SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8774 (Misses Jeans)

23 more reviews
Viewed 1239 times 
Reviewed by:KG2
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KG2star
Member since: 2/19/08
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 49
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/13 6:16 PM
Last Updated:5/7/14 9:54 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8774 by KG2

  Vogue Patterns: 8774 by KG2  Vogue Patterns: 8774 by KG2  
Pattern Photo:

Buy Pattern
Vogue Patterns 8774
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
Fabric:Corduroy  [See other projects in this fabric]
I am going to lose count!! Again... cropped this time in robin's egg blue

Cropped, robins egg blue


And one more time.....

Purple


Editing to add a third pair. Green denim jeans for spring....

Denim Green Jeans



Editing to add a picture of my second pair. I love this pattern.

Second pair, green corduroys

Pattern Description: Fitted, tapered or straight-legged jeans (below waist) have shaped waistband with hook/eye closure, carriers, front/back pockets, back yokes, and binding for front fly zipper closing.

Pattern Sizing: Per my measurements, I needed to cut an 18/20, but I previously muslined this at size 16 based on comparing to RTW. Muslin link

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I think so. If she were my size.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I looked at them and did not use them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the clean straight lines.

Fabric Used: I used a small wale stretch corduroy from Fabric.com

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: A few.
I altered the front to have a cut on fly extension and I made the front pockets deeper and extended them to just past center front. The pockets extending to fly, not only adds support, but also keeps the pockets from gaping or pulling open while wearing.

front fly extension and extended pocket front

I ended up having to alter the back inner thigh to remove excess under butt cheek pooling that made me cry.

Back inner thigh altering


I cut a wider waistband and one with less curve to it, because I have a wider waist with less curve to it.

New waist pattern

I added flaps to the back pockets, more going on back there seems to detract from size.

Pocket flaps


Finally, I lengthened them by 5", I thought 5" was a safe addition, I ended up using all of it. I am 5'9.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I will sew it again. I am pretty sure I need another pair of cords, and a denim pair, then I think I will sew this in the spring in a cropped version, nice bright colors.

For more pictures, whiney details and fixes....

KellysSewing
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Your jeans are fabulous, each and everyone.
5/8/14 12:27 PM
velosewer said...
Your jeans are great. This is my favourite jeans pattern for woven fabrics.
5/7/14 10:16 PM
McCallPatternCo said...
These pants look fantastic on you. Nice work!
4/29/14 1:12 PM
jdk said...
Your top stitching looks great
4/28/14 10:19 AM
CallMeSu said...
They look FANTASTIC!! Thanks for the jean fitting advice!!!
3/29/14 10:52 PM
TJSEWS said...
Wow - what a great fit! Pants are so hard to fit but you nailed it. Congratulations!
3/24/14 10:07 PM
Levone said...
Great looking jeans!
3/23/14 11:36 PM
SewWil said...
Both pair of jeans looks terrific. Great job!
3/23/14 11:29 PM
cmcarr said...
A great looking pair of jeans, and to hear that you made them in 8 hours in amazing.
3/23/14 10:57 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Yay! They came out perfect!!
3/23/14 10:34 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, what a great review and an even greater looking and fitting pair of jeans. Well done!
3/23/14 10:28 PM
frame said...
Well that does it. I am going to try this pattern. Thanks for the great review and the info on your blog.
3/23/14 9:23 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
These look terrific on you. Your changes resulted in a great looking pair of jeans! What I like about this pattern that the Jalie doesn't have is the shaped waistband. Thank you for making me aware of this pattern.
6/10/13 7:42 AM
RoseE said...
Perfection!
3/26/13 1:59 AM
madbadger said...
Great review - love the pants, they really look great on you.
3/23/13 10:32 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Great looking jeans, fitter to perfection. I had an Ah hah moment with your info on your waistband. Must do the same. Thanks so much.
1/28/13 1:25 AM
Elke said...
Great review and your jeans look fabulous!
1/27/13 11:40 PM
cmcarr said...
Your jeans are beautiful. I too read on pattern review about doing a waistband like yours. I searched for it last week but was unable to find it. I printed your info. Thanks.
1/27/13 9:46 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Great review, they look fantastic on you. Looked through all your pictures and blog, very informative!
1/27/13 9:16 PM
redmina said...
Wow! Great jeans! I love your pockets too. Thanks for the most helpful review.
1/27/13 8:20 PM
Skye said...
Thanks for the review. Your jeans look so good.
1/27/13 6:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8616

photo
by: chenille

Review
Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Buy Now