and fitting pair of jeans. Well done!
3/23/14 10:28 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Yay! They came out perfect!!
3/23/14 10:34 PM
cmcarr said...
A great looking pair of jeans, and to hear that you made them in 8 hours in amazing.
3/23/14 10:57 PM
SewWil said...
Both pair of jeans looks terrific. Great job!
3/23/14 11:29 PM
Levone said...
Great looking jeans!
3/23/14 11:36 PM
TJSEWS said...
Wow - what a great fit! Pants are so hard to fit but you nailed it. Congratulations!
3/24/14 10:07 PM
CallMeSu said...
They look FANTASTIC!! Thanks for the jean fitting advice!!!
3/29/14 10:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1008 lace skirt
photo
Review by French.Sea... on 9/16/13
Read Review

Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6415 Pants
photo
Review by RuthieSews on 4/19/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8822 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8822 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6270 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )
McCalls 6270 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us