SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Brother
Brother

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5851 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Dress)

Work in Progress Work in Progress
Viewed 420 times 
Reviewed by:cheristane
photo

 
 
About cheristane
Member since: 5/6/12
Reviews: 1 (patterns: 1)
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/13 7:04 PM
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Swim Style Patterns


Swimwear Gymwear Patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
lotekky2 said... (9/18/16 10:01 AM) Reply
Did you ever finish this dress? I was very disappointed in the drafting of View C bodice and the underarm gusset instructions.
domesticatedmennonite said... (9/16/13 5:18 AM) Reply
Would love to know what you think... Especially on the completeness of instructions, and the drafting, and are their fabric choices appropriate... etc :-)
lotekky2 replied...(9/18/16 9:58 AM)
I am making View C in the recommended linen. The front neckline is very high. The instructions for the underarm gussets are terrible. I wound up taking out the shoulder and underarm seams (why would anyone sew up a shoulder seam before putting in an underarm gusset?), using fusible knit interfacing to reinforce the ravelly linen, and inserting two-piece gussets using the technique in my Reader's Digest seeing book. The dress looks a bit like a hospital gown. I'm hopeful a belt and accessories will help.
laglov413 said... (2/21/13 9:15 AM) Reply
I just purchased this pattern and I'm eager to hear how it is coming together for you. Are you encountering any issues or is it smooth sailing? Good luck!
lotekky2 replied...(9/18/16 10:00 AM)
As I noted above, the instructions for the underarm gusset are terrible. No way inserting a one-piece gusset after sewing the shoulder seam in ravelly linen fabric, which is recommended, could be considered "Easy".
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Contest Sewing Bee Round 2

photo
by: MaryDB

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
SA Curve 3/8th ruler

SA Curve 3/8th ruler

Pattern Details