Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Fashion in Harmony: 1001 - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 647 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Dilliander
photo
Friend of PR
About Dillianderstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/28/08
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 80 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/13 2:02 AM
Last Updated:11/19/13 7:44 PM
Project Photo:Fashion in Harmony: 1001 by Dilliander

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Linen Blend  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
UPDATE November 2013:

I find I am wearing this top a lot since I first reviewed it back in February. The linen polymide fabric (that I learnt recently is woven to Tessuti's specifications and milled in Italy) is fabulous and with washing the bias cut raw hem has developed a lovely frayed fringe edge (also without ironing the bias crinkles give lovely texture and extra shaping). A great pattern!

Worn with Tessuti Suzy pants (review coming)

Frayed hem finish

Pattern Description:

Described by Fashion in Harmony (FiH) as a "cute, fun bias blouse" with choice of cowl or assymetric neckline. These tops both have the cowl, one with sleeves and one sleeveless.

Pattern Sizing:

Small (8-10)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes, I think so, although this version is more fitted.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

The instructions are excellent.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

Having made this twice before (in Charmeuse and a border print gauze) I already knew I'd like it.

Fabric Used:

A medium weight 90% linen (10% Polymide) from Tessuti, that is beautifully drapey and has a gauze-like texture. It is perfect for this pattern (bonus, the pattern is also not fabric hungry like some bias cuts so I was able to get 2 tops for the price of one).

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

Adjustments were the same as those for the silk charmeuse top plus 3cm extra length. I also experimented with a closer fit, adding vertical darts on the back and tapering the sleeve.

While making this I rather liked the sleeveless version then looking at the remaining length realised I could have both. The sleeveless top is cooler to wear and will be comfortable as a layering top, whereas the sleeves are more dressy.

Construction notes

Shoulders, neck edge and armscye were stabilised to prevent stretching.

Hems are raw, which works fine on the bias cut bodice. However I'd forgotten the sleeves are cut on grain and as this fabric frays a lot it seemed best to finish these on the overlocker. My cotton is a good match and it disappears into the crinkly fabric, so it worked out well.

Finished top

Front without sleeves

Front with sleeves

Reverse bias finish

Back showing fit with vertical darts

Neckline options

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes, of course! I'm keen to try a more creative mixed fabric version next.

Conclusion:

Beautifully drafted and a great pattern. One of these tops will be part of the Falling for Autumn SWAP collection.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jrhee said...
Lovely in every way!
2/8/13 2:08 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Sweet top - love it all ways but the pin is cute!
2/8/13 4:06 AM
cleverkitty said...
oh so beautiful these tops, I just had a fabric I got two tops out of and I was excited, I sewed them up right away since I had the same thread in the machines. Now you can enjoy the fabric even further :)
2/8/13 9:27 AM
LynnG said...
I love the way you used the pin to change the look. Very nice.
2/8/13 10:08 AM
SewWil said...
What a versatile top!
2/8/13 10:08 AM
velosewer said...
Great tops Sandra. Wonderful detailing as always.
2/8/13 2:36 PM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous tops and beautiful colour!
2/8/13 4:15 PM
AuntieShel said...
Just beautiful!! Have always wanted to try one of the Harmony patterns...
2/8/13 4:30 PM
mm said...
Both are lovely. This style really suits you and the drape is wonderful.
2/8/13 4:40 PM
FreyaStark said...
Two great tops. I prefer the sleeveless one but having choice is wonderful. The brooch is a nice touch.
2/8/13 4:58 PM
leoniep said...
Love this fabric! I like the look with the pin, too.
2/8/13 7:59 PM
Barbara V said...
All gorgeous tops, beautiful fabrics and lovely work!
2/8/13 8:12 PM
jenleeC said...
What a great design - interesting but not gimmicky - love it! As usual your construction is flawless!
2/8/13 8:55 PM
21wale said...
Really beautiful top!
2/8/13 10:06 PM
StarrSews said...
This is a totally cute pattern! Fabulous to be able to wear it more than one way. Great sewing job!
2/9/13 1:23 AM
pdiddly said...
beautiful top
2/9/13 3:34 AM
Rebecca D said...
Gorgeous, off to buy this pattern. I love how you keep working this pattern. Inspirational.
2/9/13 8:54 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice!
2/9/13 10:48 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love the fabric and look! Beautiful fabric and how you used it!
11/19/13 7:44 PM
sfshaza said...
So you made 2 tops from the same fabric? One with sleeves and one sleeveless? Well, it is FABULOUS on you!!!!
11/19/13 7:53 PM
Elona said...
This is SUCH an interesting pattern, and you are the perfect example of how terrific the results can be! But I can't help wondering why the sleeves are not also bias cut? Sleeves on the bias are very, very nice. Do you suppose it would work well?
11/19/13 9:36 PM
KathB said...
This texture rich outfit is spectacular! My favorite neckline is the folded and pinned version. Tempted to buy more patterns :P
11/19/13 9:46 PM
KathB said...
This texture rich outfit is spectacular! My favorite neckline is the folded and pinned version. Tempted to buy more patterns :P
11/19/13 9:46 PM
KathB said...
This texture rich outfit is spectacular! My favorite neckline is the folded and pinned version. Tempted to buy more patterns :P
11/19/13 9:46 PM
Melwyk said...
I love this top! The colour is great, and I really like the different ways to wear the neckline -- the pin is fabulous.
11/19/13 9:49 PM
r e n said...
This looks adorable on you. If red isn't your colour, it's definitely one of your colours. Love the whole outfit, a real winner.
11/19/13 10:00 PM
mm said...
It looks wonderful with the Suzy pants.
11/19/13 10:16 PM
BeaJay said...
A gorgeous top. I noticed how nice it looked in life at the Sew Inn at Tessutis last week. Very classy. Very chic. Very nice.
11/20/13 0:31 AM
Dilliander said...
Thanks for the kind comments. Elona, you are right, bias sleeves would be lovely and may be worth trying out. However, I just checked the pattern and they are definitely drafted on the straight grain, so I'm thinking there must be a reason since the top is very cleverly constructed.
11/20/13 1:15 AM
EleanorSews said...
You certainly know how to find elegant little tops! This is so classic with that something extra. Thanks for your review.
11/20/13 2:33 AM
CissieW said...
Looks like you've found the perfect cowl neck top. Love all your versions. Especially like the frayed hem!
11/20/13 9:01 AM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous top and that fabric is divine!
11/20/13 9:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Self Drafted Pattern 197770-1000
photo
Review by spiphany on 11/12/10
Read Review

Vogue 8895 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8895 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7200 Pattern
Burda 7200 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick B4865
photo
Review by canei on 11/25/08
Read Review

A New York Mini
A New York Mini

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us