SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Fashion Sewing Group> 1945 (Jacket)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1811 times 
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo

 
 
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/14/05 7:55 AM
Last Updated:2/14/05 8:10 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
Well for all the trouble with pattern markings you ended up with a spectacular jacket. Wonderful!
2/14/05 7:57 AM
Patti B said...
It is gorgeous even though it sounds as if it was an ordeal. In my house, this would probably be a UFO! Lovely job.
2/14/05 8:27 AM
Sew it seams said...
Great jacket and review. I love your work. Thanks for the tip on trying the Claire Schaeffer pattern.
2/14/05 9:25 AM
PVA said...
Your careful cutting certainly paid off! I couldn't help but notice the absolutely perfect match of the plaid all across the front of the jacket! Especially the lapels -- perfect! I too thank you for the tip about Claire Schaeffer pattern. And, a great big double thank you for this review!
2/14/05 9:48 AM
Nickle said...
Nice job matching up the plaid- especially with the 2 piece sleeves-I like plaids but usually avoid them for that reason. Your time and work involved really paid off.
2/14/05 11:22 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
Beautiful plaid matches! Despite your struggles it certainly turned out great.
2/14/05 11:23 AM
Mommo said...
A lovely garment and a very helpful (informative ;) review. Thank you!
2/14/05 12:42 PM
Anne Frances said...
That is a stunning jacket - especially the matched plaid. The cut looks great - you don't say if you had to alter the fit? Even if it was a struggle it was really worth it and I will certainly think of giving the pattern a go, bearing all your warnings in mind
2/14/05 1:16 PM
jlg said...
So beautifully done.
2/14/05 1:58 PM
Georgene said...
Excellent review, thank you for the cold, clear eye on this pattern. I have been interested in the FSG pattern line, she has an interesting concept. Better in theory than execution?
2/14/05 2:41 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful! You will get many compliments on this. Nancy did do directions for lengthening this into a dress in a recent newsletter. I have a zip-front shortened version of this on today. I really like all the different possibilites with this pattern.
2/14/05 2:53 PM
Awlful said...
What an absolutely stunning jacket! You are a talented artisan.
2/14/05 3:04 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your jacket is so wonderful and gorgeous, despite the difficulties that you endured. I am really impressed with how you did with matching the plaid fabric!! Thank you for the jacket construction tips via C Schaeffer.
2/14/05 6:53 PM
KarmenG said...
Great review and thank you for writing it. I just cut this pattern in muslin last night to do my fitting changes. I like the many fitting lines on it. Thanks for the comments about collar and lapels - I will dig out my Claire S pattern - good idea. How did the sleeves set in? Was the ease just right or did you have to work it in? Thanks again!
2/14/05 7:45 PM
Lori V said...
very beautiful
2/14/05 10:42 PM
Tini said...
woooow. gorgeous
2/15/05 1:52 AM
AnneM said...
I do like those pockets. Lack of markings is one of my pet peeves on patterns; leave it up to me if I want to use them or not. Your jacket looks so much better than the pattern drawing. I have a Claire Schaeffer already, so I'll start with that one!
2/15/05 4:23 AM
MickeyFan said...
Thank you all for your nice comments. Karmeng, I felt like the ease on the sleeves was about right. I had to trim off a small (less than 1/8 inch?) sliver on the front of the sleeve cap. I did interface my entire sleeve because I felt like the fabric needed the support. As a result, I got a really nice raised cap. If you don't interface the whole sleeve, you might consider interfacing just the sleeve cap to give it extra support. Anne Francis, I did no fitting adjustments - which is typical for me when making tops or jackets. I made a 10, and I ususally sew a 12 in Big 4. The fit is right on the money through the shoulders and chest. Georgene, I definitely think you should give the Fashion Sewing Group a try. I know this review came off as more negative than positive, but I think that Nancy Erickson's designs are worth a try - especially for a more experienced sewist. Part of me thinks plaid matching was really the root of my difficulties...
2/15/05 6:26 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I made this pattern about two years ago. Before my involvement with PR. Your review captured all my struggles with this pattern and I am glad you shared this information. The jacket is long but with the adaptations to this pattern as you mentioned allows for shortening. Your jacket looks lovely, great job!
2/15/05 8:57 AM
Nancy Anne said...
What a stunning jacket, and your review is terrific! I hope it does wind up growing on you and you get lots of wear out of it!
2/15/05 2:54 PM
MaryBeth said...
Love the neckline of the collar. I hadn't noticed it before your review. I sure do like the results you labored so hard to achieve!
2/17/05 4:24 PM
Liana said...
It looks great. Wonderful plaid matching, and a very nice result overall. Very good, substantive review. Thank you.
2/17/05 8:18 PM
WJean said...
Well, it's more than a year since you reviewed this pattern but, I'm glad the picture is still up for viewing. You did a fantastic job putting this togethr in spite of the dislikes that you mentioned. I've wondered about these patterns, especially because of the add-ons for changing the style. Your jacket is wonderful and encouraging for someone that's been thinking about giving them a try.
11/14/06 8:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now