SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5857 (Misses' Top)

6 more reviews
Viewed 488 times 
Reviewed by:grays08
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About grays08starstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 9/13/11
Reviews written: 99
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 97
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/13 10:28 AM
Last Updated:2/13/13 1:06 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
Beautiful top! And great review, too.
2/13/13 3:08 PM
norie creates said...
Beautiful top! I have to have this pattern and I'll reference your detailed review as I sew!
2/13/13 1:44 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty top. Love your fabric
2/9/13 10:50 AM
PattyE said...
I've got this one in my lineup...I can only hope it looks half as good as yours does! I think this looks great on you...any slippage can be easily addressed with Hollywood Fashion Tape...you might find you like the top more when it's secured.
2/9/13 10:32 AM
velosewer said...
I would have been dumbfounded with the finishes too. You've done a great job working out this top.
2/9/13 3:09 AM
chenille said...
Beautiful! Thanks for the detailed review.
2/8/13 11:40 PM
AndreaSews said...
This is a beautiful top and appears to fit you quite well. I understand the annoyance of a top falling off your shoulders - your fix for that looks like it will work well. Thank you for the thorough review, and please update and let us know if it grows on you and is comfortable to wear with your overlay fix. I hope it grows on you!
2/8/13 9:25 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Very pretty!
2/8/13 6:38 PM
Sue Parrott said...
This looks great on you! I had the same issues with slippage on the shoulders and opted to put a tie at the shoulders. I work with young children and I just didn't want to be yanking it up all day long, if you know what I mean!
2/8/13 5:35 PM
caper81 said...
Your top is really beautiful! Looks great on you, and the fabric is something I would pick up for myself! ;)
2/8/13 4:51 PM
CTBarb said...
I think this is a stunning top. But the shoulder slippage would annoy me too. Hope the tacking works, because you look fantastic in it!
2/8/13 11:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Simplicity 2508

photo
by: emr

Review
Butterick B4271

photo
by: MissGibbs

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now