SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2154 (Misses/Petite Blouse, Skirt, Jacket and Cardigan)

31 more reviews
Viewed 558 times 
Reviewed by:JetSetSewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JetSetSewingstar
MA USA
Member since: 6/29/12
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/13 12:03 PM
Last Updated:6/2/13 11:41 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Amiejean said...
Wow. It's a dream of mine to accomplish a jacket like this. Thanks for sharing. Wonderful accomplishment.
5/10/13 4:41 AM
becca a said...
Your Chanel jacket is beautiful. They are truly a labor of love! Your fabrics are lovely together. I am sure you will love wearing it.
2/10/13 11:03 AM
JetSetSewing said...
I got the trim at a shop in Paris, and while I was there met a male dressmaker who said he worked at Chanel. He and the saleswoman were gossiping in French about how much haute couture Chanel suits cost, and the start at 40,000 Euros, which is $65,000! So I didn't feel so bad having spent 100 hours on this jacket. I've seen the Chanel ready-to-wear jackets ($5,000+) at consignment shops, and they're not quilted like jackets made with this technique. So needless to say I'm pretty pleased with myself! But mostly I enjoyed the research and knowledge that came from working on this.
2/9/13 6:31 PM
JetSetSewing said...
Thanks ladies! I'll have to get my staff photographer/hubby to take a pic with me in it. I found the Chanel tweed at Elliottbermantextiles.com, and the lining on Emma One Sock. The chain is from beadaholic.com. I put together a pinterest page called "Make Your Own Chanel Jacket" with links to sites I used as research. Also posted info on this and another jacket on Craftsy.com under "tvjulie" since I was inspired to do the jackets after I took Susan Khalje's Couture Dress class on Craftsy.com. I HIGHLY recommend that class!
2/9/13 6:25 PM
KathleenS said...
It really looks the part! I like the way the tweed pattern ends up being diagonal on the sleeves (due to the kimono sleeves).
2/9/13 6:04 PM
N_Vogue said...
Stunning! All the details, the fabric took my breath away, the lining, etc. Just Stunning!!!
2/9/13 3:12 PM
Re Becca said...
Very pretty, I love your mix of colors. Totally gorgeous! I would love to see a shot of you wearing it.
2/9/13 1:53 PM
slmstyle said...
Beautiful work on your Chanel jacket! I'm sure it took a lot of time and attention to detail to do, but the results are really lovely and couture. And the fabric...swoon! Where did you get the Chanel tweed, are the materials and notions all from eBay?
2/9/13 1:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-116

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

More Info
McCall's 7691 (OOP)

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review