Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 1692 (Misses' Retro Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 602 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Jasst282
photo
About Jasst282
PA USA
Member since: 9/18/09
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/13 5:50 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aurelie said...
Ooohh! I've been looking at this pattern and waiting for a review. It is darling. I was wondering about the neckline fit. It looks like it could get too snug easily. Very cute. Would love to see it on.
1/28/13 11:31 PM
SewWil said...
Pretty blouse!
1/29/13 0:31 AM
mnitts said...
That looks so cute!
1/29/13 4:12 AM
Jasst282 said...
For the neckline, I sewed the shirt together (sans sleeves) and then pulled the gathering stitches. I then adjusted it so it wasn't strangling me, but still sits close to the neck. I will post a picture of me wearing it soon.
1/29/13 5:01 PM
style inspired said...
I would love to see photos of you wearing it. I've been looking at this pattern and waiting for a review. I didn't realize it asks for shoulder pads, but not surprising considering it is a 1940's reprint. How do you find the neckline- high/close or snug?
1/29/13 5:22 PM
talesofawannabe said...
Very pretty blouse! I am so happy your reviewed this pattern. May I ask how tall you are? Looking at the envelope I am worried this may be too short for me. Is it a length you can wear untucked?
1/29/13 10:01 PM
Jasst282 said...
I uploaded a picture of me wearing it! The review gallery image should link to it. The neck is just right - not to tight or to loose. I'm 5'4", and I think it looks good untucked.
1/30/13 10:18 PM
style inspired said...
Thanks for the photo of you wearing it! If I make up that version I'll be reducing the sleeve gathers- I'm not a fan of puffy sleeves.
1/31/13 8:44 PM
Jasst282 said...
That or don't put the sleeve headings in.
1/31/13 9:48 PM
Marnie D said...
I have this pattern and need a minute to sew it up!! Thanks for your review. It looks really sweet on you
2/1/13 6:17 AM
talesofawannabe said...
Thanks for uploading the pic of you wearing it! It really helps to give an idea of the length.
2/1/13 10:23 PM
prttynpnk said...
I'm so glad to see this made up- I've been circling it like a shark!
2/2/13 11:06 AM
Pamaro said...
I just purchased this pattern today and was glad to see a review for it here on Patternreview. Your version looks very pretty on you.
2/8/13 2:37 PM
charid dawn said...
LOVE this.
2/9/13 0:06 AM
MissMelly said...
Thank you for reviewing. I have been holding off on making this one for the exact reason. It looks very cute on you. Wonderful job. I can't wait to make it up tomorrow.
2/12/13 11:04 PM
lbremers said...
I am making the blouse without the bows but when I took it oout of the package and got ready to make the FBA I stopped and checked in here to see exactly how you would go about making it bigger in the bust. Without darts, etc. I wonder what to do. I considered enlarging the gathering distance at the neckline as that is where the pattern seems to provide room for a bust. Anybody with a C or D cup have any suggestions for a FBA on this? Thanks.
5/10/13 8:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Kwik Sew 2191
photo
Review by Chris Brya... on 5/14/11
Read Review

Pattern Runway Gathered Sundress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Gathered Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Young Image Magazine Y1258 Coat Coat
photo
Review by velosewer on 5/23/13
Read Review

Newport Tote
Newport Tote

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6903 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6903 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1620 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1620 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us