SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 2286 (Marfy jacket)

Viewed 467 times 
Reviewed by:Re Becca
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Re Beccastarstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/12/05
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/13 9:25 PM
Last Updated:4/16/13 5:12 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Immelu said...
That is a fabulous jacket!! Love the color, the stitching at the shoulders, the zipper, the lining, yeah, just everything! Thanks for the leather tips... If I ever sew leather, I'm going start with this review!
4/15/13 11:02 PM
Jessica Dean said...
I am so amazed! You did a WOW job on this!!! I am speechless....
4/15/13 11:54 PM
Lynn WA said...
WOW! It looks fabulous...and I can see why you carry that 'mandatory accessory' around! Kudos!
4/16/13 1:10 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Jacket perfection! This must be the next step beyond "advanced". What you've done with this beautiful colored leather is nothing short of amazing. Congratulations on an excellent review and enjoy all the compliments on your jacket.
4/16/13 7:09 AM
Dianne22 said...
Absolutely beautiful jacket and beautiful job creating it. The details you included like the choice of zipper and lining, to say nothing of the quilting, have made this a real designer jacket. You'll enjoy the fruits of your labor for many years to come.
4/16/13 7:49 AM
Jrhee said...
I would seriously never take this off! Thanks for all the helpful links and leather source. I haven't tackled a leather project yet, but aspire to.
4/16/13 9:54 AM
ArtAttack said...
It's stunning. I LOVE the color. Will you make me one?
4/16/13 10:09 AM
CynthiaSue said...
what a fabulous jacket Rebecca!! Still sewing Marfy! Love it!!
4/16/13 12:04 PM
beth5646 said...
Beautiful. You did a marvelous job.
4/16/13 1:44 PM
portercs said...
I love everything about this jacket. It looks great on you!!! Thank you for sharing.
4/16/13 5:24 PM
Sue Parrott said...
WOW! I love your jacket! I love this so much and I think I must order one of those mugs!
4/16/13 7:28 PM
PattyE said...
Fab jacket!
4/16/13 8:27 PM
BeaJay said...
FAB jacket - love the quilting and the colour. You have done a spectacular job with this.
4/16/13 9:21 PM
potlady said...
Gorgeous jacket and very informative review. What kind of sewing machine and needle did you use? Can't wait to see your next leather project.
4/16/13 9:37 PM
Re Becca said...
Potlady, I used a Janome 6600 for the quilting (for the walking foot) and a 90/14 leather needle, for the rest of the sewing I used my old elna su air electronic. The walking foot is great for topstitching and quilting, but it really didn't handle the extra layers any better than my old machine. Thanks for the nice compliments, I really love this jacket! Well worth all the effort.
4/16/13 10:56 PM
cleverclogs said...
Oh this is lovely, and your comments and blog are really helpful. If I ever get the courage to work with leather I'll certainly come back to your advice.
4/17/13 1:15 AM
mnitts said...
Wow agree with what everyone has written here...beyond advanced sewing. Stunning work and great review!
4/17/13 2:58 AM
nancy2001 said...
Gorgeous jacket! You did a superb job!
4/17/13 9:33 PM
blue mooney said...
magnum opus! This has got to impress the pants off of everyone who sees it.
4/18/13 9:18 AM
cleverkitty said...
Gorgeous Jacket I love it!!! Excellent review :)
4/22/13 5:56 PM
Fictionfan said...
Wow! Just Wow! So are you finally going to stop calling yourself an intermediate sewer? If a STUNNING, COUTURE, QUILTED, LEATHER JACKET isn't advanced, even expert, what more do you need to be able to do?? GREAT review! And you really do need that mandatory accessory...
6/15/13 8:45 PM
amynxdx said...
amazing!
8/27/13 10:45 AM
mesewlot said...
Beautiful jacket, and an excellent job executing the finish! I found your review because I was wondering if anyone made Marfy patterns...your review is the first I've read, and I'm so encouraged by it and I look forward to trying my first Marfy! It just may be this pattern ( if it's available). I have been looking for an attractive, "different" look for a leather jacket. I FELL IN LOVE when I saw yours...and, I LOVE the modifications you made!! Also, thanks for all the references!
9/6/13 9:06 AM
TJSEWS said...
I just came across your review of this jacket. Your jacket is spectacular!
1/8/14 8:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Folkwear 233

photo
by: miausiau

Review
Vogue Patterns 1174

photo
by: lharpie

Review
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now