Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2013-127 (Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 542 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/13 5:47 PM
Last Updated:2/12/13 12:20 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squirrellypoo said...
Thanks very much for the review! I just traced this one today. The neck doesn't look overly low in the photo though? I think it looks great!
2/10/13 6:17 PM
21wale said...
I think it looks really nice. The shoulder detail is very appealing.
2/10/13 6:52 PM
mochalover said...
I agree with squirrellypoo, I think the neck looks great. In fact, very cute top!
2/10/13 7:21 PM
SavageCoco said...
Good review, thanks. I too, think this looks nice on you. I respectfully suggest perhaps it's a bit big. The pattern is for a very body conscious Tee, so may be cut a size smaller next time. And you're rockin' the FLOTUS shoulders!
2/10/13 7:30 PM
ArtAttack said...
I'm with Coco...I just think it's too big. It's adorable, though, and sizing down will be killer. Cute color on you. I've toyed with dl'ing this one...it's really cute.
2/10/13 7:40 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I really like this on you. Perhaps it is a tad too big, but it is all about how you like it to fit. I love the shoulders on you, super cute! Oh, and the scarf looks great too!
2/10/13 9:25 PM
SewWil said...
Cute top! I like it on you with or without the scarf. Great color on you.
2/10/13 10:59 PM
Levone said...
Cute top! This is definitely on my list to make!
2/11/13 0:30 AM
pdiddly said...
Having just made this I am with you on your review comments - love the darker colour - I still want to make a black on when I find the right fabric
2/11/13 3:21 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Great top! I hope you'll make it again and detail your sizing adjustments once you get it perfected. This style looks great on you!
2/11/13 7:21 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Cute top! I am about to download this top. I will keep in mind your review when I get around to making this. I am endowed with really small shoulders.
2/11/13 7:23 AM
Elke said...
Very cute top! I think this style looks very good on you.
2/11/13 7:41 AM
cleverkitty said...
I know exactly what you mean about wide necklines. The cotton knit would be a shame to waste, the scarf does look good with it :)
2/11/13 10:02 AM
Margaret said...
Great top! I've found with the too-long sleeves, if they are made with negative ease they can be worn scrunched up and don't hang too long. Maybe that was what the pattern intended?
2/11/13 12:13 PM
miausiau said...
I now have narrow shoulders since my swimming "career" ended...every top I make I add to the neckline an inch or so. I made this one with enough to meet up with a turtleneck collar. Lovely pattern though! And great job reworking it.
2/12/13 12:33 PM
chenille said...
Looks great, nice save!
2/12/13 2:17 PM
redrockcity said...
It looks great! I agree that going down one size might make you a little more comfortable with the neckline. Very flattering either way though!!
2/12/13 2:50 PM
Nan Kay said...
I didn't think the neck looked bad , but it really does fit you better after your adjustment. Really pretty top too.
2/12/13 3:28 PM
ArtAttack said...
Yep! Now you've nailed it! It looks so great on you...good work.
2/12/13 5:18 PM
SavageCoco said...
Oh, well done. Much better!
2/13/13 1:16 AM
margy.64 said...
Cute top. Love the colour.
2/13/13 3:36 AM
grays08 said...
I love it with the adjustment and am now wanting to do that to mine as my neck binding is also driving me nuts as it sags from being just too long when I applied it. I really like your neckline now and makes me want to change this when I make it again. Thanks for the update!
2/13/13 5:27 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Looks great in a solid color to show off the ruching. Glad you got the fit worked out- its a great style on you. I printed your review and stuck it in that Burda issue for when I get around to it.
2/22/13 7:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 7328 Fall Handbags
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 12/11/06
Read Review

Simplicity 1426 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1426 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7026 Pattern
Burda 7026 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2344
photo
Review by annie11 on 1/12/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us