SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6106 (misses' skirts)

9 more reviews
Viewed 424 times 
Reviewed by:julliams
photo

 
 
About julliamsstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/07
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/2/13 9:31 PM
Last Updated:2/23/13 6:28 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewingcanary said...
Hi again. Perhaps I should clarify for the benefit of others…. Omitting the back seam could be limited by the width of the fabric and size of pattern. I know nothing about AU fabric history but for North American vintage lovers, fabric used to be narrower. Omission of back seam requires the zipper on the side. I’d recommend using a narrow strip of lightweight interfacing to stabilize the seam so the hip curve doesn’t get stretched during installation. Like stay-stitching, this should be done immediately after cutting, before pieces are moved around and risk distortion. It is also something I would not recommend for non-stable fabrics such as a slinky rayon. In those cases, both side seams would need to hang the same or the skirt could end up looking crooked over time. A stable woven cotton, quilting fabric, linen, etc. would be fine. It boils down to which works best for the individual person and fabric; an uninterrupted back seam with side zip or rear seam and rear zip. Matching seams can sometimes take oodles more fabric. Cheers.
10/15/14 12:28 PM
erinkraten said...
What type of fabric is that? Where ever did you find such amazing stuff? I just love it! Its perfect for the application, a-line skirt, just perfect!!
9/8/14 2:01 PM
julliams said...
@sewingcanary - sorry for my late response (one whole year...) For anyone who may be interested I did seam the back but kind of matched the print as best I could. I think you could probably not seam it there and just do a side seam.
8/14/14 6:23 PM
Sharon M said...
The is a beautiful skirt! That fabric...well, I must admit I have fabric envy :-) it's gorgeous.
12/29/13 12:14 PM
sewingcanary said...
Wild! I absolutely LOVE it!!! What a great use of a “border” print! I’m curious if you seamed the back or cut it on the fold. I just bought this pattern today. Am SO looking forward to making it. As I was telling another gal, it is very close to one I traced off a friend 40 years ago. It was part of Mary Quant’s pop collection of the early 70’s. The only difference is the other band dips lower in front to be more like a yoke and there’s a bit more flare to it, but no front or back seams. I’ve been wanting to make it again but knew I’d have to totally remake the pattern. It’s so close, I bought a new one. I will eliminate the back seam to keep the bold print I plan to use from breaking up. I guesstimate it will take about 1/3 yard or 30 cm more fabric = no big deal. The pattern lay out is for directional or napped fabric so no extra fabric is required for one way designs, weaves or knits. The pockets look deep and roomy, unlike what you’d get in today’s RTW. YAY!
9/6/13 0:04 AM
Sindydolly said...
Beautiful choice of fabric, skirt looks stunning.
3/30/13 1:20 PM
butterflyfly said...
I love it! The fabric is amazing...
3/3/13 12:39 PM
ArtAttack said...
Beautiful skirt and fabric...the whole look tells a story...very pretty!
2/23/13 10:51 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very nice! Your fabric is fabulous, and the buttons really do add to it.
2/3/13 12:54 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great fabric. It really was perfect for your skirt!
2/3/13 8:47 AM
ChristmasHills said...
You're right the fabric makes the skirt. I found your buttons! The whole look is lovely.
2/3/13 2:21 AM
mm said...
Great fabric.
2/2/13 11:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Simplicity 3588

photo
by: Jennifer s...

Review
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

More Info