Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8333 thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 584 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Carol Wisman
photo
About Carol Wismanstar
WA USA
Member since: 8/9/02
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/13 12:52 PM
Last Updated:11/28/13 1:29 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8333 by Carol Wisman

Vogue Patterns: 8333 by Carol Wisman  Vogue Patterns: 8333 by Carol Wisman  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8333
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by Carol Wisman

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
  • Tip: Basting with an obvious color of thread
  • Tip: Press as you go
  • Tip: Read the Directions First
  • Tip: Silk, interfacing
  • Current Tags What is a Tag:
    Fabric:Wool Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
    Related Links  
    Click on to add a link
    Pattern Description: Semi-fitted, lined, partially interfaced, below waist jacket has princess seams, slightly extended shoulders, shoulder pads, in-seam pockets with pleats, side panels (no side seams), shaped hem, and long two-piece sleeves with buttoned vents. A: underlined and couture construction techniques.

    Pattern Sizing:12-14 I made a 14, grading to a 12 in the lower side back.

    Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes

    Were the instructions easy to follow?The instructions for the couture method are extremely educational, but did not follow them verbatim. i.e. thread tracing ALL the seam lines. However, when grading from one size to another, this is invaluable. Especially when one piece has a different size grading width compared to its adjoining piece.

    What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?As others have said, this pattern is worth the $$$ for the couture instructions alone. The princess seams make fitting a jacket a dream for my body type. I could never buy a jacket like this off the rack and have it fit without costly alterations.

    Fabric Used:100% wool woven, silk organza underlining, lightweight horse hair interfacing. Radiance silk/cotton lining. Muslin was a light weight twillfront view

    back

    Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:After making the bodice muslin, removed the pleats and pocket. I was pretty sure I wasn't going to like the pleats, but tried it any way. This also made the front bodice fit much more to my liking.
    During the muslin fitting, found that I needed a 12 in the arm circumference, found I didn't need any extra length in the sleeves.Muslin
    Read in other reviews that the pocket was not very functional, so I omitted it. Added an inside welt pocket. Perfect for a CC, drivers licence, $50 and a tiny lipstick. Inside pocket

    Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?Yes, probably view B, ready to wear construction in a more casual fabric.

    Time line of sewing...if your so interested
    2/5/13 Finished muslin, started cutting out wool.
    2/6/13 Finished cutting wool, lining, underlining & horse hair. Sewed some underlining pieces to wool pieces.
    2/7/13 more underlining to wool sewing g. Getting my courage up for hand work needed for the fronts.
    2/16 Been away from the sewing room. Attacked the fronts and the hand sewing required. Not nearly as tedious as I imagined.
    2/19 Finished harness and pad stitching
    2/20 worked on taping the front, finished under lining, assembled back/sideback, worked on collar
    2/21 more collar work, sleeve assembly
    2/22 Finished taping fronts, pad stitched undercollar
    2/23 assembled side/side front/front finished pad stitching undercollar
    2/24-26 set facings, joined fronts & backs, hemmed body, joined shoulders, started pad stitching collar stand
    2/27 finished pad stitching collar stand and finished collar assembly
    3/8 finished setting & hand stitching collar to jacket
    3/9 set 1 sleeve
    3/23 set 2nd sleeve, shapped & inserted shoulder pads, steamed the heck out of the sleeves to shrink out fullness, stitched front facing to interfacing, started lining assembly
    3/25 finished lining, more shoulder steaming
    3/27 made inside pocket
    3/31 worked on attaching lining
    4/13 attached lining to front facings
    4/15 attached lining to neck and shoulders @ 1 arm hole
    4/18 attached lining to 2nd arm hole, pinned up lining hem
    4/20 basted lining hem to jacket hem, started removing unnessary basting
    4/21 attached lining hem to jacket, basted sleeve lining to arm
    5/4 took off basted lining to remove "shoulder blade pocket & sleeve tightening back stitching" it made the shoulder to tight. Rebasted sleeve lining to armhoul
    5/6 basted 2nd sleeve to armhole, fell stitched sleeve lining to 1 armhole
    5/12 fell stitched 2nd sleeve, buttons and buttonholes
    Conclusion: I love love love this jacket. It did take some time but was not really that difficult.

    Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
     
    thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
    Merchants on PR
    Elliott Berman Textiles
    Fabrics for Greater Ideas
    Deals!
    Sewn Square One
    Patterns for Your Style.
    Web site
    Gwyn Hug
    Fabric Shopping Help!
    Deals!
    << Previous      Next >>
    12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
    carolynw said...
    A perfect 10 for this jacket - it looks so much like the couture jacket. Well done
    11/28/13 6:55 PM
    caroljeancarmichael said...
    Congratulations on completing a Claire Shaeffer jacket with couture techniques. I especially appreciate the timeline, because it shows what we would be committing to before we start the project.
    11/28/13 7:08 PM
    Jessamaka said...
    Thank you for the timeline, very helpful
    11/28/13 10:20 PM
    Immelu said...
    Wow, thanks for that review! I liked seeing the timeline as well! It helps me see how I could plan a project like this!
    11/28/13 10:32 PM
    AuntieShel said...
    Just beautiful!!!
    11/28/13 10:51 PM
    SewLibra said...
    What a professional looking jacket! I see you work a couple of hours a day, generally, like I do. It's amazing how much you can get done in small increments of time. Great job!
    11/29/13 0:18 AM
    jlg said...
    This is gorgeous.
    11/29/13 5:25 AM
    chriseen said...
    A tremendous review of a beautiful project, thank you so much. I have a Claire Shaeffer 8481 partially cut out in a wool flannel from deepest stash, so your timeline is especially helpful. May not commit to all couture steps on this particular project...
    11/29/13 9:52 AM
    QueenBeeOne said...
    You did a fabulous job!!! I made this jacket for a customer 2 yrs ago..before I was a member and I enjoyed it. I learned some invaluable techniques about constructing the collar that I use with every collar since then. Your jacket is beautiful!!!
    11/29/13 10:07 AM
    Jrhee said...
    Thanks for the review - I've had my eye on this pattern for a while. Love it in gray.
    11/29/13 10:53 AM
    Carol Wisman said...
    TU for your kind comments, forgot to note, cutting the wool, lining underlining, horsehair, and interfacing took 2.5 work periods as well
    11/29/13 1:11 PM
    cleverkitty said...
    Gorgeous jacket :)
    11/29/13 7:11 PM
    Login
    Online Sewing Classes
    Put it on the Bias
    Fee: $49.00
    (Regular $49.00)
    Put it on the Bias

    Online Sewing Classes
    Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
    Fee: $29.00
    (Regular $49.00)
    Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

    Butterick 5608 misses top
    photo
    Review by Claverie on 8/18/11
    Read Review

    Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern
    Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

    Details
    Price: $9.00
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern
    Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

    Details
    Price: $16.00
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
    Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

    Details
    Price: $7.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Blank Slate Fresh Bloom Frock Digital Pattern
    Blank Slate Fresh Bloom Frock Digital Pattern

    Details
    Price: $7.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    No Pattern Used 000
    photo
    Review by Chris Stus... on 5/2/07
    Read Review

    McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size )
    McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size  )

    Details
    Price: $13.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    McCalls 6845 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
    McCalls 6845 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

    Details
    Price: $18.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag


    Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
    Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us