SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1692 (Misses' Retro Tops)

14 more reviews
Viewed 679 times 
Reviewed by:Jasst282
photo

 
 
About Jasst282
PA USA
Member since: 9/18/09
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/13 5:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lbremers said...
I am making the blouse without the bows but when I took it oout of the package and got ready to make the FBA I stopped and checked in here to see exactly how you would go about making it bigger in the bust. Without darts, etc. I wonder what to do. I considered enlarging the gathering distance at the neckline as that is where the pattern seems to provide room for a bust. Anybody with a C or D cup have any suggestions for a FBA on this? Thanks.
5/10/13 8:51 PM
MissMelly said...
Thank you for reviewing. I have been holding off on making this one for the exact reason. It looks very cute on you. Wonderful job. I can't wait to make it up tomorrow.
2/12/13 11:04 PM
charid dawn said...
LOVE this.
2/9/13 0:06 AM
Pamaro said...
I just purchased this pattern today and was glad to see a review for it here on Patternreview. Your version looks very pretty on you.
2/8/13 2:37 PM
prttynpnk said...
I'm so glad to see this made up- I've been circling it like a shark!
2/2/13 11:06 AM
talesofawannabe said...
Thanks for uploading the pic of you wearing it! It really helps to give an idea of the length.
2/1/13 10:23 PM
Marnie D said...
I have this pattern and need a minute to sew it up!! Thanks for your review. It looks really sweet on you
2/1/13 6:17 AM
Jasst282 said...
That or don't put the sleeve headings in.
1/31/13 9:48 PM
style inspired said...
Thanks for the photo of you wearing it! If I make up that version I'll be reducing the sleeve gathers- I'm not a fan of puffy sleeves.
1/31/13 8:44 PM
Jasst282 said...
I uploaded a picture of me wearing it! The review gallery image should link to it. The neck is just right - not to tight or to loose. I'm 5'4", and I think it looks good untucked.
1/30/13 10:18 PM
talesofawannabe said...
Very pretty blouse! I am so happy your reviewed this pattern. May I ask how tall you are? Looking at the envelope I am worried this may be too short for me. Is it a length you can wear untucked?
1/29/13 10:01 PM
style inspired said...
I would love to see photos of you wearing it. I've been looking at this pattern and waiting for a review. I didn't realize it asks for shoulder pads, but not surprising considering it is a 1940's reprint. How do you find the neckline- high/close or snug?
1/29/13 5:22 PM
Jasst282 said...
For the neckline, I sewed the shirt together (sans sleeves) and then pulled the gathering stitches. I then adjusted it so it wasn't strangling me, but still sits close to the neck. I will post a picture of me wearing it soon.
1/29/13 5:01 PM
mnitts said...
That looks so cute!
1/29/13 4:12 AM
SewWil said...
Pretty blouse!
1/29/13 0:31 AM
Aurelie said...
Ooohh! I've been looking at this pattern and waiting for a review. It is darling. I was wondering about the neckline fit. It looks like it could get too snug easily. Very cute. Would love to see it on.
1/28/13 11:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now
McCall's 4394

photo
by: nicegirl

Review